All my life I thought I was allergic to crabs - turns out I'm not

_DSF1758.jpg


My earliest memory of eating a crab was when I was a kid - probably around 4-6 years old. I remember not really liking it cos I was kinda feeling some itchiness in my throat and also just the whole struggle of eating it and at the same time it wasn't the cooking that I like. It was at someone's birthday party back at the military camp and they put some coconut milk in there which was probably not tasting good for me that time.

Eating shrimps give me the same feeling too, but only on certain cooking. I find some itchiness when it's sauted but less reaction when it's cooked in a soup or something. I know I didn't have any strong reactions and just mild itchiness in my lips and throat (or mouth in general) but it's annoying so I always avoid them.



If you're allergic to shrimps, then you're most likely allergic to crabs too.

Since I had some mild reactions to both of them, I just avoided them. And this is somewhat true, since I think they contain the same allergens or whatever.

They actually really smell nice when cooked and I get a bit jealous of not eating them. I got tired of avoiding it so I tried crabs in small amounts during @spintwister's birthday and it was actually really tasty and delicious!



_DSF1765.jpg

For some reason, I randomly craved crabs and wanted to eat the same cooking @spintwister served at her birthday party haha. I know seafoods are her favorite and one invite and she will always say yes. So she was up with it and @jude.villarta and our friend Dave was all up too!



_DSF1767.jpg

Spintwister ordered the crabs from a city a few hours from us since that's where all the good crabs are. She also cooked it for us and it was so good!!! 😩

This is a buttered-garlic crabs with baby potatoes and corn. I haven't tasted other cooking of crabs but I feel like this is the best cooking style lol at least for me.

Spintwister has been cooking seafoods all her life so her expertise really was helpful with cooking it properly and safely. She also taught me how to eat it since I literally had no idea how to crack those shells and which ones to eat.



_DSF1769.jpg

I was able to eat one crab! We also had raw fish with vinegar which is a perfect partner for the crabs although I focused on eating the crabs cos I enjoyed it so much lol.

I'm glad that I don't have to avoid particularly the crabs (will have to try the shrimps soon too although I'm not a big fan of the taste of it) and just eat whatever without restrictions. It actually feels like I missed out on a lot of fun eating crabs and regret not eating them sooner. Hahah.

Thank you @spintwister for cooking for us and sharing the seafood knowledge! <3

Sort:  

Maybe the real allergy is the friends you made all along.

I don't understand the joke lol. Although I made some "friends" who I am now allergic to, they should be ex-friends now since I'm allergic to them now haha

I wish I was allergic to seafood as it would be the best excuse to never have to try it when others offer.

Lol you never had them in the first place so you wouldn't know how they would taste. Gotta try it even just once :p

You missed out so much not eating crab and shrimp all these years! Glad you're enjoying them now

Yeah!! Like what the hell was I doing lol

The same happened to me with chocolate, I spend all my childhood without eating chocolate until i was around 14 that I tried it again and anything happened.

That week I ate a lot of chocolate 😂

Hahaha that's awesome! Why didn't you eat before? Did you think you had allergies or something?

Yes I was allergic! every time I ate chocolate it made me very itchy and I had trouble breathing. Those episodes happened when i was between 7 to 10 years old, in that moment, the doctor said it was better to quit chocolate, but around my 14's i tried it again and i was ok.

So it was a happy ending 😁

Oh wow that's rough. Of all the other foods to be allergic to and your body chooses chocolate lol. Glad you can now, I can't live without chocolate! Very happy indeed hahah

Thank God you can finally enjoy the taste of crab and shrimp. Think about it if you have never even tried them for fear of allergies... 😉

Haha I know!! Now I'm thinking maybe it's the way they prepared the food that's why I get some really mild itchiness but I understand myself why I didn't risk anyway, allergic reactions can get pretty dangerous too. :D

yun pov na gutom ka, tapos may nakita kang masarap na pagkain sa post lol
di bale, medyo nabusog na ako sa tingin pa lang haha

I think I have crab allergy too. Sometimes. But I can't tell for sure. So there's no way but to risk it and try again haha.

What's the side dish tho? Looks delicious too.

Haha kahit before pag may nakita akong crabs tapos gutom na ako feel ko gusto kong kumain kahit alam kong "di ako pwede".

So it feels like tsamba-tsamba ang allergic reactions sayo? What are the reactions you get?

What's the side dish tho?

Wait you never had kinilaw? That's just raw fish (don't ask me what kind of fish tho cos I don't know hahah), white vinegar, cucumber, and some onions and ginger. The vinegar somehow "cooks" the fish while being dipped lol. Must be a bisaya dish? Dunno but it's common here at least

Grabe, midnight natatakam ako haha. Kain muna ako some other food later.

Rashes mostly but I can't tell if it has something to do with the other ingredients or maybe the way it was cooked.

Haha, dami pipino kasi. Ibang version ng kinilaw ang alam ko pero mukhang masarap yan sa pic. May pinsan ako from Zamboanga, madalas yun vinegar-cooked style na sides nga. Yun isa sa nagustuhan ko un lato or seaweed ba yun.

Ahhh yes I like the lato din. It's tasty and it pops in the mouth hahah love also cos it has vinegar (I love vinegar). Hmm parang di pa ako nakatikim ng version ng kinilaw na iba, ito lang yung alam ko 🤣

its tuna kinilaw hahaha

Hala! I'm too late to this post, sorry I'm false hahaha, you are always welcome and I enjoy chitchatting with you guys thank you for the comfort and love amen! you guys are always the best.