A continual comedy of errors - contest number #149

in Ladies of Hive9 months ago


A dumb onion..jpg


When I saw this prompt, I was zipped through an array of embarrassing moments that have made up my life, I mean, I have embarrassing moments at least once a week. I am surprised that there isn't that guy from Happy Gilmore popping up behind me going "Ya Jackass" every now and again.

With age, I think that I've just become accustomed to it and tend to now embrace my stupidity as and when it happens, laughing at myself even louder than most. Laughter heals almost everything I've learned and being a dumbass is no exception, so it's totally worth it.



While sifting through some dumb things I've done, a few of the lesser evils came to mind which I think are mostly safe for public consumption. Of course, these are from my school days where I learned really useless things like algebra and calculus 🙄 Luckily most of my schooling years took place before everything was up for public consumption. We had film cameras and stupid moments thankfully did not make the cut for what people were prepared to spend money on having developed. So there are no photos or videos of my dambassery.

My sister was a few years ahead of me in school and part of the debate team. It makes sense really. Our parents were 𝒎𝒐𝒔𝒕 𝒆𝒙𝒄𝒆𝒍𝒍𝒆𝒏𝒕 at arguing. I blame them. Anyway, as a family we would go to her debate evenings where her team would ruthlessly try to cut down the opposing team's argument. Back in the days when arguments were based on facts, not feelings. You know, the good old days.

This particular evening the debate was something to do with the industrial revolution, the rise of technology and that revolution and whether it was good or bad for society or something closely resembling that. Take note that this feels like it was a hundred years ago to me now and it doesn't really matter in terms of what transpired.

I suppose back then I looked up to my sister. She was praised highly for all of her excellence in academia and of course I was told often "why can't you be more like your sister?" Typical boomer parents lol.

The teams went at it back and forth for a good hour and then some, before it was opened up to points from the audience where they had the opportunity to put across their own perspectives and get involved too.

I was maybe like 11 at the time so my little brain concocted some great (in my opinion) argument and I launched into this fantastic tirade of why society is worse off now (then) than previously and I explained that while the industrial revolution was good in some instances, that things weren't being made the same way they used to. That things were essentially being made "to break" and that we were becoming a "throw away" society where people were more inclined to buy a new car when things went wrong than to fix their previous one, where houses were built to crumble, where technology was heading us into a vast dystopia where people would be all consumed by the next best fad and blah blah blah I went on for a few minutes backing up my ideas with my (rather small) real world experience.

Clearly some people thought this was great because when I closed my argument I was applauded by the entire audience which drowned out any chance of a rebuttle by the team that I had been directing it to.

I felt quite cool at that moment. You know, people were clapping and shit. This never happened to me. It felt rather nice, a real "a-ha" moment.

A smile widened on my face and I looked around at everyone applauding me and I lapped it up.

And then it happened.

As I scanned across these people, my loving audience, my smile quickly receded and my pallor probably changed from rosy cheeked to a slight shade of green as I slunk deeper and deeper into my chair, as if I wanted to become a part of the inanimate object itself.

untitled.gif

The pair of eyes that were locked onto me, were filled with an intense rage that was palpable and I realised that I had just signed my own warrant of execution.

My sister's death stare could probably be felt around the room, but not nearly as much as the onslaught of hatred that I felt later, once we were back home.

That was the last debate where I lifted my hand or opened my mouth. Funny that - it was one of my most embarrassing moments, not because I had said something stupid at all, but because I had outstaged the star of the show.

There was also this one time at band camp... 🤣 nah, just kidding, just couldn't resist throwing in a funny.



🇼​​​​​🇭​​​​​🇦​​​​​🇹​​​​​'🇸​​​​​ 🇮​​​​​🇳​​​​​ 🇹​​​​​🇭​​​​​🇪​​​​​ 🇹​​​​​🇦​​​​​🇵​​​​​🇪​​​​​🇩​​​​​🇪​​​​​🇨​​​​​🇰​​​​​ 🇹​​​​​🇴​​​​​🇩​​​​​🇦​​​​​🇾​​​​​?


