TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #41: Savoury Sauteed Minced Pork Rice ๐Ÿ˜‹

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข 3 months ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the food we've been making at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Both because it's cheaper and also healthier to cook for yourself compared to eating out. While I usually stick to the usual recipes I do like to try new ones once in a while and figured I'd share the new ones I've tried once a month so here we go!

Usually when I make rice, I'll put vegetables like carrots, mushrooms and frozen broccoli in it and also make extra so the leftovers can be used for fried rice the next day. As the rice on its own will be quite plain, I'll also cook an extra dish to go along with it. The other day I saw a recipe for Lu Rou Fan ๅค่‚‰้ฅญ, or Taiwanese Pork Rice Bowl that I thought I could try but unfortunately I didn't have the time to braise the pork and it does require quite some time to really bring out the flavours of the sauce.

Source: redhousespice

So I thought I would try a different pork recipe instead. I've never cooked with pork before so this was a first try for me. I found this recipe for stir-fry minced pork and I do remember having a similar dish when I was younger.

image.png

The recipe has some extra ingredients which I didn't have so here are the ingredients I used:

For the rice:

  • carrots
  • frozen broccoli
  • mushrooms
  • 3 cups of rice

For the pork:

  • 270g minced pork
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • onion
  • light soy sauce
  • dark soy sauce
  • dash of white pepper
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • ยผ cup water

image.png

Step 1: Wash and cut the vegetables and rice, then cook in rice cooker.

Unfortunately I didn't have a picture of my rice before it was cooked so here is an older one, which looks similar but with different vegetables. Sorry about that.

Step 2: Mince the garlic and onion.

image.png

Step 3: In a large pan or wok, add in 2 tbsp vegetable oil and saute the garlic and onion over medium heat for 2 minutes, or until the garlic gets lightly brown.

image.png

Step 4: Push the ingredients to one side of the pan and add in another tbsp cooking oil. Turn up the heat to medium-high, add in the minced pork and break it into small pieces.

image.png

Step 5: Mix and saute the pork to make sure it's evenly cooked.

image.png

Step 6: Add light soy sauce, dark soy sauce and a dash of white pepper. I don't really have measurements for the sauces since I just eyeballed it, so use however much you want.

image.png

Step 7: The recipe called for ยผ cup water so I added it since I wanted to make it a little saucy but the meat absorbed it all. There was still a little gravy but not enough. I guess I didn't put enough sauce. It still looked and smelled good though.

image.png

Step 8: By that point the rice should be ready just in time.

image.png

Then it was time to serve! The meat was drier than I wanted it to be but I'm glad it was still tasty! It was a bit more gamey than I would've liked though, and had that porky smell to it. I'm not sure I could've done anything to get rid of that, since I did cook it for a while. Maybe a different sauce can mask it better or something?

image.png

It did pair well with the rice though which was good. I understand why the recipe added the red chili to it since an added spice would've made it better. The recipe did call for fish sauce and lemongrass which I didn't have and tbh I'm not a big fan of, so I think I'll try it with gochujang (Korean spicy paste) next time.

image.png

All in all though it was still pretty tasty, and I'm glad Sean enjoyed it as well. There's nothing like cooking for a loved one and having them enjoy it. ๐Ÿ˜Š

The next time I try a minced pork recipe I'll use a different sauce but tbh I think I still prefer cooking with chicken. It's still a good taste though. If you've cooked with pork before, let me know some tips or share some recipes with me!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #40: Yummy Korean Spicy Stir Fry Chicken ๐Ÿ”

Sort: ย 

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.