Chef’s Table ~ A Critique At The Posh People's Restaurant | Gulshan Series

in Foodies Bee Hive20 days ago

“Food brings people together, but good friends keep them together”


Source

Hello, foodies of HIve. I hope you all are doing well today.

Today, I will share with you guys a food tour I commenced yesterday. It is in the posh area of Dhaka where the rich go for a little chill. It is located near the heart of Gulshan 1, it's name is Chef's Table and I dined with a few pretty people that I loved spending the time with.

_b0ae9545-6b47-48c2-b4c8-ad502395c9a1.jpg

Source

Without further ado, let's start with the details of the epic journey.

Story Time

The plan was to meet at the Chef's table at 5 pm after everyone was free from their work. I patiently awaited, doing my home tasks, and other mundane duties.

IMG_6175.jpeg

The weather was sublime. The cool breeze kept me on the terrace for as long as 2 hours. I almost wanted to stay there for a couple more minutes but I had a place to get to.

As time went by I took a cool shower and changed into my outerwear, slapped on some lotion, and with a hint of perfume, I set out to pick one of my friends to get there.

On my way to her place, I called her and asked if she was ready. She said her brother would drop her there, so I headed toward Chef's Table alone.

IMG_6180.jpeg

Within 30 minutes I reached and got a table for 4. And, after roaming the posh area for another 10 minutes, everyone arrived with smiles and vibrant vibes.


The Place

IMG_6188.jpeg

A sight that would not be forgotten anytime soon. Not that it was my first time here but the view is as welcoming as a cat house, both are full of pleasures for the right price.

IMG_6190.jpeg

And, the place was bustling as usual. I took this pic after everyone had arrived. 10 minutes before this, every seat was empty. Thankfully, I had already gotten a good seat with a good view.


The Food

IMG_6189.jpeg

This was my most precious friend who studies at the most prestigious university in the country.

The first thing she got was from a Korean Subway where they sold food at a fixed rate per gram. She later shared a hilarious story of her friend who bought 1 pea off the place and got it for free since it didn't weigh anything she got it for free XD. They wouldn't allow that guy for a second time... thankfully she got a bit more in quantity.

IMG_6192.jpeg

This was her amazing choice of food: a fresh amount of greens, a skosh of shrooms, a dab of noodles, some proteins, half a boiled egg, and a date. Perfect for eating after a long time.

IMG_6193.jpeg

This lady took something more filling. She also chooses to get food from the Korean Subway. She picked a bit of pasta, a scruple amount of shrooms, corn(she loves it), some proteins, and a date.
On the other plate, she got a huge amount of egg-fried rice. She did not expect the restaurant to give this huge amount of rice. It took all of us to finish.

IMG_6194.jpeg

And this dish is from yours truly. This was from a shop named Thai Bahn, a restaurant that specializes in cuisine from the great Thailand. It is a squid egg-fried rice. And, just as I remember it, the amount that it provides is immense. Not to mention the amount of squid rings.
They also threw in a bit of fried corn and a little of the greens.
The curry that came with it was neither too spicy nor sweet, a good balance of sweet-sour-salty.
And, the egg was the perfect sunny side up with a runny yolk although they fried it a few seconds too much, hence it got hard from the bottom.

IMG_6197.jpeg

This was the second dish I got from a shop named Hakka Dhaka which specializes in noodles. Now, I ordered for their set menu B with noodles, but they served me fried rice... a huge fuckup but I didn't pester them for it. They were too late to meet the demands of their customers.

I also noticed that all of their customers ordered the fried rice and they must've put rice on mine as well. The sides I ordered were: Mongolian beef and creamy mushrooms with nuts. It also included 2 momos with a minuscule amount of soy, 2 dates, and 2 wrapped prawns with a mustard sauce.

The prawn was good but not that good, the crispy noodle covering made it very dry. The Mongolian beef was tasty but I am now sure that Mongolian food does not bode well with me afterward. The mushrooms were really good, and so were the momos as it was piping hot.

It took us a good 30 minutes to finish the food. It was good that in a posh restaurant, they served us in good amounts but somehow my peasant mind thinks that they could've increased the portion by 20% of what they gave us to match the price. Nonetheless, it was a good time spent with these amazing hyu-maans.

The Dessert

This is what made me wanna go back to this place every time I get some money. The ice cream here is one of the best ones I've tasted for the price. This one is from Savoy.

I bought from it thinking that it was cheap and I was running a little low on cash. One scoop costs Tk 150 or $1.4, and 2 scoops cost Tk 250 or $2.01 which is a steal. Moreover, since every other ice cream parlor was selling twice the price, I thought it must've been not that good.
They were also selling milkshakes with a huge discount but that amount of calorie/sugar was sure to upset my stomach.

IMG_6201.jpeg

I ended up with the double scoop and beat the pricing game(there's no beating the pricing game since every sale they made a profit so it is only a trick to fool the mind), and boy was it amazing. It wasn't your average chocolate with milk ice cream, it was heavenly. The inside was filled with black forest and another layer of chocolate. Overall, this was the best deal I've had the entire day.

IMG_6200.jpeg

My friend was not so lucky. She did not look at their menu fully and just got 1 scoop. She got the vanilla ice cream and it was good. But, as soon as she tasted mine, she knew she missed out on the deal and got a "good" one instead of the "best" one. She was devastated and slowly died inside. She was also the one with the peas on the bowl at the top. I am meeting her after 3 months and boy is she pretty as always.

The other 2 did not get anything as they were quite full. They only took small bites out of our ice creams.

We finished up the desserts and as quietly as we entered the place, we left the same. Fortunately, all of our houses were at the same location. That way, I dropped them off at each of their homes and finally came back at around 8 pm.

Sort:  

Nice place where you can eat a lot ! Seems you have good time 😍