Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1260)

in Homesteading16 days ago

Hello Everyone!

Another day of rest, Slowly healing, So many side projects, Fencing thoughts & A need for straw bales!

Alright, I am running about twenty minutes behind schedule with my writing routine this evening... because I kept dicking around with the computer trying to figure out what was wrong with my internet connection. As it turns out my cellular repeater (that is in the attic) had faulted due to power fluctuations in the grid... and yup that was enough to make the internet connection to begin performing poorly.

Last night, I once again fell asleep relatively early... and got yet another full night's rest after napping all day. That is now twice in a row that I have managed to do that in an effort to not only get my sleep cycle on track... but also get my leg to heal faster... so that I can get back to being physically active.

This morning I got up not all that long after sunrise... but let myself drift back off again after letting the dogs out and back in again. Of course I did my usual Hive engagement routine once I woke up 'for real' an hour or so later... but truth be told I did not give it a whole lot of effort or anything.

As far as my leg injury goes, it is slowly healing and I even stopped taking the ibuprofen... because the inflammation has subsided just enough for it to start healing up on its own. It is not quite back to the point where I can do much walking without feeling it twinge... so I decided to take another day off from doing stuff.

I really do not know what to do with myself during all this downtime... aside from sleep and veg out on online content... but like I was saying in a recent entry I know that if I get in motion... I will wind up overdoing it and making the injury worse. As frustrating as it all is... I just have to sit still and let the leg heal... so that I am in the best possible shape that I can be in for not just the move but getting setup at the new place.

On a different note, I have been super tempted to dive into my coding hobby lately... and have been missing piddling around with my existing projects as well as exploring some new ideas that I have had. I know that I could probably do something to 'scratch that itch' but overall I know that my tendency to binge out on it... would lead me into sleepless nights and a very skewed sleep cycle.

Anyways, going into this new adventure (misadventure) in a mere thirty days... I am full of all kinds of conflicting feelings, ideas and whatnot... which although completely normal when taking on such an undertaking... they also tend to take up entirely too much of my thinking. It would probably be more productive to be thinking over what 'kits' that I need to pack... which tools need sharpening... what fabric items need mending... and so forth!

Slowly but surely, those kinds of things are taking up more of my thought processes... and while sure it adds more work to my packing process... it will be much better to do any of that kind of stuff now while I still have a modicum of convenience (and time) at my disposal. To some degree I have already been doing that kind of thing (like fixing both my USB corded headlamps) but every day that I do any packing... I find even more things that need some kind of maintenance and/or repairing.

Another thing that keeps nagging at me is that I really need to get some fencing in place for the dogs as rapidly as possible at the new place... and while I have the temporary dog yard to work with... it just is not large enough... nor tall enough to be truly effective. Sure the dogs will stay in it for the most part... but all that it takes is one crack of thunder, some fireworks or gunshots before at least two of them will decide to scale over it in an effort to find me.

In an effort to kind of 'get my ducks in a row' on that front... I have been window shopping some wire fencing that is available from that same store that I have been considering ordering the blocks for the shed from. I have yet to make up my mind on ordering the wire itself or not... because honestly it not only looks kind of low quality but it is incredibly expensive for even a single fifty foot (15.24 meter) roll of it.

The other thing that I already have to get from that store is some bales of straw... because I will not only need it for the dog yard (tent area) but also for the sloped path that leads downhill from the flat spot near the road to the camp site. Having already learned (from the folks that scouted the land) that at least the beginning of the path is soft ground... I know that once I start walking and pulling a wagon across it... that it will quickly go from 'soft ground' to mucky ground.

My only real concern about getting the straw... is that it will get rained on between the time that it gets delivered (along with the blocks) and the time that I actually arrive there a few weeks later. I have considered trying to specify in my order that I want the straw (and blocks) covered in plastic... but doing so might just result in there being a bunch of moldy straw waiting for me when I get there!

Ideally, I guess that I could ask the shed delivery driver to toss the straw bales into the building once he gets it set into place... but I really do not like asking folks to do stuff outside their job description. If I am lucky the fella will unwrap the bundle (the blocks and straw bales will probably be on a single pallet) and once he uses the blocks... he will either cover the straw bales with the shipping plastic... or toss them into the shed on his own.

Well, I think that is all the words that I have in me for this entry. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


Another picture of some aromatic honeysuckle!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024