Fruit Delights ~ Turkish Delight

When it comes to food items, I usually enjoy trying new things and am not a picky eater. Most of my life, however, I have lived in small towns or locations that have a "small town feel" to them. As such, I've heard of more things that I've had the opportunity to sample.

One of those items is commonly known as "Turkish Delight" in English, and by "lokum" in the Arabic-speaking world. It is a sweet food, described by Wikipedia as being made by mixing starch and sugar into a translucent gel. The gel is flavored with various ingredients, from rosewater to fruits, spices, and mints. Sometimes bits of fruit or nuts are included. The finished product is often dusted with powdered sugar or dried coconut meat so they don't stick to each other. After reading about this delicacy online perhaps fifteen years ago, I thought it would be fun to try them sometime, but imagined I'd have to visit a large city or another country before I had the chance.

I was quite surprised during a recent visit to one of my local Dollar General® stores. While perusing the aisle of "holiday only" items, I spied a box marked "Fruit Delights" and immediately recognized it as a variation of Turkish Delight! Ordinarily, I would only have bought one box to sample, and then return to the store for more if I liked them. However, there were only three boxes on the shelf, I knew I would enjoy them since I am not a picky eater, so I took two of the three boxes. And, I do like them! 😋

Each box has two pieces of five different varieties:

  • Strawberry Walnut
  • Blueberry Conserve
  • Pineapple Macadamia
  • Raspberry Pecan
  • Peach Walnut

Each one of the flavors is delightful in its own way, making it difficult — if not impossible — to select a single favorite.

The only thing I have eaten previously with any similarity are probably the old-fashioned "gumdrops" and "spice drops" candies. However, the Turkish Delights are much lighter, not as sweet, and the gel is not nearly as sticky and dense. These are made from real fruit juices, which are naturally sweet, so additional sugar was added sparingly. This was a quite refreshing change from the the way "Western" manufacturing companies operate, where sugars are added to everything in absurd quantity — even to savory items such as canned soups — in an effort to "addict" people to wanting that particular brand. 😠 These had just the right amount of sugar to be tasty, without feeling a 'sugar overdose' coming on! ✌️

Rosewater lokum, Public Domain image
by Chris Buttigieg, Wikipedia
This box of Fruit Delights that I bought was produced by the company Liberty Orchards®. While refreshing my memory about Turkish Delight for this blog post, I was quite amused to find that Liberty Orchards® is mentioned in the Wikipedia article for Turkish Delight! The company is said to have been formed by two immigrants from Armenia, so I feel this to be a more "authentic" item than if some big-name company had willy-nilly decided to try to mass-produce them.

No one knows exactly when or where Turkish Delight originated. One company, founded by Hacı Bekir and in business in Istanbul since 1777, is claimed by some to be the originator of this confection. However, "similar Arab and Persian recipes, including the use of starch and sugar, predate Bekir by several centuries."  [1]


~ photograph by me, from the back of the package ~

I like how the founders began their business from surplus crops on their farm. I like how the product was a re-creation of something they remember from their childhoods. I like how it is slow-cooked in small batches. The box also touts their product as:

● Gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan
● No artificial flavors or colors
● No cholesterol and low in sodium

This is something I definitely would buy again. I would also enjoy trying some other flavors, especially if I could find a freshly-made lokum in a shop somewhere! Have you tried Turkish Delight? Do you like it? What are your favorite flavors?

 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Turkish Delight
   2 Wikipedia: Liberty Orchards



       

LTC: MQD2S95muSMGw7kfYcyXBUaUX4NdGx4dau


25-Dec-2022

Sort:  

I always think of the book “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” when I hear Turkish delight !LOLZ I remember as a kid I swore I’d never eat it, so I wasn’t manipulated like Edmund 🤣

How cool that you got the brand mentioned on Wikipedia by chance! It sounds like it was as cool as you’d hoped, which makes me happy ❤️! Those flavors are fun 🤩 definitely flavor combinations that aren’t popular in the US! Something different is always nice.

