Saw X - Live or die, your choice

in CineTV24 days ago

I find it tragicomic when a serial killer tells the doctor who treated him for cancer and gave him a life expectancy, 'I still have work to do'. We remember some movies and actors with a memorable line, despite the long time that has passed; we do not forget that line and repeat it at every opportunity.


source

The movie Saw X will also stay in my mind with the line I will remember about a dying man's way of buying time that he wants to use to kill others. 'I still have work to do!'

For what? To kill others!

It's funny to me that a dying man is still filled with the instinct to kill. If killing is a punishment, you have already been punished and there is nothing you can do, but you still want to kill.

The character of Jigsaw (Tobin Bell), who is supposed to be scary, struck me throughout the movie as funny and incapable. Tobin Bell, who perfectly portrays a tired, weakened person who is struggling with cancer and who suffers a lot from the treatment methods applied, gives a simply magnificent acting performance.

My favorite reflection of the actor is the way he shows his desire to live and his reasons for living despite everything. The transformation from his humble appearance when his illness was at the forefront to the strong and ruthless one when he wanted to punish others was definitely worth watching and trying to understand him.


source

What I mean by trying to understand is that he brutally murders people, and in doing so, he seems to give the so-called victims a choice. In a way, he puts himself in the place of the creator and creates his own heaven and hell, giving the choice to those he thinks deserve to be punished. Actually, come to think of it, it's not only funny, it's a bit annoying!

I don't have any doubts about the suitability of the character created in all of the Saw movies. He is definitely strong and has a strong place in the story of the movie. Although he doesn't seem to contradict himself, in Saw X he contradicts his own ending.

Giving hope to dying people and then taking that hope back, and doing it for money, only to end up being scaled with your life and punished in such a way that you lose some of your limbs, illustrates the contradiction I'm talking about. The fact that the punisher here is an aging and terminal cancer patient full of the will to live is an even bigger contradiction.


source

The character's behavioral contradictions do not make the film bad, on the contrary, they make it more coherent with the story. I don't think it's intentional, but if it's intentional, I think it works perfectly in the flow of the movie. For a moment I felt sorry for him and wanted to be subjected to his test in determining my own destiny!

Forget what I said last time! :D

I liked one more quote of the character Jigsaw, who acts like a creator and gives the victims the right to choose their punishment. 'If you have found the meaning of your life, you have found yourself'

I guess what it means is that if you know what you live for, you deserve to live or die, and you make your choice accordingly. If you go on being a good person, you can live with a few lost limbs, a few broken bones, but if you go on being a bad person, you will die in pieces!

Do you think it's a right to choose or a right not to choose? I'm in favor of the latter.

Please die, Saw!


source

If you've seen the Saw movies, I can say that Saw X movie continues as you know. Again, they have made artistic touches and inventions in ending a human life. The only thing I don't understand is why, when they instill in a dying character the desire to continue living, they don't give him some sense of regret for what he has done.

Thank you very much for being here and reading. I hope you find the movie and the character as funny as I do, otherwise; the duration of the movie might be a bit of a drag! Have a good weekend and goodbye!