Homemade Coconut Flour & Walnut Blondie (gluten-free, lactose-free)

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

Hope you're having a nice weekend 😁

With the start of a new semester always comes a lot of work for me, so my meals these days have been little works of assembling leftovers, frozen soups and emergency salads (with everything about to go bad, haha). The desserts alone these days have been worth a photo and recipe sharing; so here I go with the first one: a blondie I made with homemade coconut flour.

image.png
image.png

This cake is halfway between cakey and chewy. For me, super delicious. A moist and soft crumble with little walnut chunks for a good bite and the crispy touch of roasted--actually baked--walnuts on top. The homemade coconut flour I make from coconut bagasse soaks up the moisture from the egg and margarine, making the texture really brownie-like, or should I say blondie-like.

image.png

image.png

INGREDIENTS

It's a budget friendly treat if, like me, you prepare it with homemade coconut flour. I prepare 1 kg of coconut flour for less than 3$ (this is without taking into account that I have already extracted the milk from the bagasse I use to make it), but if I buy it in the store, I have to pay between 11$ and 16$.

image.png

  • 75 gr margarine

  • 1/2 cup white sugar

  • 1/4 cup cane sugar

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla essence

  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon

  • 3/4 cups egg (I used 3 eggs, M)

  • 100 gr walnuts

  • a 8"X8" brownie pan and enough margarine to grease it

I didn't add any salt because the margarine I'm using (Mavesa) is salted. I was going to use coconut oil, but I decided to try margarine for once in this recipe and you can tell the difference. Both versions are delicious to me, but you may want to try and find out for yourselves.

image.png

image.png

PROCEDURE

image.png

I began by mixing the margarine and white sugar.

image.png

After the mixture turned a little creamy, I added the brown sugar and mixed again, just a little to incorporate it into the mixture.

image.png

Then vanilla essence,

image.png

ground cinnamon,

image.png

...and mixed.

As you can see below, I used two spoons. I finally got my wooden spoons back, which I prefer for mixing cake batter. I always get to use my silicon pastry spoon, though, becuase it's so good to scrape off the mixture that sticks to the sides of the bowl.

I added the eggs, mixed a little, and added the coconut flour.

image.png

As I was mixing the coconut flour, it was soaking in the wet ingredients of the mixture...

I've been experimenting quite a bit with the coconut flour I make at home. I'm thrilled to be able to use this resource, as not only it is economical but I produce it systematically in my kitchen--because I'm always making coconut milk--, and it's gluten free. One of the things I've discovered is that this flour absorbs a lot of moisture, much more than wheat flour, so it's good to let the mixture stand for 20 to 30 minutes so that the coconut flour soaks up the moisture it needs so that your cake is as moist as you like it.

image.png

Meanwhile, look for your favorite brownie pan and grease it well. I used margarine to grease mine.

image.png

I turned on my little electric oven to preheat to 300° F and poured the cake batter in the greased pan.

Carefully, I distributed the batter in the baking pan as evenly as possible.

image.png

image.png

Time for Walnuts!

image.png

I used only 100 gr of walnuts. I buy a tray of approximately 200 grams once a week. They cost $16.25 per kilo at the supermarket nearest my house.

image.png

Only a handful is enough for an 8"X8" brownie, or in this case, a blondie 😄

image.png

I crushed a handful of walnuts to incorporate them just below the surface of the cake.

image.png

Then I placed some whole ones on top not only for a little decoration but for extra crunchiness.

image.png

As you can see below, I filled the pan halfway, not because the mixture would rise much but because this cake shouldn't be tall, about 4 cm or 5 cm at most, since it's oily and the crumb is a little loose.

image.png

This blondie went into the oven to bake at 300° F for 45 minutes.

image.png

It formed a golden, crispy crust that was, in my opinion, very provocative to the eye.

image.png

A moist crumble with a nice golden crust is what you'll get if you try making this cake. The walnut bits only make it better if you ask me.

image.png

This cake is officially in my top 10 right now. I think it's delicious besides being gluten-free, lactose-free, and incredibly inexpensive. On top of all this, I don't feel bad about throwing away all that coconut bagasse, which is the best thing for me. 😁❤️

As it is a waterless mixture, this cake lasts more than a week out of the refrigerator perfectly fresh. You'll only notice that, in fact, it becomes denser and easier to cut into pieces without crumbling.

image.png

This was the last piece, 8 days later. I ate it up as I was finishing writing this post 👇😋

image.png

So tell me, is there any homemade cake that has made it into your top 10 lately? I'd love to know which one and why you liked it so much.

