The big harvest

in Ladies of Hivelast month

IMG_20240513_144059_830.jpg

It was yet another great harvest today. We made a visit again to my biological father's farm.
It's been a long wait for us since we expect our bananas to be ripe for harvest. Well thankfully on getting there we saw it very ready and waiting to be picked as expected.

The sight of all of the bananas was almost intimidating for me because I was a bit tired from the long walk, but I knew I had to do it. I only went there with my little sister, she can't handle the cutlass.

So I took the cutlass and reached out for the first bunch, which looked easier to me, It was not too taller than me so I was able to reach it quicky and after many cuts it was down finally

IMG_20240513_143932_636.jpg

The second bunch was a bit higher than my height so I was thinking of how I can get it down. I even thought of calling someone else to help but I didn't know anyone who could, so I got another Idea to heap stones together and climb on it so I could reach it

IMG_20240513_144607_921.jpg

And it didn't take more than two cuts to get that one down, I thanked God that it was easier to cut, was a bit afraid that I might fall from the stone lol.

IMG_20240513_144807_131.jpg

The two bunches of main bananas were finally down. But I still had more work to do.
I need to cut the other specie of banana that we had, my siblings and I we call it Short bananas but I don't know if that is the real name , but it looks shorter and fatter than the other one

Anyway I got to work, I had to drag the stem down to be able to reach the banana quickly and to cut it down.

IMG_20240513_151329_567.jpg

IMG_20240513_151258_559.jpg

We had even more to harvest, I saw some ripe palm fruits too and decided to cut it at once...with my leftover strength lol. If I don't cut it down something might eat it.

IMG_20240513_150918_476.jpg

IMG_20240513_150820_651.jpg

After the palm fruits there was one more thing left, Avocados. Looking up the tree there was so many of them, my sister said we have to get this things down, I also agreed with her. There was so many up there but that tree...I cannot climb o 😬😂.

Well...I tried to climb it, but I couldn't get to the top where the fruits where, I think I'm getting older by the day lol, when I was younger I could climb the trees perfectly. Climbing tree was my hobby lol, it is still but I'm very limited. Even with the ladder I latter got I could not climb it.

IMG_20240513_154226_568.jpg

This time I really sought for help and I got that of a little bit about 8 years old and he just climbed the tree quickly and got down the pears for us. Was so thankful that I gave him some from it. Thank God I got his help

IMG_20240513_154528_031.jpg

After gathering everything we harvested, it was so big that we wondered how we can even carry everything home. I called my mom on phone to give us suggestions she told me to board a tricycle (Keke) that Will take us straight home.

IMG_20240513_155600_387.jpg

IMG_20240513_151617_026.jpg

The Keke man came with his own wahala, after billing us 2k and we agreed to pay, turns out he didn't really know the road well, so he was busy complaining of each bad road we cross, he kept saying we didn't tell him the roads were so bad. I told him Oga, "I thought you're supposed to know this road na"

IMG_20240513_161212_601.jpg

The man was just adding to the headache I was already having but thankfully we got home finally and we paid him, he even asked for his own share of the stuffs which we gave him.

I just arranged everything very well at home, waiting for my mom to come home and see it. Finally I'm getting some rest and making this post.

🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺

The harvest was very massive, it's been a while we've gotten such. It's the first time that main banana is coming out like that's so this is the first fruit for it.

Thank God for all his provisions for us through my father's farm. And for the strength he gave me to be able to harvest.

Images being to me

Sort:  

That's indeed a huge harvest, wow, your family is blessed with varieties of fruits. This can give you guys a decent earning because of course, you guys can't consume it all at home. The avocados, the banana and the palm fruits are all looking fresh. By the way, you thought you could climb? Haha 😂, that should be for boys please and again you weren't wearing trousers and that makes it difficult as well so you don't fall down and break your legs, lolz.
Overall, it's a massive harvest you got , so natural gift from God
Thanks for sharing.

Hmmm my mama no sell o, she gift to the neighbors and we eat the remaining ones.
Lol I used to climb that tree when I was younger, maybe I've added a lot of weight as a young woman 😂

Please on behave of some hiver friends send us your address, we want to come for some avocado 🥑!lol

That is such a bounty harvest for you and your family to enjoy for a while.

Why are brain surgeons so good at persuasion?
They can really get inside your head.

Credit: reddit
@madilyn02, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of funshee

(1/2)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Hahaha contact me for address 😁, I'll gladly give you.
Yeah, the harvest is indeed great!

Wow. Big harvest time. I love these bananas and avocados I am seeing. Sincerely, I would have begged for some avocados if I am there. I love that fruits. Harvest time is always amazing and being grateful to God for such turn out. It is good when one sees his efforts on the farm just like this. Are you selling these or would be eating them at home?

My mom shared some to the neighbors and we are eating the remaining at home. Even at that we still have much left

Hehehe. Enjoyment galore 😊

A big branch full of bananas looks very heavy, I'd get hurt if one fell on me. How many kilograms can they weight?
Thanks for sharing @madilyn02 🌴

Lol, you won't get hurt if you carry it well!
That big bunch weights about 30kg, the second specie weighs more than 35 thereabout

Working women are always strong. And after seeing your post I am obsessed. You are too hard to work. Before this, I thought that bananas were ripped on trees. But now I know that they are ripped in warm places or anywhere else

Haha yes, they are not let to ripe on trees, I think something will eat it there.

Thank you for your kind words

Congratulations @madilyn02! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 800 comments.
Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

This reminds me of my days growing up with my parents. I participated in the process of turning palm fruit to red oil. A long but interesting process. We had banana those days too.
Transporting these stuffs for 2000 naira got me thinking. Transportation cost is killing the economy. If you could pay that amount for such distance, imagine what it would cost to move those bananas to the North.

You expressed every of your activities so clearly. Cheers!!!