Spring tastebuds awakened!

in Foodies Bee Hive3 months ago (edited)

Hello and happy Friday everybody!

It's almost spring time and here, in Montreal, the sun's out, snow days have almost disappeared and our mood has shifted from the darker side to the more positive one (finally!). We've only witnessed a few sunny days but to Montrealers, this means summer season has started ☀️🕶️😅 And what better way to celebrate nature's rebirth than coffee, the concoction that awakens all our senses - just as Mother nature is waking up from its beauty sleep 😉

Today, my friend and I decided to check out a local restaurant we've been dying to try. It's a small place called Bloomfield ("bloom" - kinda in sync with our theme here). It's located in the area of Outremont, which has been looking extra gloomy lately.

Look at this haunting beauty

Thankfully, Bloomfield restaurant was anything but that. From the moment you step into the place, you will feel like you are in another world. Now don't get me wrong, the restaurant is tiny but it has a certain "je ne sais quoi" that instantly draws you in. Along with the delightful coffee aroma enriching the air.

Once we made our way to our table (precisely 3 steps from the door 😅), we looked up and witnessed the most captivating sight - the ceiling was covered in flowers. Instant mood boost...Talk about spring!

Once we brought ourselves back to the present moment, it was time to enjoy my favourite time of the day - brunch time! No matter what might pain me at any given moment, the one thing I've noticed soothes me and calms me down is brunch (with coffee, obviously). Today's choice was a scrumptious French toast dish. What made it unique, apart from the flawless presentation, was the mix of tahini, halva and maple syrup the fruits were drenched in. It was such a flavourful, mouthwatering mélange! I have never tried this combo before but rest assured this will definitely not be the last time I do. I plan on incorporating this into my French toast recipe!

And how about the beautiful little purple flowers all over? Can this French toast be any more Spring-inspired? 🪻

Needless to say, I pretty much inhaled the whole plate (sorry, not sorry!). If we don't add a little bit of sweetness to our lives, then what the heck are we living for?

Thanks, friends, and enjoy the weekend!