As always, I hope you have found this post useful 😄

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite @edwing357 😁❤️

Pastel de delicioso aroma;
coco, canela y nuez
inunda cada rincón con su dulce olor,
deseando una porción con un guarapito
conversando en aquella cocina de lo más rico...


Esta vez llegue puntual a disfrutar de esta pastel con esa cobertura dorada y húmeda tal como me gusta recién salido del horno ❤️😋

Pastel de delicioso aroma;
coco, canela y nuez...

Así, como un poema.

Este descubrimiento ha sido muy bueno. Ya le estoy agarrando la vuelta a esta harina de coco. Está torta se queda en el recetario de placeres frecuentes 🤭

Gracias por pasar a probar. Te guardo con cafecito ❤️

Hola, me encanta como se ve la textura, invita a darle un buen mordisco, jeje, se ve demasiado delicioso. En momentos de mucha actividad lo menos que queremos es cocinar, por lo más rápido es calentar y descongelar, me ha pasado y por eso te entiendo. Saludos.

Sí, vale. Está vez quedó bien. Tuve ensayo y error más de una vez 🤭🙈
Pero al final, valió la pena y lo mejor a demás de la textura húmeda y el sabor a coco acaramelado, es que es muy barata 🙊🙊🙊😂

Saludos ❤️

Wow! Cada trozo de esta torta hecha con harina de coco casera se ve realmente irresistible, amiga! Toda una tentación para mí! Por cierto, hace años que no sé lo que es comerme una torta con margarina Mavesa. Es que le da un sabor y una textura única!🥰🥥

Tengo harina de coco, pero de supermercado. Intentaré replicar esta estupenda receta para ver que tal me sale.

Gracias por compartir este postre lleno de tanta sabor!

Exito en este nuevo semestre!🙏🏻

Bueno, sabrás que a pesar de que sí he comido postres hechos con harina de coco comercial, nunca he probado cocinar con ella yo misma. Así que si la llegas a hacer, me cuentas. COn est aque preparo en casa, yo debo dejar bastante tiempo a que se hidrate. La primera vez, la torta me quedó bastante seca; para nada agradable. Pero esta vez, quedó espectacular.

Gracias por pasar, querida amiga. El semestre ya me dio dolor de espalda, pero dicen que sarna con gusto no pica 😁

The food looks delicious and easy to recreate too.

Absolutely easy to recreate!

My goddaughter hates coconut, and she tried the cake and told me it was delicious and didn't taste like coconut, haha. I love coconut, and I think it does taste like coconut, but with a syrupy, nutty aftertaste that might fool a picky eater.

For me, this simple cake was a hit 😁 I hope you can try it. Thank you so much for dropping by!

Que delicia de receta nos compartes amiga, me imagino la combiancion de todos los sabores, me has djfo con antojo jaja, debo intentar preparar esa harina de coco, como dices, me ahorraria algo de dinero.. Saludos.

La torta es rica y queda suavecita. Hasta ahora creo que hay 3 detalles clave: secar bien el bagazo y molerlo bien para hacer la harina y luego, dejar que se hidrate bien en la mezcla de la torta. El ahorro es total; son unos realitos 🤭

Gracias por pasar, amiga 😁❤️

Se ve increíble y la combinación debe ser riquísima. El color está fantástico.
Y muy fácil de realizar. Muchas gracias por compartir 😊

También me pareció muy bonito color. Esta tortuga fue una sorpresa muy chévere: buena, bonita y barata 🤭

Gracias por pasar, @crisvif11 😁❤️

I’d give your recipe a try but I hope I’m able to get it. The cake looks yummy though

I hope you do! Thank you so much for dropping by 😁❤️

Everything looks so delicious! It's a perfect snack indeed. Thank you for sharing, I will surely try this too :)

It's a good snack and more if you're avoiding gluten on your diet 😊

Thank you so much for dropping by 😁❤️

Se ve increíble amiga y la combinación con nueces me encanta.

Muchas gracias 😁 También me encanta la combinación de coco y nueces ❤️ El 🥥 es muy versátil.

Looks soft and yummy ☺️

It was! Thank you so much for dropping by 😁❤️

You're welcome ☺️☺️

I can just imagine how dreamy a cake made from homemade coconut flour would be. Hats off to the master baker.

Now how about that pastry shop?😊💚

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 83000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 84000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024