Board Games are Never 'Bored' Games - Part I

in Education9 months ago

Hey there! Do you like studying in the classroom? Not so much or not so sure, right? Do you like playing games, then? Of course! you do. How about a class where you get to play board games? Would you give it a chance? If yes then keep reading.

What's up hivers! How's everybody doing? I'm NomNomNoodle from Bangkok, Thailand. I've been a little busy with work so I haven't been posting this past week, but I just can't stay away for long, since I have so many stories to share with you guys. So, I'm back here today with a post about my English class. This time we went outside and decided to have a little extra fun with...

S__4562946.jpg

That's right! Board game baby! haha If you've ever read about my class before, you've probably noticed that I'm the kind of teacher, who's super energetic and always came up with some activity that could help you learn better and with a little bit spin of joy and fun!

You can check them out here!


That day our English class took place outside of our normal classroom. Our theme of the class today is "Hobby and leisure". As I took a survey around the class, 80% of the students said that they love playing games. But.. rather than have them just be on their phone playing, I decided to take them out to the place called "More Than a Game Café" at the open-air mall called "I'm Park"

MTAGLogo-150x150.png
source

This is what it looked like inside. I borrowed the picture from a website, to show you how it is without people. That day was just crowded.
014jhuau10i.png

source

If you're interested, you can follow this map and the Google map location I attached there.
MTAG-im-park-49-TH-EN_Map-IP-EN-1024x844.png

source // https://maps.app.goo.gl/hPickuBrJUwUN5uKA

That day, I organized the board game field trip(?) for around 35 people. Me, my teacher assistant team, and the students. As we arrived there, I instructed them to form a group and play as many games as they liked. The only thing was that the games had to be in English and the group had to be some of the teacher assistants presented.

40645013j660xgxc.jpg

source

So, I'm gonna go through the games that I played with them, review some of the games and the ambient in the Board game cafe. Starts with the easy ones.

This game is about guessing the words, without saying the words and you win points, if you guess it first. I was surprised how the students knew so many English words.
DSC01872.jpg

DSC01852.jpg

DSC01812.jpg

And we played the most original board game of all time the "Monopoly", but this one is a little extra with the puzzle and a little spin of bluffing.

DSC01833.jpg

DSC01837.jpg

Another original "Uno", which I, myself, played very differently but the basic concept is to try to get the cards out of your hand as soon as possible, the last one with the cards is the loser.

DSC01851.jpg

This game is both English and mathematics. You have to guess the English words and the numbers of your friends. The good thing is the vocabulary was easy for kids and you get to race your competitors by ringing a bell to answer and get a point.

DSC01835.jpg

The last game that I wanna show you guys today is the hot air balloon game called "Celestia". The Idea of the game is Players ride an airship, taking turns to be the captain. Each round they'll draw cards which will be used to pay the toll.

The airship travels from one cloud city to the next. At each city, each player may individually decide to alight to score points or to stay on board, hoping to travel to the next city to score even more points.
DSC01912.jpg
So, each player needs to decide if the captain in that particular round has the right token to pay the price of that city. The captain (of that round) will ask "Do you trust me?" and the other players decide to abandon the ship or trust that the captain has enough cards to pay.

There are perils along the way. Each time the airship attempts to travel to the next higher city, dice are rolled to see what cards the current captain needs to play in order to arrive safely. If the captain fails to play such cards, the airship is forced to land, and everyone still on board scores no points. So this is a push-your-luck game.
DSC01911.jpg

The goal is to collect the coins from each city to a certain amount and you'll win. I find this game quite amusing to see them rely on their luck. Nice way to get them to speak English and learn about yes/no questions.

I have a few more games to show you in the next post and how my students enjoy it. That'll be for today's post guys and see you soon! so...

Stay fresh and keep learning, everybody!

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

Sort:  

This is a very nostalgic post for me. I love playing board games with my cousins.

Great pictures!

Board games bring people together that's for sure!

I highly recommend Poetry for Neanderthals if you want to build vocabulary while encouraging creative thinking. Apples to Apples is also good.

Noted! Thank you for the suggestion

Some classics right there! Always so good to be able to play games and honestly let your creativity and thinking build.

and the team building or communication skill too! All rolled in one.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you for the support! :))

I love Camel Up! Such a fun game. Seems like the kids had an awesome time once again. A good way to learn some English too probably.

You played it too?? Yay At first I was so confused, but as I’ve gotten more used to it.. somehow I still bad at it. hahah It’s fun though!

I remember being pretty bad at it too but it was still fun to play with friends. 😄

What a really inventive and fun way to teach English. One of the good things about board games is that your students are likely to be learning a lot more than just a new language and having fun.
Next year I have to opportunity to start a new game development subject, and while it was primarily designed to be electronic games, the more I think about it, I'd really like to offer students the chance to create and and board games as well.

I love that and I’m sure your students will too! the teaching method of gamification is such powerful weapon to use against the lazy students. I hope you share how it is and how the students like it! :))

A great day for you. And an amazing day for the children. Im interested in thaat monopoly game you played. Id be looking it up.

Thank you for stopping by and noticing our little class :))

Board games are a great way to get to know people in a friendly, socially acceptable way. They're also a lot of fun and they help you build reasoning and creativity skills.

absolutely! some games can even determine how strong your friendships are. haha

That's quite true. lol

Congratulations your publication has been chosen among the best of the day.

KEEP CREATING GOOD CONTENT.

image.png

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2023