𝑷𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒅𝒍𝒚 𝑨𝑰 𝒇𝒓𝒆𝒆. 𝑨𝒍𝒍 𝒊𝒎𝒂𝒈𝒆𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒂𝒓𝒆 𝒎𝒚 𝒐𝒘𝒏.


Sort:  
  • algebra and calculus*

Useless things you say? Haha... One of those was my fav...
I can imagine how you confidently delivered your speech and how your sister got pissed off at it. But it wasn't embarrassing for me, rather funny 🤣🤣... So how's your sister to you now? Any drama when you get back home? Haha..

Hi Jane

Oh don't get me wrong, I aced both of those at school and trigonometry was one of my favourites, but as for use case? Nope, haven't found any use for either of them in 20plus years 🤣

I'm glad you enjoyed it, it is funny thinking back on these things now, at the time though it was terrifying.

That sister and I don't get along at all, never really did and I'm actually ok with that. We see the world very differently which is weird considering that we grew up in the same household.

Haha.. Of course, I know what you meant...
I liked Algebra, but you're right, only basic math is useful in daily life lol. Unless you pursue engineering or accountancy..

Well.....seems to me you proved you were maybe better than your sis at something, lol! Obviously, she didn't appreciate your intelligence! Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

She certainly didn't enjoy that, but it makes for a fun memory now 🤣 Always a pleasure to post in LOH. Have a wonderful day.

Haha! I can clearly picture the situation you sketched. Also, you were ahead of your time with your points/ arguments Curious to know how your sister and you are going along, these days?

This was one of my mild moments 🤣 This is how we learn.

That's what I was thinking when I remembered that debate, that I was streets ahead even at the age of 11. I'm so glad this was long before the days of YouTube and FacePalm.

Haven't spoken to her in eons. Not intending to either. Some bridges are better burnt and never rebuilt 😁

Your sister sure misses out on connecting with a great storyteller.

The days before...
I know all about it
I only got my first email address and cellphone when I went to Uni. It was the beginning of the end... ;^)

At least we can reminisce back on those days. Where seatbelts were an option, jungle gyms were made over a concrete surface and kids were much tougher back then because we had to be to survive.

I wonder how my sister would tell this story if she had the opportunity to 🤣 It would probably also be funny but in a different way. She did have a good sense of humour, I'll give her that.

What was your first cell phone? Was it a Nokia? 😜

Haha! We sure win, when it comes to toughness/ resilience, allthough it wasn't always fun, back in the days, and we have a lot of work to do ( on ourselves ) as adults.

Once upon a time,
in the year 2000,

I got my first cellphone.

I don't even remember its brand

( Philips? if they even made phones )

what I do know, is that it was ugly and huge.

My twin sister got the same one. It happened on our 19th bday ( as we had just started Uni and our parents wanted us to stay in touch ).

We didn't ask for it and felt ashamed tor this ugly piece of technology.

I think I would have had preferred a Nokia, at least those had Snake on it ..

Oh the good ol' days of the payphone...

Great humor at the close there! The sister's death stare! That was some great writing. I think we all make asses of ourselves on a regular basis, it's just part of life. So you still haven't applied calculus to your real life? Go figure...
!lol

What's a spy's favourite confectionery?
Subterfudge.

Credit: reddit
@emma-h2, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(9/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Being a dumbass is fantastically entertaining. I figure if you can't laugh at yourself then you're taking life too seriously 🤣 Nope, calculus eludes me. I have used trig though, many times in DIY, comes in handy AF.

Thanks for coming by, sorry for the very late reply. I lost a few days in the usual busyness of life.

Hahaha
I guess your sister took the argument spirit from your parents
I guess she learnt that from them

She definitely did, she was good at it, I'll give her that.

Thank you for sharing

Always a pleasure, thanks for stopping by.

You are welcome

Congratulations @emma-h2! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023