A Night To Remember

in Inner Blocks19 days ago
[Source]()

The weather wasn't so pleasant. The room was hot, the heat radiating from every surface in the room. I had been trudging through the week without enjoyment, and all I needed was to escape from my numb mood. I was going through a phase and I wanted to get out of it very quickly. As I lay on my bed , restlessly fanning myself with a flat book, my phone beamed up with a notification. The message was half-hidden by the phone’s display. The message remained a mystery until I clicked on it and navigated to WhatsApp. There you have it! It was a message from Kingsley, my ex-roommate and childhood friend.

The message from Kingsley read: “Today is Loki’s birthday. We didn't invite so many people, just a few of us.” My friends know I don’t like parties. In my opinion, parties are extremely overrated. I've never been off the shores of my country, so I don’t know how parties work in other places. However, I've been to a few parties in my country, and I’ve confirmed that they are not my thing. Crowded spaces, loud music, people tripping on themselves and throwing up are not my cup of tea. Also, I think people drink alcohol because of peer pressure. In a real sense, alcohol tastes like depression mixed with anxiety.

I knew Loki, and his love for parties was no secret. He's a big time party guy. The fact that he extended an invititation to me meant he really wanted me there. So, I had no choice but to olidge. “First off, what do I wear to this party.” I pondered. The only time I attend parties is when a friend forces me to. After rumagaging through my wardrobe for about 5 minutes, I finally sttled down on a black round neck, blue jeans and my favorite sneakers. But then it occurred to me that this was a small gathering, and I promptly swapped my sneakers for a pair of sandals.

As I arrived at Kingsley’s hostel, I was met with silence and a empty compound. The eerie silence made me think that I might have came too early. “It seems I came early” I said to myself. I walked to Kingsley’s door and opened it, only to be met with an outburst of laughter that filled the room. Everyone started laughing hysterically. I was really confused and didn't know what to say, so I just stood there , looking at them as their mouth moved weirdly. Kingsley's eyes were already wet with tears of mirth.

“Today is not Loki’s birthday.” Finally, one of them managed to through their laughter.

“Oh! Great! They tricked me.” I said.

Apparently, that day wasn’t Loki’s birthday. It turned out that Loki’s birthday had been a clever lie, formed by the guys, solely to lure me to their place. The guys had a different plan. There were about 8 guys in the room. “We drink till dawn” Kingsley screamed as he brought out 2 bottles of Seaman (an alcoholic drink) and 8 cans of origin. Though I would have normally laughed off the suggestion, this night called for a change. I was going through a phase , and the opportunity to break free was not one to be missed. I grabbed it tightly with both hands. “How bad could this be?” I whispered to myself as I got into the mood. “Let’s go!!!” I scream.

We started with the 8 cans of Origin. Since we were 8 in the room, we distributed it equally. Unlike other alcoholic drinks that taste like whack, Origin is actually not so bad. It is a little sweet, and has a really nice aftertaste. With a devilish grin, Kingsley suggested we have a completion to see who could finish first. The last person must drink two cups of SEAMAN (another type of alcoholic drink). "One, two, ready, go!" Kingsley said. We all quickly drank our cans. One guy came in last, so he had to open the other drink and take two cups.

Since there was no music, we decided to take matters into our own hands and started singing ourselves. We took turns drinking from one cup until we finished the whole bottle. By that point, I wasn't sure if I could keep going. I started feeling really tipsy, and if I stood up, I knew I'd fall down right away. So, I just decided to take a seat instead. It felt like I was on another planet.

We all sat down and finished the last bottle. My friends started acting crazy, dancing and laughing hysterically like there was no tomorrow. I stood up and everything started spinning. The weight of the alcohol that I had drank came crashing down on me in an instant. Thankfully, one of my friends was there to walk me back to my hostel.

Sleep vanished from my eyes as everything continued to spin. My eyes were turning. My body system fought back the alcohol and I threw up three times. I slept off afterwards. I woke up that morning with a very bad headache. I made a vow to myself: never again would I let alcohol get the better side of me. I dealt with the hangover for the rest of the day.

Hey! @hopestylist, remember I owe you a drunk story? Here!!!

This is my submission to the Inleo prompt suggestion for the month of April. The topic is: you like to drink today is your day to shine! If not, How do you party? Have you been to a festival?

Check the calendar out:

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @justfavour! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 70000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thank you.

All good @justfavour! You're a real Hive pro! Onward to that new goal!