Why you should listen to serial

in Wheels of Lifelast year (edited)

I think I already bragged about my love for podcast in different previous posts, still, I'm going to talk about it, and I'm not even feeling sorry :3 Coz a big chunk of my day galop by podcast on a daily basis and there is so much to tell! This habit started by the "blessing" of covid pandemic. But the love for podcasts hiked to the top when I started listening Serial. It was almost 3 years from now, and I've come across countless different podcasts in the meantime but still, serial secured its place like before in my heart.

Serial-iPhone.jpg

source

I think one of the reasons was its genre. I can't hold my excitement when anything related to crime, thriller and detective stories comes to my hand. Almost everybody has a weak point for mystery, bet you've too! I absolutely love to feel the thrill, the excitement that passes through my bones, it's hard to replace by anything else! Though I take the pleasure mostly from books or movies never expected to get the same satisfaction from podcasts.

So in my isolation period, I wanted to do something. Besides doing my online classes, I started to take some interesting courses from coursera and enjoyed the rest of the day on google podcasts. And within a few days, I got addicted to listening to them.

Ok enough of this babbling, let me come to the point. Where was I again? oh yeah serial! After all these days, now I think I was blessed to find the serial podcast which made my lockdown days indelible! Let me explain why I'm overhyped with it.

Serial is basically a true crime podcast, hosted by former Baltimore Sun reporter Sarah Koenig, where one story is told week by week. And that's the most interesting thing as you can get the taste of real-life stories that has been investigated by the voice artist herself. With an euphonious voice, she brings out the impeccable perfection of her which truly binds the whole series together. The narration style, techniques, and the way Sarah presented each and every piece of evidence will literally take you to that crime scene.

I especially want to tell about the first season where the story was based on a murder of a high school-going girl in Baltimore. The accusation came on Adnan Syed, the ex-boyfriend of her. Interesting part is, this murder happened in 1999 and after 15 years of that crime, Sarah wanted to explore the case to find out if Adnan was really guilty or not. Because from the beginning, he never admitted to kill the girl, named Lee.

FdDDr8QX0AIIZQ9.jpg

souce
Besides there was a lot of doubt and unsolved mystery which was touched one by one by Sarah and her team. But gathering information from the relative, neighbours and friends was getting difficult for her as most of their memory got fade away within 15 years gap. Yet gradually, Adnan's attorney introduced new evidences one by one where they tried to show why his conviction should be overturned.

I know these descriptions aren't convincing enough to bring you in the cult of serial but If you are a crime lover then believe me, the intensity of this show will definitely blow your mind. The way they analysis the cellphone records, interview each of the relevant suspects, and jot down all the information in every episodes, make audience to build couple of theories of their own.

Besides, I get a raw taste of American life. The lifestyle of teenagers, the struggle of immigrants, and how their Muslim community people support, hustle or react as a whole all these things came out in a very in-depth manner.

After completing the 1st season with Adnan's story, it became the number on podcast on earth. People got obsessed with serial as it totally changed the genre of podcast industry. Before it, podcast was basically based on serious stuff like news, where it never served as a source of entertainment. So serial gradually got all the attention where people waited a long week to enjoy this weekly episodic series. I was luckily to get the full package as I listened to it after 5 years of being released.

What made its story exceptional from other crime story is that it wasn't like a solved case where the team had pre planed plot for every episodes. So for this, the listeners get the taste of investigating with Sarah. Every week something new happened, or a new aspect opened with a new clue. It was happening in real time with new information from every single day where no one has any idea what will be the ending story. Being a true crime, it was so wonderfully twisted and that was enough to caught up the audience. And that was the real thrill!

These are the reasons why this 19 years old documentary style investigation still gives me goosebump, especially whenever I heard the intro music!

So this was all from me. Though I don't want to end it here, as it feels like I covered nothing in this 800+ long post and there is still so much to tell! But let you experience the enjoyment with serial and keep me informed if you are into it! Happy listening!

Sort:  

Almost everybody has a weak point for mystery, bet you've too! I absolutely love to feel the thrill,

me me ✋

Well, I have mostly satisfied my thirst for thrillers through movies, tv-shows, and a few books, but never tried podcasts for that. Actually, I get distracted pretty easily if I can't keep all of my senses engaged, especially my eyes.

If I am just listening to something without visuals then my fingers would start itching and my eyes would look for something to browse keeping that audio in the background and soon I would be distracted.

But yeah, if I am dived into the story then nothing would be able to stop. My covid time was filled with tv-shows, lol.

Actually, I get distracted pretty easily if I can't keep all of my senses engaged, especially my eyes.

I was like you too! But this serial completely changed my habit. You can feel that too if you start with it! Also getting used to in podcast helped me to regain my focus and concentration. So it's a good practice! No worries, you can keep your focus in the content if it is catchy enough.

Okay, I will keep this one in mind.
Will let you know if I ever get to start and complete this. 😁

Congratulations @rafa-noor! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @rafa-noor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!