Pretend drinks

in Reflections23 days ago

There has been no point in my life in which I've felt compelled to drink alcohol and not for a moment do I feel I'm missing out on anything.

The image below shows me pretending to drink some of my boys' beers while we were having dinner in Verona, Italy; that's the Verona Arena in the background and we were at one of the lovely restaurants across the piazza. I cannot recall why I was pretending to drink the beer, a photo opportunity to send to someone I guess, and the moment soon passed; I do not feel I need to drink alcohol to enjoy myself and, fortunately, neither does my partner and we have a perfectly good time without it; Of course, he'll have a drink now and then and that's ok with me, he knows when to stop.

Becca MacEvan Verona 163.jpeg

My guy took this image of me in Verona, Italy

Last weekend we were at a gathering of friends, a barbeque, and as often is the case people were drinking.

I knew most of the people there but there were a few I didn't and one of them noticed I wasn't drinking. He came over and offered me a drink which I refused. He made some silly comments, which I think he thought were terribly clever and witty (they were not) and re-offered the drink which I refused once again. That's when he began to get obnoxious and I began to get annoyed.

I'm not sure if he was a little intoxicated, not that that's an excuse for being rude, pushy and unmannered, but he pushed the matter a little too far and I began to feel uncomfortable.

Fortunately my man was keeping his eye on me and he came over, interjected and sent the guy on his way; it was all good natured, he wasn't forceful or rude to him, but he was firm and made it clear that it was time for him to move away. The episode left me feeling quite annoyed that I was pushed in that way, made to feel uncomfortable, and all because I refused the alcohol...it's strange to me that those who drink feel it's acceptable to push those who do not.

Usually I carry a drink with me in situations like this, water in a wine glass or a cola with ice in a whiskey tumbler, pretend alcoholic drinks fool people into thinking I'm drinking alcohol and they leave me alone but it's so very strange that the need for such things exist.

I think it's perfectly normal for people not to want to drink alcohol and totally weird for those who do to push it on others.

- This is what I'm listening to -

Becca 💗

Sort:  

You know, I think I have sat in nearly that same position in Verona, whilst on Honeymoon!

It's a really lovely place, we were there for a few days and walked all over the place; such history and the food was divine as well; a lovely place for a honeymoon.

Becca 🌷

We were in Milan for the most part, and on the way to Venice. But a childhood friend happened to be in Verona and saw an update from us, and Verona is on the train line. It was an amazing bit of luck!

Luck for sure, and what a lovely setting in which to run into your friend. I really liked Verona and would love to go back for opera season, we were just a little early - they were setting it up. The sound checks emanating from the arena were lovely though.

Becca 🌷

Whether or not to drink is a matter of individual choice, and everyone should have the freedom to choose. That freedom should be respected.
The same thing happens to me as to you, with the issue of drinking and others like dancing. But like you I am firm in what I want.
The pity is that we have to pretend not to be bothered.

Hugs Becca.❤️

People are such strange creatures at times aren't they?

Becca 🌷

They are often strange, you have to be diplomatic and nothing more.

It's annoying to me when someone drunk or, let's say, a little intoxicated by alcohol comes up to me to talk nonsense. I can imagine how uncomfortable you must have felt.

Big hug, Becca. I hope you're doing well.

It wasn't very nice at all. The intent of the person was clear, I suppose he thought of me as fair game and thought he'd get into my pants. He was a friend of a friend and didn't know who I was and that my guy was also there and watching the situation very closely. I felt a little uncomfortable though, I do not respond well to intoxicated people as they're too unpredictable and I don't like how they use being intoxicated as an excuse. Luckily my guy was there and he has a way about him that leaves no room for mistaking his message (to people like that guy).

Becca 🌷

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Yeah, I feel you. I wonder why they keep convincing us to drink too. @becca-mac

As do I.

Becca 🌷

I think people have different reactions when they see others not drinking in a party. Good natured ones might think someone just didn't serve/give you one and are being nice. Some want to strike a conversation and offer a drink. Others think those not drinking aren't having fun. I'm not saying they're right, but that some do have good intentions.

Yes, quite clearly that is the case, it's obvious really. In the case I specifically relate to above however, the guy wanted to impress me with the intention to have sex with me, I just didn't say it as plainly as that in my post.

Becca 🌷

Oh, I thought you said it was a gathering of friends, so I didn't include that because I expected everyone to know that you are with your partner. I'm sorry you had to experience that though.

It's ok. I also said that "I knew most of the people there but there were a few I didn't..."

Becca 🌷