The Great Gulshan Escapade ~ Galöutti | Ramadan Series

in Foodies Bee Hive2 months ago

Hello fellow foodies of Hive, I hope you all are doing well today.

IMG_6031.jpeg

Today, I will show you guys a new restaurant that has gained fame in a short period and is said to have a delicious course of meals specialized for Ramadan. It isn't your average platter, it's a buffet!
Only at $16.99, we were getting dinner and an iftar buffet all-inclusive. A too good to be a true offer but here we were.

Today also has a story that needs to be shared about going to this restaurant.

Story Time

1 hour to iftar time. I was doing my home tasks given by my professors when suddenly my mom asked me if I would like to join my granny for Iftar. The idea was absurd since we may not reach it in time but I jumped in. The location was at Gulshan. I started to get ready while my brother called in an Uber and the rider was luckily close enough to us.

We encountered some traffic but reached the location with 10 minutes left before Iftar.

The Food

IMG_6034.jpeg

The adhan echoes through the floor and we broke our fast with watermelon juice a date. Then, one by one I went around the trays and brought in the delicacies arranged just for me.

First Bout

IMG_6032.jpeg

The first thing I avoided was the bread. No special reason for it, I just wanted to save the space in my stomach for the other food.

  • The first thing I got was a bite-sized Shwarma wrapped in paper. Honestly, it was the most amazing Shwarma I had had in a while.
  • The next thing was the grilled prawn. It was not that amazing. Granted it had the best color and was well grilled but the insides were bland and a bit fry. Yet, it was grilled to perfection.
  • Then, I got a flaky fish grill that was heavenly. It was a Bettaki fish and the people did an excellent job at cooking it.
  • The next dish was something I didn't have high expectations for it looked nothing like the original dish I had had in India, it was the green meat on the left side of the pic named Hariyali chicken. It was not the one I had expected but it was good, they merely took processed meat and painted it green with herbs and spices.
  • Lastly, I took the grilled chicken but I was wary of it since it was bound to be dry and filled with spices. Spices on an empty stomach are like asking for an upset stomach or the formation of a gas-filled anus.

I ate as slowly as I could before going for the next plate.


Second Bout

IMG_6033.jpeg

This plate was going to be my main course. Therefore, I took Lamb curry and tortilla as this combo was sublime. I got the grilled prawn and a few Shwarma bites, the green chicken, and the grilled chicken again. All this would have a peak taste when combined with the tortilla.


A little rest

IMG_6035.jpeg

By this time, I was almost full. So, I chose to get the soupy dishes. I went and got the Beef Haleem. Trust me when I say this, I did not expect much from it. It looked like it had gone cold as it was clustered within itself. But, as soon as I took a spoonful, I realized that it was because of the melted beef within it that held the dal like that.


Fourth Bout

IMG_6036.jpeg

I chose the green chicken for the last plate of food as it was not dry and cronchy. Next, I took the oh-so-amazing flaky fish, a clove of onion dipped in vinegar, and Dhaba style vegetable covered with butter and yogurt with a small side of Chicken Adraki, and Chicken Dopiaza.
I ate till 8 pm and started at 6:13 pm.

Desserts and After main course

IMG_6037.jpeg

This is a specialty that I have tasted in many restaurants but I must say that Galötti takes the desh's perfection to a whole new level. This is the Doi Bora one must taste. Mixed with complex spices, and finished with a garnish of multiple crushed sour pickles and herbs, this delicacy becomes the star of today's eatery.

IMG_6038.jpeg

The next is not as good as the previous one but not a bad dish either. This is a mixture of nimki and flavored yogurt with chili sprinkles and a little garnish of pickle puree. Nimki is a type of fried bread made in the shape of a rectangular gift box.

IMG_6039.jpeg

And lastly, to end the amazing crusade of gourmet I got and mixed two of my favorite desserts: pudding and shahi firni.

History

Firni is a popular dish that was introduced by the Mughals, made with rice flour and cooked milk with the addition of sugar and other sweet flavored aromatic spices such as cardamom, saffron, and rose water, and garnished with nuts like almonds and pistachios, along with rose petals, etc.

The mixture of these two gave a very sweet jelly-like mixture that was perfect to satiate my palette of sweet goodness. This was also a great energizer for my brain as it runs like a bullet train and gets tired after a good session of planning out events for the next day.


Final Thoughts

The only thing that I didn't like was the fact that they didn't have extra forks, knives, and spoons laid out like every other buffet. So, once they take your spoon along with the empty plate, you gotta wait for one of the waiters to bring you one.

However, the best thing about this place was that they wrote down on a placard beneath each item, "Please do not waste food". This simple message is not present in most high-class restaurants that I have visited over the years. I tried my best and did not leave any food to waste. I hope god watches me as I strive to be a person who never wastes food nor rejects the righteous intentions of the heart.

Till next time, in a different restaurant, with a different set of meal.