Every job has its nightmare

After graduating from the university, I needed something to keep me busy and sort out some bills. I just didn't want to stay idle or burden my mom who was doing so much already.

Although, the town where I lived had few job opportunities I was determined to get something regardless.

I started job hunting. Told my friends and family about it.

Someone who used to be my close friend called me one day and informed me about a job opening link that was sent to her.
The service of a receptionist was needed and I applied.

She asked that I send my CV and follow up.
I did everything required of me to do.

A few days later, I got an email inviting me for an interview.
I was so happy and looked forward to it.

The day for the interview came. I dressed as decent as I could and made sure I got to the venue earlier than the time scheduled for the interview.

A few minutes after I got in, I was called in.

The oral interview began and I did my best.
After everything, the interviewer said he would get back to me in a few days.

Two days later, I got an email stating that I had aced the interview and should come for a brief meeting to discuss salary.

I got there and settled in.
He asked me how much I'd want to receive as a monthly salary. I told him and he smiled.

He said it was way above their budget and stated the amount they'd be paid monthly.

I was quite discouraged. You could see it on my face.
He added that it was because I had a B.sc. and I'd be the first person to get such as salary.

It was a ridiculous amount of money but because I needed to work, I agreed.

I was told to resume the following week and I did.

The first week of resumption was smooth. Everything went well until the second week.

I would be told to do things which weren't part of my job description.

I did not only receive and attend to customers and files.
I'd clean, wash the restroom, run errands, and even provide warm water for customers who request it.

I was doing this because I had a goal, which was to work for a few months, gain experience and keep looking out for better offers.

All these things I kept doing until I was called by a customer to come meet him upstairs as my attention was needed.

I reported this to my supervisor and he said it was okay.
Told me to go and hear what he had to say. This is a male client. It wouldn't even be proper if it was a female.
I had no business attending to customers in their rooms. There was a reason why males were hired in the room service department and their job ended outside the rooms.

It was quite surprising at the same time.

For a hotel as decent and as big as that, enough staff should be hired and not just that, there should be different job descriptions for different roles in different departments.

Amidst all of these things, some clients would talk down on you like you are trash. They'd treat you like they are doing you a favour, regardless of how warm and accommodating you are to them. Like they always say; customers are always right. I would take everything in, break down and cry later in my room when no one was watching.

I kept enduring all sorts of toxicity until it got to a point where I could not take it any more.
The atmosphere and environment were becoming too toxic for me and it was affecting my mental health.

I decided I was going to leave. I had not even spent 4 months as opposed to spending a whole year before I moved.

While I was making plans to leave, my partner whom we run shifts together told the supervisor that she would be going for the mandated National Youths Service Corps(NYSC). She also informed me of the development.

I waited for the supervisor to say something but he didn't mention anything of sort.

I was supposed to have a day off the next day with plans already made for that one day that I was allowed to rest.

In the evening when I was planning to round up my evening shift and go home, He came to me and told me my day off had been cancelled and that there would be no day off for me and I'd also be working past my normal closing hours until they find a replacement for the lady who left for NYSC.
I didn't argue. I didn't even say a word.
I knew deep down I wasn't going to show up the next day and I never did.

This was how I stopped working in that toxic space.
The following day, I slept like a baby and was well-rested. It was like a weight was lifted off my shoulders.

Thanks for visiting my blog, feel free to comment, upvote and reblog if you find my post intriguing.

Sort:  

am curious, what did the client that wanted your service in the room actually wanted?

It is a normal phenomenon for such client to look down on hotel attendance and believe that they are whore.

Some employers are fond of using their employees. Cause it's obvious you were being used