Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1261)

in Homesteading15 days ago

Hello Everyone!

Another day of rest, The leg is healing, The shed dilemma & A lack of flat terrain!

Alright, I am running about six minutes behind schedule with my writing routine this evening. I probably could have kept procrastinating for even longer... but decided to just dive in instead... and not prolong the process unnecessarily.

Last night all the sleep that I have been getting finally caught up to me... and it was super late before I managed to drift off to sleep. At least I got in a solid six hours of rest... but whoa I had some rather intense dreams that honestly I was glad to wake from since the last one that I had was rather stressful.

After doing my usual Hive engagement routine I decided to take yet another day off... in the hopes of getting my leg to continue healing. I think that makes for a total of four days of doing that now... and I gotta admit that the results have been good because today I did not have a single 'twinge' of pain from it.

My plan is to get back to doing stuff (with the cleaning and packing) tomorrow... and see how it goes from there. Although I am going to attempt to keep my activities to 'light duty' work... I am also not entirely convinced that doing so will be enough to keep the injury from flaring up again due to all the sloped terrain.

One way or another I will have to get everything taken apart and packed down over the next four weeks... so that I am ready to move at the end of the month. I already know that it is a tremendous amount of work to be done... so I am going to try to get as much done as possible each day to offset any bad weather days that might crop up.

Anyways, I am still debating over what the best approach with the shed is... because I really do not want to 'rent to own' one at some grossly inflated price... and be stuck with a monthly payment to boot. Since I have yet to hear back from the shed company... I still do not know if the size shed that I want to get will fit or not... which is fine because now I have been considering getting a much smaller shed that might be more affordable.

It is by no means an ideal solution (to get a smaller shed) but it would make it so that I can avoid both overpaying... and being stuck with a monthly bill. The main drawback with going that route is that I would wind up having to find a place to set the shop tent up at... and then be faced with cramming everything else that I own into it.

I already know that the shop tent will not fit on the flat spot near the road (nor would I want to put it there even if it did) and from what I know of the rest of the property... there is not a large enough flat spot for it elsewhere. Of course I could try to create the necessary flat spot by hand... but honestly that would be a brutal task that could take weeks if not months to achieve given the size of the tent.

All in all if I cannot get a large enough shed... then things are going to be quite the clusterfuck as far as storage goes... so I might wind up just having to go the 'rent to own' route after all. I guess that the worse potential outcome is that I fail to be able to afford the payments each month... and the shed gets repossessed later on... which yep is just about as bad as paying some ridiculous amount of money for it.

Well, I do not have much to write about tonight and am going to wrap this entry up. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


Just another sunset!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

Although you might have no choice, living alone like this, I like to read how you are healing like animals do ( instead of ignoring our body's signals and making things worse, like way too many people would do ).

Hope you feel even better tomorrow.

I am glad to hear you are resting your leg and it is feeling better.

Can the cabin you are living in be taken apart and hauled to your land? I know it would be a big undertaking, it is just a thought.

It is not my cabin. I just did the labor for building it and the dog yard but the landowners paid for the materials.

The solar shack is mine and I considered taking it apart but I need it for storage before the move. Plus I would wind up with a bunch of damaged materials to work with, more fuel cost for hauling it all and it would eat up too much space in the moving truck.

well that settles that problem.

Believe me the thought has crossed my mind many times!

Wow stressful stuff 😵‍💫

Sending good vibes as always! 🏹🏹🏹☕️

Thanks. 🏹🏹🏹😆

Yeah I cannot wait for it to all be over and just be moved to the new place. 😺

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Curated by wesphilbin