Veggies Growth , Gardening progress , Weeding

in Homesteading23 days ago
Most of my activities these days started with working on the farm, but today I had the privilege of having my sister help me with some work in the garden space.

Screenshot_20240429-080449.jpg

Due to the recent fuel scarcity experienced within the last 24 hours, it has become almost impossible to go out as taxi drivers increased their prices almost immediately when the prices of fuel went up.We couldn't afford to go for Sunday service as our church is situated some distance away. There was a livestream of the service, and I was able to pick up the message for today.

Screenshot_20240429-080008.jpg


Screenshot_20240429-080126.jpg

After lunch, we took a position outside the house to receive some fresh air because of the heat within the house. After a good while, my sister noticed the growing vegetables and decided to get busy with them. Even though I had already started the weeding of the places prior to this day, it wasn't completed. We want to take out all the tiny growing weeds that have germinated alongside the vegetables so that the veggies can have enough space and quality air to grow well rather than being choked by the weeds.

Screenshot_20240429-080023.jpg

My veggies are officially 3 weeks old now, but I have learned some lessons from growing them.
It seems like the soil is not fertile enough. I was too sure that this place would be good enough, but mere looking at the soil cannot really tell anyone if it is fertile enough or not unless we do some practicals. Growing these veggies and the symptoms I have seen so far show the quality of the soil fertility.

Screenshot_20240429-080038.jpg

The possible solution to this is for me to get fertilizer to add to the growing vegetables.
Inorganic fertilizer may not be a good choice, but adding poultry droppings to already-growing veggies feels unhealthy since harvest can be done anytime. One may not want to pick up any organisms along with our veggies.

Screenshot_20240429-080210.jpg

The best time to add organic fertilizers made from animal dung to our food should be before planting so that the manures will sing and dissolve into the soil. Upon planting, we won't have to pick up those germs alongside our food.
Weeding was completed Sunday evening, and I had my niece join us in the work. She was fascinated by how I was growing the vegetables since she had never been to the farm.

IMG_5336.jpeg

She hardly recognizes the difference between jute and grasses and keeps pulling one instead of the other, but I was patient enough to teach and guide her. Learning about farming and growing the crops we eat should delight our kids too, and not everything should be about school work.