Italian Quesadilla

in Foodies Bee Hivelast month (edited)

I normally post other people's food that I love, becsuse I'm not much of a chef myself. I can follow instructions, but if you're relying on me to come up with a unique, tasty creation from scratch, you're likely doomee, and disappointment is highly likely. Except in rare instances, like today.

It's Mother's Day, so my priority was on showing my wife and my mom that I care, love them both, and how much I appreciate them. Between cards, flowers and a fancy brunch, I hadn't really planned anything for dinner.

Inspiration Through Desperation
I didn't want to cook, and I doubt I'd have any success ordering something via DoorDash, so I resigned myself to scavenging for whatever leftovers were in the fridge.

I had recently been on an Italian sub sandwich kick. The Italian bread had gone stale, so I used it up last week making delicious French toast. I still had some meats and cheese left, so I looked around and found an unopened bag of tortillas. Then, inspiration struck!

Humble Beginnings (Ingredients)
My version has quite a few meats, but you can add/subtract to your liking. Here's what I put in my Italian quesadilla:

Some Assembly Required
I started out with a tortilla. You can start with whichever meat you want.

I started with three slices of the Hot Capocollo.

Next, I added the last slice of Prosciutto I had. If I had more, I would've added another slice since it's pretty thin.

Then, I added three slices of Genoa Salami.

I also added three slices of deli cut Pepperoni.

Lastly, I added the pepperjack cheese. I took a single slice, folded it in half, tore it into two pieces and laid it out lengthwise.

Here's what it looks like all assembled.

The whole time I was assembling this, I had a carbon steel pan heating up on the stovetop.

I heated up the quesadilla in the microwave for 30 seconds, to give the cheese a head start on melting.

I put it cheese side up in pan so the underside would warm up. I cooked it for two minutes.

Then I flipped it over so the cheese side was face down, and cooked it for two minutes on that side.

Then I flipped it back over, just to make sure it was crisp enough.

Next, it was time to cut it. I used a pizza cutter, but you could also use a knife. I once ran out of knives and resorted to using a pair of scissors. 😆

And there you go! A delicious, hot, Italian quesadilla, ready to serve!

If you want to go one step further, you can add a small cup of Rao's marinara for dipping. Even without that, it was delicious!

If you decide to make this, I'd love to hear what you think when you try it!


Do you like stacking gold and silver?

Are you new to Hive, or know someone new to Hive, and want help and support?

Have you been on Hive for a while and want to help new Hive members? Join HOC and help us grow Hive and encourage new members!

Sort:  

!hiqvote

!hiqvote

@bitcoinman, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (3/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @bulliontools gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Looks delicious!BBH !LOL !ALIVE

@bulliontools! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (8/50)

@bulliontools! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ bitcoinman. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I was in the Post Office queue yesterday when Diana Ross tried to push in.
I said “You can't hurry love, you'll just have to wait...”

Credit: reddit
@bulliontools, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bitcoinman

(4/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

@bulliontools, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @bulliontools gets !HUG from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Dear @bulliontools, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @hiq.smartbot.
(1/2)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
bulliontools tipped mirror15
hiq.smartbot tipped bulliontools
@bulliontools(1/5) tipped @thebighigg

Your Italian quesadilla looks delicious and inventive! It's always exciting to explore new flavors. Thanks for sharing this mouthwatering recipe!

Thanks! It's certainly tasty! 😁

What a delicious dish, quesadillas Italian style, I've never tried this but I can imagine it's absolutely yummy.

It's very tasty! Next time, I'm tempted to try adding pesto mayo to it. 😁

It looks yummy. What a thoughtful son and husband you are!

Thanks! 😁

!BBH
!PIZZA

@mirror15! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (1/20)

Looks tasty. I am sure they enjoyed taking your well prepared Italian quesadilla

Thanks! It was delicious, and even my wife like it. 😁

Beautiful, I expected it😅

The discord link to the HOC is expired

Thanks for letting me know. I updated it. 🙂

Here's a new link if you're interested: https://discord.com/channels/1190475304389587005/1192933087303180388

Thank you

I once ran out of knives and resorted to using a pair of scissors. 😆

You gotta do what you gotta do 😂

What a beauty, that thing looks good! Lots of great meat and pepper jack! My mouth is watering!
!BBH

@bulliontools! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (16/50)

Thanks! I've got one slice left for tomorrow and I'm already looking forward to it! !LOL

!BBH
!PIZZA

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (1/20)

What does a painter do when he gets cold?
He puts on another coat

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bulliontools

(1/4)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.