Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1257)

in Homesteading26 days ago

Hello Everyone!

Oversleeping during a nap, A peculiar dream, Taking it easy, A handle for the sled & Entering the final stretch!

Alright, I am running two hours and thirty-four minutes behind schedule this evening... after falling into a much deeper sleep than I intended to during a late day nap. I am still feeling super groggy... but at least I scrambled around to get the critters fed... and got the espresso brewed in short order with only some minor fumbling along the way.

As far as the deep sleep goes, I was really disoriented upon first waking... looking at the clock... and realizing that yup I had just slept for nearly eight hours straight. The wild part of it all is that in the dream I was also sleeping (and dreaming another dream) where I was trying to get that old injury in my leg to heal.

Not to get too lost on that topic, but at some point in the dream someone tried to wake me (from the dream within the dream) and I guess that they neither liked what I said to them while I was sleeping... nor the fact that I was sleeping in the middle of the day... because they took my mattress. It was super frigging bizarre because after waking in the dream, finding my mattress tossed in the woods... and tracking down the person who did it... I then explained to them that it was not any of their damned business when I chose to rest... or why I had chosen to do so.

All that dreaming stuff aside... last night I drifted off to sleep rather early and woke up a solid hour earlier than when I have been lately... so hopefully I am on track with my usual sleep schedule of falling asleep early and waking early. After today's long nap I am uncertain about when I will get back to sleep tonight... but I am going to do my best not to let it skew my sleep cycle.

This morning I dove right into my Hive engagement routine... and yet again followed that up with taking care of some correspondences. At this point in the day I am really unsure on when I managed to get outdoors... but I do recall that I was proud of myself for doing so well before noon.

My big goal today was to not overdue it with my leg (meaning not to injure it more) so I set to piddling around with one small task after another... whilst being as mindful as I could be about how I walked... and what kind of strain that I was putting the leg under. All in all, I did not get much done besides making a better handle for that sled that I made a few weeks back.

I think that upon first building that sled that I mentioned wanting to make a better handle for it... so that I would have more control over it while pulling it downhill... or at least have a way to stop it. The solution that I came up with was to run the tether for it through a piece of PVC pipe... and then attach a metal hoop at the other end... which coincidentally will make for a nice hitch if I want to attach it to the back of the wagon.

Anyways, by late afternoon I cooked up some food so that I could put a full meal in me before taking some ibuprofen... and not long afterwards is when I drifted off for that nap. I really dislike having to up my food intake (so that I can avoid giving myself ulcers from the ibuprofen) because I know that it is going to totally skew my food rationing routine.

One way or another though, I just have to get this old injury healed up before I start hauling the wagon around again or start carrying heavy objects... because at this rate I will be in quite the pickle come moving time if I do not. It would also make getting setup at the new place incredibly challenging given the steep terrain... and all the brush clearing that will need to be done.

Speaking of moving it is finally starting to 'feel real' now that I am within thirty days of doing it. I am sure that the pressure that I am feeling to 'get everything done' will continue to ramp up over the coming weeks... so for now I am just going to take it easy on my leg for a few days... and let it heal up so that I am not having to also deal with pain management on top of all the stress.

Well, it is now super late and I need to wrap this entry up before I really start rambling. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


The simple solution that I came up with for the sled handle!


I cannot recall what kind of flowers these are but they sure look neat!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

!LUV

Your super late is early morning here, so good night! 😅👻👻👻🏹🔫

I could be wrong, but the flower might be a Coral Honeysuckle. Pretty either way!

Indeed it is! I am often falling asleep right when you are getting up for the day. 🏹🏹🏹 😆 My usual emojis have vanished from my emoji options!

Thanks! That is indeed Coral Honeysuckle! Yay! Yeah I really like how they look and might have to add them to my list of vines, plants, trees and shrubs to take with me to the new land. I swear that given the chance I would fill the entire moving truck just with flora if I could!

So strange the dream within a dream! I wonder if dreams tell us something about our unconcious mind, what does a dream's dream represent?

Congratulations about being a month away from the move, both exciting and anxiety inducing I am sure. Everything will work out in the end so, have faith in that!

Yeah dreams within dreams are always strange. I cannot recall the exact number without digging through a bunch of journals to find it... but the 'deepest' that I ever went (with dreaming within a dream) was either six or nine nested dreams.

Thanks! It is assuredly both exciting and anxiety inducing to say the least.

I am glad to hear you are taking it easy on your leg.

That looks like a nice handle on your sled.

When I read about you dreaming, the dream that I woke from came back to me, but now I am struggling to recall everything about it, but I am not sure I want to remember it all. It had to do with an evil doll that made people do things they did not want to do. I remember waking up and being worried.
I wish I knew why we have dreams and what something like that means. If Mom was alive I would ask her, she was good at interpreting my dreams for me.

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Curated by wesphilbin