So, I did a thing...

in Writers Inclast month (edited)

Hi again, I've just dropped in to share some amazing news.

Ash.jpg

I wrote a story, serialised here, on Hive.blog, called Ash and the Favour Man. It was started as an experiment of sorts, I wrote a writing prompt and went on to fulfil the prompt with a story about a young girl in an abusive situation. Some of my own past came crawling out of the dark recesses of my memory and soon it was a fully-fledged story.

Amazon link

Last year, I spoke to one of my friends in the publishing industry and he encouraged me to re-start my writing. I told him about Ash and the Favour Man and he asked me to send the manuscript to him.

A few days later, he told me his company was going to publish my book. I was over the moon at the news, of course. He then dropped a bombshell. Not only was his company publishing the book, he'd also entered it into a competition.

Book Prize
Announcement of winners

The last date for voting was 30th April.
On 2nd May this year, I found out Ash and the Favour Man had won.

I can now say I'm an award-winning author and you know what? It's ALL down to Hive.blog.
If I hadn't joined, I wouldn't have done anywhere near as much writing as I have.

All I have to do now, is get back to it.

Sort:  

Hello @michelle.gent !

What good news (plural)! Congratulations on your double victory... Not only a published title, but also an award! Impressive! I wish I had the ability and determination to read much more than I currently do. Congratulations!

Hi @xrayman, thank you! It's taken around 14 years to become an 'overnight success'! :)

As they say, perfection takes time to achieve. Nothing comes without effort... That only happens in "movies" and not in real life. Congratulations!

Welcome back, and congratulations! Will take a look on that book for sure! 😉

Thank you @pardinus. I keep coming back but not being able to stick to it, so I can't say this it it, I'm back for good (yet).
I am determined to build on this success and it may lead to more Hive.blog posts from me.
Let me know if you get the book and enjoy the story :)

Let me know if you get the book and enjoy the story :)

Will do! Are you going to Hivefest?

We are actually looking at doing just that!
We will be able to drive from our new home, through Italy and into Croatia. We just have to make sure someone can house/dog/cat/horse/chicken/garden sit for the time we're away :)

A roadtrip sounds like fun! Let's see if I can join. 🙂

Awesome!

Congratulations Michelle! That is amazing!

Thank you Eric (and apologies for not responding sooner).