How to integrate sprouts and microgreens in daily meals / スプラウトやマイクログリーンの使い方

in Foodies Bee Hive3 months ago (edited)

You might have heard that microgreens nutritional value. And growing them sounds like fun, right? But you may wonder what to do with them. Yes, I had the question.

Last year, I received support money from state's environment-related budget for growing microgreens in the local community. This year, I continued to experiment to find the best practices for how to grow them as part of our daily routine and how to incorporate them into our diet.

I have finally found a way to do this, and I am going to write about how to use sprouts and microgreens in daily meals. I'll write the growing routine in another post soon.

First, let me list how we can use them:

  • As a decoration
  • As part of a salad (or a salad if you get a lot of them and it seems it's possible!)
  • To put in sandwiches
  • As a topping for rice bowls
  • As a topping for soups
  • Add to stir-fry or other dishes that require heat
  • Pick and eat!

First of all, it is easiest to use them as toppings or garnishes for all kinds of meals. The cute shape makes the dish a little more stylish. At the market, I put it on top of vegan Sushi rolls.

What a great way to add something you grew yourself, even if it's just a little bit. I added spinach micro greens (thinned out greens though...) to salad.

It's interesting to see the variety in taste depending on the type of seed. Personally, I like the nutty flavor and the texture of the lentil sprouts.

I added the lentil sprouts to my peanut butter and tomato based stew and quinoa bowl. Green color from cress is a good addition too. So you can use them like a combination of decoration and mini salad.

Peashoots' (the young shoots of the pea plant) curly mustache can be added to a variety of dishes.

Currently I'm reading a book titled "Year-Round Indoor Salad Gardening" that introduces salads made with microgreens grown in the house, and it may not be a dream to make a whole plate of salad with indoor grown leaves.

Sprouts and microgreens have an image of being used in cold dishes such as salads, but they can also be used as a topping for soups. I saw some chefs use sprouts on pumpkin soup, beet root soup etc. So you can use sprouts and microgreens not only in warm seasons but all over the year.

Depending on the type, you can also add them to dishes that are cooked with heat. For example, peashoots can be cooked. Here is my Pho with mung bean sprouts. It's a typical Asian use case.

I think you will get used to use them as you grow or buy them and add more and more to your everyday cooking. Just by adding a little bit, you can add a variety of nutrients and a gorgeous appearance, so there is no reason not to give it a try!

🌱 🌱 🌱

「マイクログリーンってなんか体にいいって聞くし、育てるのも楽しそうだけど、食事に取り入れるとどうしたものか困る」という人はいませんか?かくいう私がそうでした。

昨年、マイクログリーンを地域で育てる活動に環境関連の予算をつけてもらい、今年に入って「どうやったら日々のルーチンとして育てやすいか」「そしてどう食事に取り入れて行ったらよいか」ベストプラクティスをみつけるべく実験を続けていました。

ようやくこうしたらいいのではという方法が見えてきたので、スプラウトやマイクログリーンの使い方について書こうと思います。育て方のルーチンについてはまた今度。

まずはどんなふうに使えるかリストアップしてみます:

  • デコレーションに
  • サラダの一部にする(たくさん採れたらサラダにもなる!)
  • サンドイッチにはさむ
  • 丼ものにトッピングする
  • スープにトッピングする
  • 炒め物など火を通す料理に加える
  • つまんで食べる

まずは、あらゆるものにトッピングしたり添えたりして使うのが一番簡単です。形がかわいいので料理がちょっとおしゃれになります。マーケットではヴィーガン太巻きの上にのせています。

たとえほんのちょっとでも自分で育てたものを足せるとなんともうれしいものです。サラダにほうれん草のマイクログリーン(間引き菜ですが・・・)を足してみました。

種の種類によって味にバラエティーがあるのもおもしろいです。個人的にはレンズ豆のナッツのような味わいと歯応えが好きです。

ピーナッツバターとトマトベースのシチュー、キヌアのお昼ご飯にスプラウトを添えてマイクログリーンで緑を足してみました。デコレーション兼ミニサラダといった感じです。

ピーシュートのくるくるの髭はいろいろな料理に足して遊べます。

今読んでいる『Year-Round Indoor Salad Gardening』という本では、家の中で育てたマイクログリーンで作るサラダが紹介されていて、サラダを一皿作るのも夢ではないかもしれません。

スプラウトやマイクログリーンというと、サラダなど冷たい料理に使うイメージがありますが、スープのトッピングにしても。こちらでは秋冬のカボチャのスープなどにスプラウトがのってでてきたりしますが、日本料理なら味噌汁の上にネギがわりにちらしてもおしゃれだと思います・・・と書いてやってみたくなってきました。

種類にもよりますが、火を通す料理に入れるのもありです。われわれ日本人はおなじみのもやしを思い浮かべてみるとよいと思います。洋風のものだと、ピーシュート(えんどう豆の植物の若芽)も火を通せます。

とりあえず育てたり買ったりして、どんどん普段の料理に足していくと慣れてくると思います。ちょびっと足すだけでいろいろな栄養を足せて、見た目にも華やかになるのでトライしない手はありません!

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for curating my post @qurator team!

I love to see these kinds of posts. Yay for sprouts and microgreens!!

Same same. I like your posts and the profile photo. I wonder which flower would I select for my profile photo ... 😁 Calendula is really a good choice 👏

It makes my mouth watering HAHAHAHAA

Happy to read so 😁