Sort:  

Wood has gone up in price not having electricity now rely on fire cooking outdoors we noticed it here.

Any wood cut in parks, bakkies go in collecting to dry and sell in location, one has to reinvent oneself continuously to survive.

Interestingly, this did not happen in the cape! After that massive wind storm, various trees still lying on the side of the road. Maybe, I need to get a trailer and pick up some nice firewood for the future. (Edit: I am not always sure about the law regarding picking up wood from public property though.)

If it's on the pavement I'm sure nobody would complain, I am surprised the rural folk have not already arrived to scoop it up.

I will see how things look when I go back next week. Maybe I can still grab some nice big pieces of timber for my garden.

Leaving branches to rot into the ground is good or add into compost heap. Hardy twigs used to lift plants that require being off the ground with assistance, so many uses not to throw away.

For sure! I always use everything that I get from my garden. I centre my whole gardening approach around my compost; everything goes to the compost. I use palm tree leaves to start fires for the braai, and the ash goes to the compost; the bigger pieces from the palm are excellent to heat the pizza/bread oven, as it almost burns like wood; the pieces of tree branches from pruning the bigger trees are always used in the garden to rot and make nice pathways.

Life is simple when we get back to basics.