Thanks for sharing your awesome find with us 🤗 happy wintermas! !LUV !PIZZA !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@grindan just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thekittygirl.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, You have received 5.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 137 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

It is one of my favorite candies because I enjoy soft fruits and nuts. It is so delicious and naturally sweet that I like it better than or as good as chocolates! We have that in common. You are the first person I have read in Hive to feature this candy!
!LADY 😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @thekittygirl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Lokum is one of our famous delights/sweets. There are many others such as baklava, künefe, kadayıf, tulumba, sütlaç, güllaç... Hope you will try some of them one day ;)

Merry X-mas kittygirl and wish you a happy new year in anticipation.

This is first time I hear of "tarkish delight" or lokum. It seems delicious 😋 and healthy💪.
Thanks for sharing it.

In at least half sold on the Gluten free and No artificial flavors and coloring.

Happy Holidays @thekittygirl 🎄

Treat we have enjoyed since childhood, boxed in cardboard with delightful fruity goodness treats inside one of the few we were allowed as children.

So glad you have found them to your taste, less sugar always healthier. Not as easy to find old original manufacture as in earlier years, big sweet companies climbed on the band wagon.

@tipu curate

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
grindan tipped thekittygirl (x1)
@wesphilbin(1/5) tipped @thekittygirl (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Nice grab. Sound pretty good.

51007EE9-B277-491C-98D9-EDB727B75595.jpeg

This candy may look really juicy but it will be sweet to eat too. 100% fruit flavor is not possible but the flavors coming now are no less than natural ones. Whether you know me or not but you loaned me RC some time about 10 days ago so I can say thank you here. Thank you very much. Your help was very helpful.

@thekittygirl We have seen that you have previously supported proposals for the improvement of Hive.

We would love to have your support in our proposal that seeks to add a new tool to the Hive environment that will help ensure that your content continues to prioritize quality and above all originality.

You can vote here:
Peakd
Ecency

We would appreciate your support, criticism, and collaboration. Thank you for considering this proposal.

That looks delicious, I have never seen anything similar in my life, I also like that it does not have excess sugar, I always avoid eating oversweetened things and I know I would really enjoy trying this, I hope one day I can find it in my country. Hugs

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@irenenavarroart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @thekittygirl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

After all your description I felt like trying this delicious candy, it's new to me but it's good that there are people like you who share this delicious delicacy. Greetings! 🌸

Excellent proposal to eat sweet without saturating yourself with so much molasses, these days we were seeing a production of gums and I was amazed to see the large amount of sugar that they put in the mixture and then before chopping them, I loved this publication. Blessings 🙏🏽🤗💯🎄🌺🤩

Can you kindly pass some via your phone, pretty please 🙏🙈 @thekittygirl

I tried once before.. Too sweet for me

It looks delicious! Merry Christmas and happy new year @thekittygirl 🎆

@thekittygirl,


I'm sorry lol. All I could think of at first... was Fruit Cake 🤢🤪. I can't stand that stuff! But as I read your post. I am tempted to go to our local Dollar General, and see if they carry this. I love pretty much All Things sweets. So I am thinking I might like this too!


A wonderful post, and thanks for sharing! I know you have been very busy. But it was good to see a post from you!


untitled.gif


!LUV
!WINE
!PIZZA

If you're gonna look for it, you'd better hurry, as it was a "holiday only" item, with all the Christmas candy, etc. Probably reduced 50% off now, if any is left!

@thekittygirl,

Gah!! I've got to go out later today, to pick up some prescriptions... I WILL be looking! Sorry about the !WINE... forgot to check the creation day... so:

!LOLZ


Congratulations, @wesphilbin You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @thekittygirl.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/5 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.135


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Why are cats bad storytellers?
Because they only have one tale.

Credit: marshmellowman
@thekittygirl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wesphilbin

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/2)

I did not like Fruit Cake as a child, but it's okay now, occasionally. I guess it is an adult/acquired taste. The cake part, itself, was good but I did not like the "candied" fruits. An excellent alternative that is really delicious, though, is ORANGE SLICE CAKE that has dates, orange slice candy, and other things! No "candied" fruit in this recipe! 😋


Hi @wesphilbin, This Post Is Older Than 3 Days Days.
Please Try Another Post.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.135


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

I am Bangladeshi so I have not tried to make any Turkish food mainly because I was not familiar with Turkish Delight. I came to know through your post.I am a Bengali so I like the Bengali dishes of our country more. If I ever get these ingredients, then I will try to cook them .

The strawberry walnut one sounds delicious.

Congratulations @thekittygirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 39000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal