HANGRY FAST FOOD

in Foodies Bee Hive11 months ago

IMG_1214 (1).JPG

"What do you mean there's nothing for supper?! Just whip up something from leftovers in the fridge." BuckarooFarmer and the BuckarooBabies came tumbling into the house muddy, exhausted and hungry.
"Our fridge and cupboards are barer than old mother Hubbard's" I threw open the fridge for emphasis.
"I've been saying we need to go to market"
"There's still a cauliflower in the garden" said one of the kiddos. My husband laughed at my dispairing face;
"There's that mozarella just waiting to become a pizza."
Suddenly everyone was dancing around shouting "PIZZA! PIZZA!"
I was about to throw the mozarella at the mob when I remembered the fabulous Keto pizza base recipe that our very own @dswigle had shared a year or so ago. Hmmmmm. It's avo season and I have just bottled last year's olives. All the ingredients we need to whip up a delux pizza.

IMG_1195 (1).JPG

For those with gluten intolerance or sticking to low - no - carb diet; this Keto pizza base is the bomb. Literally. I'm not a big cauliflower lover. However I do L.O.V.E. cheese. The combination of the two makes the pizza base a winner. All you need are three basic ingredients and a hot oven.

IMG_1198 (1).JPG

KETO PIZZA BASE:
3 Cups course grated raw cauliflower
3 Cups course grated mozarella cheese
3 free-range eggs (thanks Buckaroo chickens)

IMG_1199 (1).JPG

Pop everything into a mixing bowl and lightly mix with a fork. Don't be concerned about the appearance which looks anything but doughy.

IMG_1200 (1).JPG

Turn your oven on 180 C and prepare a large oven dish. Oil and line with parchment paper. It's advisable to thoroughly oil the parchment paper too. Scoop about 1/3 of the mix onto the parchment paper and pat into a thin round base. I found that it rips apart if it is too thick.

IMG_1204 (1).JPG

Pop into the oven for a few minutes until the underside browns. You will notice that the melting mozarella binds the pizza base together beautifully.

IMG_1207 (1).JPG

Carefully flip and return to the oven to complete baking the other side. While the base bakes through prepare your topping. I always have sundried tomatoes available which make an incredible paste with some garlic, oregano and fresh tomato. Buckaroos love avo. On anything. With some fresh coriander, avocado and olives the pizza surpassed our expectations.

IMG_1210 (1).JPG

Despite dire thoughts that everyone would go to bed hungry, we had a yummy pizza and leftovers! The last pizza base went to the fridge for hangry snacks the following day. What I discovered was a cold Keto pizza base makes the best wraps. So the following day I chopped up similar ingredients as the pizza topping and rolled up the wrap for a delectable lunch.

Who would've thought fast-food could be so deliciously nourishing!

IMG_1224 (1).JPG

Sort:  

Oh yes!!! Ingenuity for the win!

Yeah! I just wish it was always this easy and this simple

Sounds divine!! Aren't they much yummier than they sound? They really are! I am so impressed by how you can think on your feet when you need to. Okay, to be fair, even when you don't need to.

Woman~! You are such a hard act to follow!

Everything looked perfect and I really loved your idea with the wraps the next day! I never thought of that and the base pizza does taste good cold (or more exactly, not hot)

I find it an easy fix for a night like this. You turned into a hero. :)

The toppings are the fun part, aren't they? I do the sun-dried tomatoes or thinly sliced fresh ones with oregano and a spritz of olive oil and fresh basil. So delicious! I put pineapple and onions and well, I haven't found a topping I wouldn't use... yet. I cannot tell you how many times cauliflower has saved my day! I am so glad you gave it a try.

I found it a surprise! You are the mom that is the most fun!!! Thank you for the mention! I actually didn't miss reading the post! ❤️

Denise. You leave me speechless. A gift of words AND a gift of hive dollars. Thank you

And yes, much yummier. I must admit I was super skeptical when you first posted the recipe a couple years back. You didn't know they make amazing wraps? It was totally unplanned that the last one worked out that way. My kids were mangling something out of the fridge and the pizza base was flopped all over. I realized it folded perfectly. Voila!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

I have tried this before and failed, because I did not add the cheese to the base. Wow, I feel like an idiot now haha. Uhm, maybe I didn’t read the recipe thoroughly enough when I tried to make it…

Anyhow, this looks absolutely fantastic. I am already thinking on how I can use this. When you “burn” cheese in a cast iron pan, you get insane flavour. I might just “steal” your idea and make some deep dish style pizza with this base! Yum.

Thanks for sharing (and reminding me) of this recipe!

Ummmmm...no comment?

🤣 cheese IS the secret ingredient. I must admit I was really skeptical but it's surprisingly delicious.

I cannot even remember what I did or what recipe I followed. I think I merely put the cheese on top like a normal pizza. But I am a slow learner haha. But I am going to make the deep dish pizza with cauliflower! Watch this space.

Watching! Watching!

I might make this Friday! Or somewhere there. So, soon! Haha.

Oh yeeeeeahhh cauliflower and cheese are a marriage in heaven!!

I am slowly finding out my mistakes and what I missed out on! I had at least had cauliflower mac and cheese!

Fabulous. I love whipping up meals out of a Mother Hubbard cupboard. This looks like a good one!

Yeah! It is surprisingly YUM

I know I'm gonna love this recipe even if I haven't tried this even at once...yummm..

I hope you do! You'll be pleasantly surprised

Awww, this seems so delicious my friend. How I love to taste it. Honestly, I have not tried cooking it. Grateful of providing the way how to cook it. Happy eating dear friend and enjoy.

It was indeed a happy eat! Thank you. I hope you get to make your own