Walking away

in Reflections18 days ago

Sometimes I think about it, just walking away, another thing in my life I did and don't want to do any more.

I'm talking about posting on Hive which I've been doing for just over two years; it's something I didn't think I'd be doing for much longer than two months! I don't like social media and never use it and my understanding of Hive was that it was yet another social media and that I'd not be at all interested. Surprisingly, I have been interested and even though I don't have a huge following and loads of interaction like others I'm still interested.

That has something to do with the quality of people, the way they engage, and I also like being able to drop in and say some things on a post now and then which makes a nice distraction from my every day reality; I've enjoyed that. So why then would I consider walking away?

Bec MacAuley.jpeg

My man took this image

Time is something I don't have enough of and things to do is something I have too much of.

It's no different to others I suppose but with the business I run, a terminally ill mother on fortnightly chemotherapy and other medical appointments and complications, a partner who is incredibly busy with his own work who travels away a lot plus has a medical condition that takes constant attention and all the other things life demands of me I find I run out of time quickly.

There's non-negotiable things in my life, those I mention above, relaxation and exercise time, eating and sleeping, bubble baths, and others, and with Hive added in as well...something has to give which often leads me to thoughts of simply stopping I suppose and yet I'm reluctant to let something I have enjoyed pass by.

I understand that to do well on Hive it takes constant effort.

I don't just mean to earn well, that's not my primary focus, I mean to engage well, build relationships, put good posts together and such things as that; it all takes time which, as I say above, is something I'm short of. This is why I can't, and don't, post each day and is why I simply can't engage with others as often or as much as I would like. I do my best though and walking away, while seemingly easy to do, isn't something I believe will enhance life considering the enjoyment I get from posting now and then, but I think about it and sometimes wonder if others are the same. Not everyone is as busy as I am so they may have the time but many are and I wonder how they fit it in.

- This is what I'm listening to -

Becca 💗

Sort:  

I have always said that no one should feel any pressure to post as much as they do. It is in fact absolutely fine to take days off, weeks off even months off. It will always be there as an outlet or even a place to just say hi to folk.

It's like that old hoodie/cardigan everyone has in their wardrobe that they wore incessantly for ages and now can't bear to throw out. You don't have to throw it out. You can keep it and occasionally try it on and have a comforting giggle :O)

Hello there, thanks for commenting and with such wisdom as well. Handsome, cavalier and wise it seems. 🙃

I don't think about Hive when I'm not on it, not until I get that urge to make a post which is more about wanting to than needing, or having, to post. I don't mind if people read them or not although like some interaction of course; it's for me though really and not putting any pressure on it helps me to stay around.

Also, I am sorry to hear about your friend's passing. My condolences.

Becca 🌷

That is the way to Hive, if it is to be social or socialesque media then it shouldn't be something we need to do just something we want to when the need takes us!

And thank you

Dear Becca, like you, probably many of us, who are old enough to be employed (for example, I spend 10 hours a day at work), have problems with lack of time, but the only question is whether you have the opportunity to make a choice and to work what you love.
For example, shortly before I became active on Hive, I was bringing my work home.
Scenario, I get home from work, have lunch and turn on my laptop and continue working. A year ago, I made the decision that I didn't want that. When I come home, I want to be with my partner, to talk, watch movies, sit, play games... Everything but not to work, because I am not paid for additional work from home.
It occurred to me to find a place where I can post some of my thoughts, experiences, pictures of places I've visited, without it being FB, which has never been my favorite.
I found BC and Hive.
This year, I have a set goal - daily posts, and I am almost certain that by fulfilling that goal, I will thin out my posting, making quality posts a couple of times a week.
It's true, you need to be active in communicating with people, and that's a little harder, especially because of the time difference, but when you have the will, you find the time, especially for topics that interest you.
Don't completely stop your presence here, get in touch when you can, comment when you come across something interesting...

PS. I must note that your man has an eye for spotting a pretty woman 🙂
Jeans and cowboy boots, extra combination🙂

I was able to post daily for about a week and enjoyed it although at the time I was able to devote a little bit of my day which isn't possible at the moment. Two a week is all I can manage as I have to focus on more important things. If I can do an additional one and have something on my mind to say then I will but surely won't be worried if it can't happen.

I want to keep it an enjoyable activity and not making it like a job; I think if I did that I would soon stop.

I'll tell my man you said that, about his excellent eye for pretty girls...well, one girl (me) anyway! He likes me in boots and I love wearing them so it's a good match. He's a good man, the best I could ask for really and I'm very lucky to have him...and I think he's luck to have me too, but that's just my opinion. 😋

Thanks for your comment, I appreciate it.

Becca 🌷

How right you are in what you say. Different people are in Hive for different reasons perhaps. Some have more time, others less. But as long as it helps you in some way, for example to express certain things, it's welcome.
Many times it helps me to think about something else and concentrate for example on art.

Hugs Becca.❤️

It should feel like something a person wants to do, not something they have to do otherwise the enjoyment won't be there and it becomes like a job; I think that is also reflected in the posts a person does, no passion or heart in it, just a production line of posting.

Becca 🌷

I for one enjoy it too much, I do it with great happiness! I do everything I like here. But I have seen many publications as empty... from the heart.

Hugs Becca.❤️

Could you be burning out? You can try to stay away from Hive for a few days or weeks, and see how you feel. For me, viewing and commenting on posts is relaxing. So even though I don't post as much, I am still active.

No I'm not burning out, I just have very little time to waste on things that don't matter much and so I prioritise and work on the important things first.

Becca 🌷

Hi Becca,

Look how long it took me to drop you a few words here... well, because I'm busy. And there are many people I follow and read their posts. Because I pride myself on that, yes, I read the posts and always try to write a comment on each post I vote for. This of course takes a lot of time. A lot... but I do it for myself, for my personal satisfaction and because as a creator, when I put something here, I also feel rewarded with the words of those I consider "friends".
You never fully know people, neither in life, nor on Hive. But I understand you. This takes time and life tends to get complicated. But don't take it as something stressful, just, whatever you do, enjoy it.

A hug and I hope everything is fine or at least bearable over there.

nani ;)

Hello Nani, I understand that you follow a lot of people and have to prioritise who you respond to due to a lack of time and a busy schedule.

I hope you're finding some time for yourself, to look after your physical and emotional self, and some rest also. Have a nice weekend.

Becca 🌷

I think we all do it. Because that's what part of life is all about, prioritising.

Yes, I'm taking care of myself and I'm fine. Thank you Becca. 🤗

Set A goal and don't stop. ☺️

Yes, goals are a good way to focus and as I have said, I'll not be stopping.

Becca 🌷

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 5000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 6000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP