You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My little Dendrobium is killing it this year!

in Orchid Lovers2 years ago (edited)

What's the trick to watering these? I hear very little or put an ice cube in there once a week for a drip watering type method.

I buy orchids and they look lovely for a short amount of time and I end up tossing them out a few weeks later as they don't seem to last. My hoof isn't particularly green so maybe you have some tricks you can teach me?

I don't often see the ones you have here on display. They're lovely

Sort:  

The ice cube thing is bullshit :D I don't know who made that up, but it just another one of those fashionable hacks that don't work.

What's the trick to watering these?

It depends which one. Some like more water, some less.
I am guess you mean the Phalaenopsis that are very popular.

The easiest way is to flush the bark under the sink, let it drop for a bit and that's it :) Just make sure you do not leave any water on the leaves and in that gap between the leaf and stem. Also no water in the crown. They will rot.
I keep them in those white covers, so I just fill them up with water and leave it for about 1h. Then remove all the water and that's it :)
Phalaenopsis are easy to water as the roots will tell you when it is time. All depends on the bark, temperature and size of the plant. When the roots turn light grey\green - time to water. When they are bright green - they are still wet and do not water. They do need dry up between watering so water only when the roots turn grey. And that's it :)

Here is a good example of watered and dry roots. When they look like the ones on the right - water them.

image.png
source

Thanks for the extensive response, it is helpful. I had one where the leaves were green but shrivelled up looking like a 100 year old wrinkly grape one time.

I'll be set for round 127 with these orchids, that's the lucky one I know it 😀

Oh yes... everyone knows number 127 is lucky one :D

Good luck with it!