A Taste of Life in the Province

in Foodies Bee Hive5 months ago (edited)

Probably not the most delectable dish in a renowned restaurant or something savory that tickles your taste buds on an exotic destination, but it is the most appetizing food that entices my soul, yeah one good thing about going home - having a taste of food at the comfort of your beloved province.

These simple food, yes the ones I grew up eating, has a special spot in my s̶t̶o̶m̶a̶c̶h̶ heart. It's amazing how every bite has the unique ability to capture moments in time and evoke a firm connection to my roots.

IMG_20231231_233756.jpg

Hello, everyone!

During my vacation to my hometown this recent holiday season, allow me to share with you how the simplicity of foods in the province life has always kept me coming back. Aside from that, since I find solace in the mundane and chaos of the city, it is also a place where I can get to bite again the simple taste of life here. Aside from its mesmerizing scenery, not to mention its relaxing atmosphere, the foods here do not merely nourish my body, but the heart as well.

Here are some of the simple foods that kept me coming back to the warm bosom of home;

Fresh foods and vegetables.
Of course, courtesy of none other but my Mama's green thumb, she has grown lots of fruits and vegetables in our backyard. The good thing about growing your food is that you can have a taste of a healthy meal without spending any money.

IMG_20240114_201639.jpg

IMG_20240114_201729.jpg

IMG_20240114_204305.jpg

IMG_20240114_204405.jpg

Adobo Bisaya
Unlike the usual adobo that is cooked with soy sauce and vinegar, Mama cooked this one using salt only.

IMG_20240114_210150.jpg

Buwad/Fried dried fish
I don't know what makes it different from the ones I have tasted in the city but maybe the fact that it is cooked in the traditional way using wood makes it a lot different. Or maybe simply because of the thought alone that I am eating it at home with people that are dear to me adds the spices and aroma that spread magic to it.

IMG_20240114_201929.jpg

IMG_20240114_204209.jpg

Freshly cooked grilled fish
Here in the province, we are so privileged that we are in a coastal town since there's no need for us to go to the market since the people in the neighborhood are the ones who go door-to-door to sell their freshly caught fish or any seafoods.

And yes, the privilege of savoring the delicious meaty grilled fish on a blissful meal you get to share with your family.

IMG_20240114_202039.jpg

Inun-unan/Stewed Fish
This is usually cooked with vinegar, salt, and pepper. But here in my province, our version is wrapped in banana leaf which makes it more tastier.

IMG_20240114_202140.jpg

IMG_20240114_202239.jpg

Tuba
This is our version of red wine which is extracted from the inflorescence of the coconut palm. It has always been an overflowing witness of the locals, mostly here in the Visayas regions, as we celebrate life during town fiestas, family reunions, birthday parties, and other joyful celebrations.

Cheers to the good life!

IMG_20240114_201558.jpg

And the secret ingredient, the magical touch of Mama's home-cooked meal. Just seeing her smile is already a feast on my heart. It's just so comforting to know how she put her heart into sprinkling a dose of tender, loving, care and a pinch of happiness that elevates the taste of everything she cooks for the family. Don't get me wrong, I know how to cook, lol! But being away from home for so long makes me miss eating the food that she used to prepare for me.

IMG_20240114_210110.jpg

Happy eating, everyone!

Mangaon ta!

Sort:  

Ang saya naman ng smile ni mother. 😊

The fish! I was just telling hubs about this fish. It's been forever since I last had these.

Mas masaya yung anak (ako) while nakatingin sa kanya Ma'am 😊.

Ibang iba talaga pag sa province,ang presko ng mga isda. Sana matupad na cravings nyo dito hehe.

Thank you Ma'am @arrliinn for dropping by 🥰

D ko pa natry adobo bisaya hehe.. Does it taste different from typical adobo? Kakamiss province foods.

Dry sya sis, wala syang auce. Iba po lasa nya from typical adobo. Well for me, masarap po, sobra.😊😋

Oo nga sis, nakakamiss, di pa din natin maipagpapalit kahit saan. ❤️

Genuine food it's the best unfortunately I don't have a garden to grips up food but I use to had in the past at my grandpa places, I still remember how much good vegetables was ❤️

It's one of the privileges if we are living in the province - the vast area, not to mention a fertile soil that sustains us with all these blessings. I hope you get the chance again to have this wonderful experience my friend @noemilunastorta.

Thank you for dropping by! ❤

Home is where the food is! Haha! Kalami sa adobo bisaya ug sa buwad.

Home us where the food is kay tua ang taga luto ren haha!

Ang inun-unan mongpong napost na jud. Asa ra man ang imu? 😆

Hahah mao jud. Lami jud ng naay tigluto ui. sunod na lang ahung inun -anan det ug magkalami na 😆

😁😉 I like her little stool.. its the classic pinoy squat, but with some support!

She mostly uses it when doing laundry because she hates using a washing machine. 😆

Kain tayo @chinito 🥰

Ka-nindot sa smile ni ate day. Miss her na and roni. 🥰

Ayyyyy ang inun-unan jud nga nakaputos sa dahon saging mao jud na ang pinakalami for me pero dli ko mo-inum ug tuba molabad man dayun akong uh. 🤣🤣

Mingaw napud gani sila nimu Jack maong laagon nalang daw ka namu PUHON. (plano napud😆)

Aw way problema na Jack, basta ikaw, tequila atong tagayon puhon hahaha!