Interact with praying mantis

in Stock Images2 years ago

IMG_20211228_174302.jpg

The praying mantis is small, half the length of an adult human little finger or maybe even shorter. His eyes are wide and his stomach looks full.

I found this praying mantis in my yard, among the leaves, when I was looking for a macro photo object, yesterday. My eyes accidentally saw the praying mantis, hiding among the green stems and leaves, maybe trying to camouflage from other predators. In fact, the praying mantis is a predatory insect that I often see eating grasshoppers or other small animals including crickets, butterflies and bees.

From my reading, referring to the scientific explanation, the praying mantis is a carnivorous animal that belongs to the order Mantodea. In the world, according to general reading that can be searched on search engines, it is known that the order Mantodea reaches 2,300 species worldwide. This praying mantis mostly lives in tropical and subtropical areas, although there are some species that live in temperate climates such as in North America, Europe and Siberia.

Although classified as carnivores, in some places many people keep praying mantises. They love these little insects and some even cultivate them. Some time ago, I saw on television, a young man who likes to collect live praying mantis. At a time when his economy was squeezed due to the pandemic, his hobby of raising praying mantis actually became an additional source of income.

Agh, enough about that. Yesterday I was playing with the praying mantis, which several times tried to hide from the camera lens of my smartphone. After interacting for a few minutes, the little praying mantis then started to look at me familiar. This animal belonging to the Mantidae family even walked on my arm several times, so I had a hard time photographing it.

And here are some of the photos I took:

IMG_20211228_174220.jpg

IMG_20211228_174255.jpg

IMG_20211228_174315.jpg

IMG_20211228_174336.jpg

IMG_20211228_174400.jpg

IMG_20211228_174406.jpg