You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Words of Resonation

in Reflections29 days ago

I don't know if I agree that it's the best move to fully dissociate from words, but I do think it is a good idea to try to understand the meaning behind them. Realizing that a person is speaking from a place of hurt versus a place of malice can change the whole dynamic of the interaction.

Sort:  

I don't know if I agree that it's the best move to fully dissociate from words, but I do think it is a good idea to try to understand the meaning behind them

I don't think it is fully disassociating, more disconnecting from the meaning of the word to give space to observe other aspects before reacting. It is like taking ownership of our emotions, catching them, understanding them, before reacting to them.

Realizing that a person is speaking from a place of hurt versus a place of malice can change the whole dynamic of the interaction.

For sure. However, it is also good to remember that some people are always "hurt" and then attack as a defense mechanism. This are the people who don't take ownership to understand their "own" feelings.

Sadly, I am likely one of the people that speaks from a place of hurt sometimes. Not all the time, but I know I can get pretty fired up in the heat of the moment.

Me too. I guess we all are from time to time - but some of us are more regular than others.