A major Burns and Accident Honey healed me of and how Bee's are important to our lives and ecosystem 🐝🐝🐝🐝.

in ecoTrain β€’ 26 days ago (edited)
Honey is an important product from bees; that natural sugar comes with so many benefits for us, and the story of the medicinal and healing properties of honey can be seen from my own life here too. I believe that it is only fair if we look into the lives of these important insects that produce the honey we love so much to take care of them and see how best we can utilize their proceeds and ability to preserve our ecosystem.

Screenshot_20240520-082301.jpg

My grandma prefers the natural sugar from honey. I have heard from her countless times that it doesn’t cause dysentery, diabetes, or any of the sugar-related illnesses.


I remember just how honey healed me of some burns from a major laboratory accident while I was an undergraduate at the university and was working on the practical aspect of my final year project. There was an explosion from the pressure pot I was using to sterilize some chemical and biological items. The pot was placed on a gas tank, and I was standing right beside it.

The contents of the pressure pot spilled all over me from head to toe. All the broth, stem, organisms, and chemicals poured on me. The lab coat I was wearing only protected my chest, but my head, face, and a portion of my chest were badly burned.

Screenshot_20240520-080845.jpg
The lab accidents with my burnt face

I was rushed to the emergency section of our school clinic and administered some antibiotics because of the samples of organisms we were working with. They also gave me some drugs for the burns.
Upon reaching the house, an elderly man advised me to get honey and apply it consistently to the burned area. And for this, I needed to use the pure/unadulterated one that is scarce and a bit expensive because of how people love to make extra money and often go to the extra length of mixing their honey with melted sugar since sugar is cheaper and they want to make maximum profit.


Having used honey for a week on my face, the honey was healing up the wounds from the outside while the hospital drug was healing me up from within. In just two months, my skin became normal, as you can see from the next picture. I was hoping that some scars would be left from the burns to give me different color patches on my face, but that didn't happen. The honey was so good that my skin color all healed up and blended into the same chocolate skin color I had.

Screenshot_20240520-080915.jpg

My cleared face 4months after the accidents 

Ever since that day, I have never doubted the healing properties of honey and have recommended it to several other people. To date, I have no scar that can draw people's attention, which I had hoped to avoid.

Importance of bees to our ecosystem.

Other importance of bees in regard to the earth can be seen in our ecosystem. Bees are agents of pollination, and we know just how important pollination is to agriculture and our food production.
Pollination of food and fruits is a crucial role they play, and hardly will you visit fruit trees in the forest without having encountered bees. That has been a constant experience for me each time I visit our fruit forest in the villages. We grow bananas, cashews, mangoes, palm fruits, and several other fruits on plantations. Honey and bees are our companions on the farm, which aids in the nutrient cycle and decomposition. These little insects are a vital aspect of our lifestyle.


Bees are social insects, and with life lessons for the human population, their lifestyle is also worthy of emulation that the human population can also coexist together, with each person responsibly carrying out his duty for the benefit of our communities.

Preservation of the bee population 🐝🐝🐝

Preservation of bees as both pollination and ecological agents is important and a matter of urgency, as several factors contribute to the decline in the population of bees over the years. A decrease in the population of bees in any ecosystem can be used as an indicator of a degenerating ecosystem. Hence, bees are vital to our ecosystem. We may want to look into the following means as an approach to the preservation of bees:
There are equally other biproducts from bees used in medicine for their antibacterial and antifungal properties.

  • Creating awareness

Creating awareness and teaching people in our communities about the important roles bees play in our ecosystem is important. When the importance of these bees is known at the grass-roots level, people will begin to look into how they can play their roles in the preservation of the bee population.

  • Encouraging bee keeping/farming.

Recently, I have seen graduates who are interested in bee farming and have created artificial bee hives to grow the bee population. This is done for the commercial purpose of honey production but can be encouraged to be done on a large scale so that a larger population of bees can be introduced into our ecosystem.

  • Discourage farming practices that disrupt the bee population.

Deforestation contributes to bee habitat loss and population decline. The use of pesticides in agriculture is also a factor that can be looked into. All of these human activities and many more can be reduced in order to preserve the bee populations.

Images are mine unless indicated otherwise.

This is my submission to the #mayinleo and I'm using this medium to invite other hivers to come and participate in this prompt with a lot of interesting topics via this link

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort: Β 

whoa, you really had a bad experience with that chemicals, but am glad that you recovered so well, thanks to the administration of the honey.

Yeah , thanks alot.

Bee pollution is very essential to our earth Survival, so we need to learn how to preserves their polution. Sorry you had to experience that lab accident

Thanks dear, bees are an essential part of our lives.

yeah, its true!

Thanks