A WASHED UP FARMYARD: EFFICIENT WAYS OF IMPROVING THE SOIL

in Homesteading23 days ago (edited)

It's been more than two weeks since I planted some vegetables in my backyard for family consumption as the cost of buying vegetables is still high due to the fact that we are still not fully in raining season and farmers are not producing in large quantity due to the lack of rain. After having to endure purchasing these vegetables at a very high cost and getting little that can barely feed the family I decided to have a go on my own and utilize the small portion of land at the backyard of my home to produce vegetables.

Looking at the land though, I observed some things and I knew it will take me extra effort if am to have a good harvest.

When it comes to farming in general, the fertility of the land i.e how fertile such land is determines to a large extent the harvest, how large or small it will be. But then in a way I was determined to see this through because buying vegetables was digging deep into my pocket and it was not so easy couples with the fact that it was most times not enough to prepare soup for the family. From my little observation the little space I have at the back of the house didn't seem much like a land that is rich enough to provide a good harvest but I decided to give it a try and maybe a long the way apply a form of manure so as to increase the yield.

COMPOST MANURE

After conceiving the idea of planting the vegetables at my backyard, I was still thinking of how I'll be able to get and apply manure in a more efficient and less expensive way to the vegetables due to the fact the land is not so fertile. Then I had this idea of using waste from food items as a form of compost.


IMG_20240403_101941_540.jpg

The waste from food can provide several types of nutrients to the soil depending on the type of food. This was something I was thought in elementary school several years ago. These nutrients can vary from nitrogen, phosphorus, organic matter, potassium, micronutrients. Nutrients from food items can very in the nutrients they supply depending on the specific food items.

Micronutrients

Micronutrients like iron, zinc, manganese etc can be found in food waste. These Micronutrients are essential for some plant function for example enzyme activity.

Organic Matter

Organic Matter when decomposed can increase soil structure and enhance water retention. Knowing fully well that the soil on which I was to plant my vegetables was more of a rocky land, the organic Matter will be of great help to the soil.

Nitrogen

Food waste particularly plant based food waste aee very rich in the supply of nitrogen to the soil and this is one of the most important nutrients when it comes to plant growth and it's necessary when it comes to the development of plant leafs.

Potassium

This is another nutrient found in food waste or compost. This nutrient help the plant when it comes to root development and growth and also disease resistant.

All these nutrients can be gotten at a very low or at now cost at all as most of them come from food remnant in the house, spoiled food or even unwanted food. There are times when food spoilage can happen due to one reason or the other in the house and you'd be left with no option than to dispose of it. This spoiled food can instead serve another form of use entirely in the farmyard and at the end of the day be put into very good use instead of just having to throw them away into the bin.

CHALLENGES

A week or so after planting, I realized the food waste I was hoping to get was coming in very short supply and it was never going to be enough for the whole farm yard and this became a problem for m. I have planted already but food waste was coming in short supply. One of the key elements that will lead to good harvest was in short supply and this was partly due to the fat that food waste had become very rare as a result of the present harsh economic situation of the country in a way. Food wastage was very much avoided and people have devices several methods of preservation of food as a result of the high cost of food which has had more than a 100% increase over the past few months.

My vegetables were growing but they needed the compost quite urgently but it wasn't coming and when it eventually came it came in short supply and was not enough for he whole farmyard. With this in mind, I decided to cut supply of compost to larger part of the farm yard as that was the only option I was left with.

Well it's been close to three now and the difference is very visible between the plant with compost manure on it and the one without which to an extent is painful to watch and look at but I'll just have to make do with what I have gotten so far.

(plant with compost)

(plant without compost)

From the pictures above,there is a stark difference between the vegetables that had food waste applied to it which had very broad leaves and it's looking very green and healthy and the vegetables without.

Well, I hope to not encounter this form of challenge next time I desire to olant at my farmyard.

Thank you all for viewing.
See you next time❤️❤️

Sort:  

Congratulations @zion-francis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024