Why Silence?

in The Alliance8 months ago (edited)

Silence is golden, silence is protective, silence is dangerous, and silence gives you an edge, silence most times is a wiser decision.

Snapchat-1667783386.jpg

I would love to say every single quote I have learned about the power of silence is very true and I have confirmed it.
My father was a very gentle human being, he would only talk and express his emotions with his family members or close persons. Growing to know him, I have never seen him fuel a conflict and he doesn't talk unnecessarily.
My mom on the other hand counted her words before speaking them, she was a very soft and easygoing person, threading every word and action with caution.

In all these, they were never weaklings, they were never oppressed, and their rights were never tempered, they expressed themselves freely and were at peace with everyone.

Snapchat-254480411.jpg

After they left I happened to stay with another family. Here is a total reverse of what my family was like, the everyday rants, complaints, abusive and toxic words lashed out at their victims, self-righteousness, judgment, gossip, and condemnation of others. Well if I am to write it, it will fill my whole article. Unknowingly to me, these negative traits have slowly become a part of me, and I would display them freely.

I could for a whole day, rant unnecessarily, and engage in conversations I should, but then most times I felt guilty about all these and I decided to turn a new leaf. In my process of turning a new leaf and disengaging totally from these traits, I became a rebel. It wasn't me anymore, I wanted to drop all those habits and detoxify

I returned to my trait, the original me, the blood running through my veins. I have been a little devilish these days because I don't talk, I don't respond to talks, I walk away from talks, and even if I am expected to talk I don't. It has been difficult to the other end because of the silence.

The tongue is one of the strongest human weapons here on earth, with words everything is done, with just one word. Words can steal, kill, ruin, and destroy a lot. Words are powerful weapons, and so is silence. I have been so protected by silence these days, that I have been able to coordinate myself and walk away from the sight of conflict without saying a word.

I believe I am stronger by keeping my mouth shut and focusing on something better with my life. Now don't get me wrong. I also believe in dialogue a peaceful conversation and negotiation. I would always speak up at calm situation and also when I'm needed but then when there an atom of war or harsh words or conflict, i would hop away.

These helps to cleanse and sanitize my brains.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this! You describe very well the difficult balance between silence and words.
I grew up being very emotional and not reacting keeps being challenging.
For a long time I was intrigued by men choosing not to answer and later grew to admire them. They became an inspiration. Since then I always look around for examples of people befriending silence.
Thank you again.

You are welcome dear