If I were Deserted on a Desert

What if one day we went camping out in the desert. Something we do quite often when the weather is good here. But one day I get lost and I realize I am deserted on a desert. (Now, please assume there are folks searching for me). What are the things I wish to have on me to survive the harshness of the wilderness.
The number one thing is my phone and a solar charger. Maybe I will be tracked somehow. I am not sure satellite phones are a thing here, but I will do best with what I already have.

A scarf, a cap and some sun glasses. The sun can be harsh and the wind is hot and relentless in the desert in the summer months and can be cold and relentless in the better months and I would like to have as much as I can without much weight to save myself from anything the weather has in store.

A bottle of water. Well, because it is essential to survive. And I hope to remember small sips and no gulps.

Snacks and ready to eat food to keep me going.

A lighter to make some fire, to create smoke signals.

And what would I do?
As easy as it sounds, the most important thing is to stay calm and stay relaxed. And to find some shade. overgrown shrubs and rocks will provide some shade in the desert. And the best thing is to find some shelter rather than running around looking for someone looking for help and tiring the body. We need to conserve all the energy we can, remember. Be on the lookout for snakes and scorpions though. Some tend to thrive in the desert. And if I have the cell phone network, to send out SOS messages to family and friends with the location. And what if there is no cell phone network reception? It will be a nightmare for sure.

Try to stay close to where I think, I was last seen by anyone (friends or anyone in general). Maybe that will be the starting point of a search.

Time goes by slowly especially if you are stranded. And if in a couple of hours or the day becomes the next one or something like that, the ideal thing to do would be looking for flocks of birds flying or footprints of herds of camels, and to follow it (this could be a challenge if it is a windy day), maybe it will lead to a village nearby or a water source. But somehow common sense tells me to travel after sundown to avoid heat exhaustion and create smoke signals. The best thing that can happen is that someone will find me. The next best thing that can happen is that I find someone passing by or even a village. But if this is not how things pan out, then continue to stay calm, travel by night, find and take shelter for the day, find a road or a water source and along the way to find cell phone reception. Who would have thought, a cell phone is what I will rely on to be found.

What would you do, if you were lost in the desert?

Thank you for reading.


All photos are my own.
All photos are shot on a mobile phone


I am here too:
A google Alternative - Earn PRE Tokens - Join and get 25 PRE Tokens - Presearch
Content Discovery - CTPX
Listnerds
Earn to Move - Actifit
Earn to Move - Sweatcoin
Earn to Move - sMiles
Earn to Write and Read Articles
Mine Crypto

Sort:  

Hello keechadkikali. I would have a map and compass and would have taken some courses in map and compass. I was in the Mountaineers years ago and learned about the 10 essentials to have with you when hiking, backpacking, and camping far away from civilization. 10 essentialsHere is a link to the 10 essentials and these would be good for the desert as well. For the dark a headlamp, sun glasses and sunscreen, first-aid kit, matches lighter tinder stove, emergency shelter/bivy/tarp (see link above) Please read all 10 essentials on link above. Have a great week! Barb 😊👍 !BBH !CTP

The is an amazing list. I will start getting these things to feel safer while outdoors. Having said that, the summers have just about started here and no more desert days for the next couple of months.

!CTP
!BBH
!LOLZ

@adcreatordesign! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @keechadkikali. (2/5)

I wish I could clean mirrors for a living.
It's just something I can see myself doing.

Credit: reddit
@adcreatordesign, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @keechadkikali

(1/2)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

I'm glad you liked the list @keechadkikali and yes it's good to carry when you are miles away from civilization. Have a good summer then. Yes the desert would be too, hot correct? !BBH !CTP

@keechadkikali! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @adcreatordesign. (1/1)

Scary, but nice advice. Always take a compass. Plus, it helps to know what direction you came from.

Yes. A compass would be great too

!HBIT

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @keechadkikali.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more