How To Make Homemade Moringa Powder | Mac's Cooking Diary

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago


20240215_150819.jpg

The Superfood

Moringa is dubbed as the “superfood” because its nutritional contents. This plants is native to to Indian subcontient and can be easily found around south east asia. There are many names referring to Moringa in common tongue. Apparently, Moringa is rich with vitamin A and has a few minerals even rich in potassium. In many countries around the world, Moringa is used in cooking and has been subject to medicinal research too.

20240215_132615.jpg

I personally know about that from a while ago when I started spotting moringa around the internet. I didn’t realize this tree grows around the yard. Only a few days ago I started realizing that it grows around the house and I can utilize it to make this powdered superfood.

What are the steps turning moringa into fine powder?

  1. Pluck a few fresh leaves from the stem.
  2. Wash the moringa clean

20240215_133057.jpg

3.Dry it outside until you can hear the crunch

20240215_150605.jpg

4.Use blender to turn them into fine powder

20240215_150707.jpg

5.Sift the powder and it’s ready to use.

20240215_150717.jpg

When I make the tea, it tastes a little strange. There’s a hint of spice and mint together making it quite a spicy beverage. I have not explored alternatives of making them because my dad didn’t quite like it but we’re thinking of putting them into tiny capsules so it’s a lot easier to consume for him.

I even read in a report that it could help with diseases that affects our nervous system which is something my dad really needs. So, I am hoping it could alleviate his pain.

I am prepping this every morning because the sun is really out and it speeds up the roasting process. A lot of people I know dry them about 2-3 days but for me all it takes is just half a day because it’s really that hot around here. So, it was pretty quick that they dried and I can already drink moringa tea during the night.

Making moringa tea is also not that hard. I use 2 tbsp to make the tea and for my dad, I use 3-4 tbsp before steeping it with hot water to make a warm drink.

ref: Moringa benefits
ref: Moringa

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!

profilepic.jpg
𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢 & 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘰𝘪𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘳 . 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨, 𝘢 𝘳𝘦𝘧𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘭𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸𝘭𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦. 𝘚𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴, 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘰𝘱𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵. 𝘖𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘶𝘦 𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘢𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘴𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘢𝘺. 𝘚𝘩𝘦'𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘤𝘤𝘢𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘧𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘳𝘺 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦𝘴. 𝘍𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘫𝘰𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯! 𝘋𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥 𝘵𝘰𝘰.
Sort:  

It is great that you have a moringa tree in your garden, as it is a blessing. Certainly, this plant offers many benefits, but in those people who have heart problems, it should be consumed with medical supervision. The product you have obtained from drying and grinding moringa leaves is really good. Good idea.

Greetings @macchiata

@sagarkothari88 vote 18%

I read that too, whenever it's all about oriental/natural medicine, always exercise with cautions because you never know if it has severe side effects especially for those with terminal illnesses. Thanks for checking out!

Oh this is very informative! We have lots of Moringa in our place.With this information,I'm sure I can prepared this one too soon.Thanks for sharing.

They can be made into pancakes too and in some culture added into bread. It's interesting how they have practical use and is rich in minerals and vitamins.

Yes, that's true friend and I love moringa...

Really a superfood and as we all know, teas are really healthy

some teas are healthy :D but generally yes

If I remember correctly, we also have it here and it is used to be taken mainly by older people because of the properties you mention. As it is an artisanal remedy, so to speak, young people do not take it much.

lol. in Jamaica it is the same trend. I am young though and i have it in my shakes and teas every other week. I alternate weekly with turmeric.

My mom has tried several times to get me to take teas of this and homemade moringa pills but the truth is that I am not very good at taking this kind of remedies.

I guess it's a matter of habit... and a little bit that I've always been told that I'm 'bad mouth', it's an expression used in Venezuela when you refer to a picky eater and drinker.

lol. bad mouth. I guess the spanish would make more sense why bad mouth and picky eater are correlated.

hahah what a funny expression to say someone is a picky eater :D

ooh!that's even great to hear. I am starting to consume it daily. I think young people should give it a try!

Moringa is also known for its healing ability. I blend the fresh leaves with water to extract the juice from it then I mix the extract to my coffee.

Haven't tried your method but I think it's great way since I can keep the powder longer. I'll try it this way too.

yes! I think powder will last a lot longer too and it's easier to consume. You should try it that way too!

This is really easy.. I love moringa tea too, even eating the leaves alone, especially when added to fish or chicken soup..

Do you add anything to it? or just plain moringa tea?

Just plain.... I don't think it taste better with sugar..

ooh, I thought adding sugar would make it taste better and less spicy/minty

Moringa is minty for me, 😅

Moringa, that names just rolls off the tongue. This is a very interesting plant. I looked it up on Examine.com to see if there were scientific studies on it. This is what I found: https://examine.com/supplements/moringa/

It seems like a high potency anti-oxidant with various benefits (but also possible side effects in high doses)

I saw them on the market sold as superfoods and you know, like capsules form. It's apparently quite high in antioxidants and stuff.

There was a time in Cuba when there was an attempt to extend the cultivation of Moringa due to the excellent properties of the plant. All based on scientific research. It is not talked about much anymore but it was elaborated as a refreshing tea, it was used to accompany meats and many other properties. What an interesting post. Thank you for sharing.

ooh! what happened to that? I mean moringa is pretty excellent plants and quite nutritious. What hinders the progress?

Lo he intentado pero con el orégano y queda super crujiente y deli para usarlos en comida. Una vez lo intente con albahaca pero sin éxito. Me gusta ver qué lo pruebes con esta

¡Deberías probarlo con este!:)

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Moringa is always present in most of the homes in my locale, and mostly in veggie soups. It's surely a superfood.

I can't really imagine making it as a soup! what would be the soup taste?

Wow I didn't know that you can make moringa powder,We have a lot of moringa at our backyard, surely will try it soon!😍

Try making a powder out of it, so easy and great to have as pills if you can find them on Shopee