The Year of Doing as I was Told - double-posted and edited

in Writers Inc6 months ago (edited)

Apologies for the double-post. I've deleted it and am writing this as fast as I can in order to fill the space on the blockchain with something of value.

I wrote a serialised story on (sorry) Steemit and it enjoyed a good amount of success - both in monetary worth and (more valuable to me at least) readership.

I self-published the book, took it to Portugal for SteemFest and gave away a few copies.

Ash.jpg

Then, I had a re-think and I unpublished the book and there it sat, in the back of my mind and the back of the cupboard until we moved here, to our new home in France. On a whim, I phoned one of my friends who works in Publishing and I had a chat to him about this lost/neglected book. Here's the summary of that conversation, written the same day, as a post on Facebook:

It's been a busy day today. A lot came right out of the blue and it's been quite exciting and emotional...
I have an Agent.
Ash and the Favour Man has been put into the ring for The People's Book Prize.
I've been told off for keeping Ash to myself.
I have a Motivation Mentor (Trev dropped me in it by saying I wasn't writing).
I've received lots of compliments on my writing today... maybe it's time to add to the collection...
There may be chance to read Ash and vote on it (I'm not sure how the award works).

The following few days were a bit of a blur and here's another post made on Facebook:

My book is now published and available.
It's a different kind of story to the ones I usually write. There are some aspects that were difficult to write and I know and understand that some people may find them difficult to read.
I would like to thank Chris at Filament Publishing Link for giving me this opportunity, I appreciate it so much!
Here's the link. I'd love for you to read Ash and the Favour Man and if you'd like to vote for it, that's awesome! What I would really appreciate, though, is if you'd write a few sentences of review.
Link
Thank you so much for always being there for me, I appreciate it more than you know.

Ash and The Favour Man was one of my favourite projects on Hive.Blog (I know it originated on Steemit but I think of Hive.Blog as the home of my writing).
The characters I 'invented' were easy to write because most of them were real - from my own memories. One of the most favourite characters was the Headmistress who was based on a dear childhood friend who went on to become a Head Teacher in her teaching career and I would like it to be known that I've always valued the memories of our friendship - then and now.

Once again, I apologise for the double-post, I'm blaming a glitch in the Matrix

Please take a look and vote if you wouldn't mind Link

To buy the book:
UK: Link
US: Link

Sort:  

Congratulations @michelle.gent! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 220000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 230000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the January edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - January 1st 2024