3 Things I've learned over the past years

in QC Community18 days ago

As we go through life we learn. From life's vicissitudes to our mistakes, we realize life isn't all we have imagined,change is constant and humans are imperfect. I may not have learned so much, but there are a few things that I have learned that help me remain a survivor.

First thing I've learned over the years is that "Not everyone is lucky". We have an adage that can be paraphrased as "someone may dance in the market and receive praise while another gets beaten instead". People who haven't come to this term about life seem to be bitter each time luck fails to fall on them. There are a few times I have been lucky, and also a few times luck has eluded me. This I have come to know is life and one can not be lucky always.

Photo source

The second thing I've learned in life is that "Life is your personal race, no one really cares what you do". I read a story of a man who at one point felt society cared about his decisions and what he does, so he tried to live in order to please people. When he turned 60, it was at that point he realized no one really cared about him, everyone had a demon they were fighting and really didn't care about what he did. So if one lives his life to please society, he'll be disappointed at the end to know no one truly cared about all he did.

Finally, change is constant. Nothing remains the same and can never remain the same. Opportunity comes and opportunity goes. Life happens to all and no one can be certain about tomorrow, all we have to make decisions is today. Aside from embracing change, one shouldn't be confident of tomorrow, and make double plans in case one fails.

And recently I got to learn that our future is a product of our daily decisions. The future doesn't just happen, it builds from the decisions we make today and everyday.


This is in response to the Contest by queercoin. It's still valid for participation

Sort:  

"Life is your personal race, no one really cares what you do"

This part is a bit hard to accept and change, we have the impression that everyone is always looking at us and that we have to meet the expectations of our family, friends and society in general. Sometimes it's really hard to break out of this.

The future doesn't just happen, it builds from the decisions we make today and everyday

Yep totally agree, and every little thing that you do can get you closer to where you want to be.

The first may be hard to believe, but I deeper look at it is some truth and this you only see when you're older

I must say these are very important lessons that everyone should take note of. Not everyone is lucky and no one really cares about us so the earlier we know this, the better we start living life
#dreemerforlife

So true, what we know makes us better survival

A great trio of learnings my friend. Very true each of them. And if I could learn them when I was younger I could have really saved myself a lot of trouble. In particular

"Life is your personal race, no one really cares what you do".

After years of studies and exams it is easy for us to think that there is someone always judging and we have to get things exactly right. Only to find later that no one really cared as they were busy with themselves. Even now as I write this, and know this is the truth, I still find it easy not to worry about judgement from those around me. Luckily I see the younger generation, including yours, be much better at it and not really caring about trolls or judgmental people.

For the lucky point, for me it impacted the other way around. I always used to feel I was out of luck. Others got things for which I had to work so hard. Later I realized that I was lucky in many places too, I just did not notice. It is just a random throw of the dice to be lucky or not. All you can do is put in the effort, and if you are lucky enjoy it, and if unlucky work really hard.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

This is so true. Sometimes we feel unlucky but fail to realize we have been lucky in so many ways. but then hard work and effort is what brings this luck out way.

Thank you for your contribution brijwhiz

This is why we should live by our values and not by those of others. Remain true to what the Lord asks of you, for if you do that, you cannot go wrong. As for luck, a famous South African golfer by the name of Gary Player, once said... "The harder I practice, the luckier I get." Put another way... Those who put in the effort are most likely to be rewarded. If we position ourselves well and associate with people who are ethical and kind, we are less likely to be unlucky in life. If we live by solid values, we are less likely to make poor choices that lead to unlucky results.

#dreemerforlife

Wow! The golfer spoke the truth, effort and luck goes hand in hand-this is another lesson entirely. We can't expect to be lucky without putting in effort and our circle determines our result

Thank You for sharing this lesson. I learned from it

At the end of the day, you're all you've got. Believe in what you believe.
We don't know what life has install for us, so we need to work hard for ourselves, not everyone was born with a silver spoon
#dreemport

That's true, it's unwise to depend on someone for our betterment