Paragliding Flight 72, Greenhouse, Dandelions, Weather, Aim - Monday

in Homesteading15 days ago

Well that was quite the morning yesterday! Dropped the boys off then popped home for my wing and gear and then headed for Saltese. This was the view as I cross the bluff towards the valley. The clouds were looking killer and the winds were popping.

IMG_20240429_081044.jpg

I got to the hill at 8:30am and didn't wait for anyone as the gusts were rather strong. I figured I;';d be able to manage to find a lull to get in the air but didn't want to w2ait for the winds to get stronger.

IMG_20240429_083010.jpg

I hiked up the trail and wandered a bit looking for a spot to setup. I ended up at the bottom of the area I have launched before. I ended up getting drug up the hill a couple times and had to kill my wing to keep from ending up in the gully.

IMG_20240429_084556.jpg

I gathered my wing and hiked up the hill a bit to a spot I have launched from before and setup. It appears my camera stopped and didn't record any of my flight but it was glorious. I launched and ended up on an elevator ride straight up. It was a killer flight and I was VERY happy to have my bigger harness with the better speed bar as I needed it to make any forward progress.

IMG_20240429_084559.jpg

This was a super flight and I do wish I had taken advantage of the winds to do more soaring but it gave me the sense for today. I'm learning the topography and how to read the areas of lift better. I'm also way more comfortable getting pulled skyward in lift now.

garmin.JPG

I will have 2 cameras today so I will be sure to have better shots. I am going to try and get higher than yesterday if possible and I want a lot longer flight, 9 minutes is weak I need much longer.

flymaster.JPG

It was a bit wild trying to land. I came in over the power lines and I was on full bar and falling straight down at the lines. I let off the bar and flew to my left and back away from the lines which put me in the bowl. I caught some serious bumps of lift in the bowl that wouldn't let me land without a serious challenge. I was right brake, left brake, right brake, etc as I slowly got closer to the ground. The wing was getting whacked around in the turbulence right above the ground on the base of the hill. I landed nicely and had to drop my wing quickly to get it out of a gust.

Brendan walked up shortly after I landed as he had watched my whole flight but had no desire to get into the air as rowdy as it was. I had a blast and am SO SO SO anxious for this next flight or two. He plans to be there as well and should fly if it is a bit more gentle than yesterday.

xctrack.JPG

Back on the farm after I had calmed down and run through my data I headed to the greenhouse. I had left the ends of the twine still tied to the top bar so I cut all the tails loose in preparation for tying this years' lines.

IMG_20240429_115853.jpg

SO. MANY. DANDELIONS. EVERYWHERRRRRRREEEEEEE!!!!!!! It is slow going but I am trying to get them all while IN flower, before seeding. Let the birds and sheep eat them before the seeds get airborne. Worst thing in the world is paratrooper dandelions that infest everything in sight. Worse than the plague of locusts... okay maybe not at least he dandelions are edible... but not nearly the protein of the locust... ewww.

IMG_20240429_130320.jpg

The weather threatened after noon, I was thankful for that with my earlier flight.

IMG_20240429_130950.jpg

After picking the boys up from school the sky let loose for a bit but not much, only a smattering in the end.

IMG_20240429_142159.jpg

J got his Crunchlab box and of course I caught him mid blink.

IMG_20240429_142620.jpg

The storms came through and blew past quickly so any rain was super limited. We got some nice bouts of sunshine through the afternoon.

IMG_20240429_144740.jpg

The scourge got dumped to the birds and animals. The turkeys were super happy to have a bounty of greens to peck through and the sheep were oblivious to the piles while the alpaca happily dug in.

IMG_20240429_150552.jpg
IMG_20240429_150807.jpg

Gradually I get better. The arm attenuation takes a long time but it does happen with regular calibration attempts.

IMG_20240429_175229.jpg

We got out to soak earlier but it got waylaid by R getting stung by something on his neck. He got hit then reached back and grabbed it, which felt fuzzy or hairy to him so he screamed spider but we think it was a wasp. He got a gash on his neck, super small but still a cut which makes me think hornet.

IMG_20240429_192002.jpg

Going flying again this morning then will process the data once home, keep at the infestation removal, boys to and from school, need to wash my clothes, and grass needs to start getting cut below the house towards the creek.


2024 Y/E Hive GoalsGoalCurrent+/- Goal+/Week
HP30,00025,500+29846
HBD Savings4,0302,797/9
Hive Posting Streak Days16811436/3


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

You can Also Find Me On:

nostr icon.jpg

Donations or Tips



Zap Me ⚡️ Alby Addy.JPG btc.jpg Sparrow.JPG LBTC LBTC.jpg

!

Veteran.jpg


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-2qa78zul4
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

👍 !PGM

Wow
So you mean you can go for flights over 9mins?

The longest flights go from dawn to dark for those who are good. The world record is over 600km. I'm lucky to get 15 minutes in the air on one flight.