"Will it matter in five years?", asked my Bougainvillea.

in Reflections17 days ago

My shoulder felt heavy in disbelief with a pang of sadness when one morning I saw my Pink Bougainvillea in its orange pot start to wither. There was only one name whom I remembered who touched this plant, Yoy, my student.

IMG20240424121328.jpg

I had four sets of Bougainvillea which I took pride and care in adorning in front of my classroom. They all look beautiful in orange, pink, white, and red during the blooming season. By beauties, I admit that they are not my top favorite but when it comes to being tough and their adaptability to survive in our hot climate made me choose them over my fav flowers.

IMG20240414070407.jpg

And yes because these flowers bloom beautifully, there were occasions in school when my flowers were used to decorate and beautify the venue. Just this year, my student who I think sees the beauty of this plant borrowed it from me to decorate on one of the school activities we had.

Fast forward. When it was returned to its original place I noticed that the flower had started to wither and a part of its pot was broken. I was hysteric and confronted my student about what had he done! (My OA side kicked in, of course, it’s my plant!) He was shocked to see the plant and explained that the plant was in a good state when he returned it to the place. However I insisted, if had he not touched the plant, it would as healthy as it was before.

IMG20240424121359.jpg

IMG20240424122044.jpg

I saw guilt cross all over my student's face. He tried his best to reason out which I always cut him off. At the end, I told him that if the plant would not survive he needed to replace an exact type of Bougainville with the same size, color, height, and pot. He was silent and told me that he would check his mother’s plant and bring it to school to replace the dying plant. I added that if the plant would not survive I won’t sign his student clearance unless he would buy a new one for me. I half-joked.

IMG20240424121335.jpg

“You are being unreasonable Ma’am!”, a thought I guess running in my student's mind.

He looked at me and then nodded, a sign of defeat that he would follow my command. I was a little bit harsh there but I know I was kidding. I’d rather not accept the plant he will give me even if it is still a bougainvillea, because I’d want my plant to thrive and regain its vibrant state. The plant has been growing for 3 years under my care and effort making this plant of value to me.

IMG20240424121345.jpg

I was sad, mad, and regretful that I overlooked my plant. My heart aches as I watch my plant dying. I was worried. These are my plants since the pandemic. And I am not ready to get a new one yet. I stared at my Bougainvillea wondering if only it could talk, what it would tell me.

I was imagining myself sadly uprooting it (sobs) when one of my students calmly examined it and told me in a calming voice, “Maam why don’t you just let the plant be? Why don’t you try to stop worrying about the plant and just ignore it this time? Who knows it will thrive. If you'll have a new plant to replace this, then maybe, that is the time you'll decide what to do with the old plant”.

IMG20240424122052.jpg

“Seriously?” I screamed in silence. But Yeaaaah, a sudden thought came to mind. I think I’d ignore it, but not the plant, but the emotions I was feeling at that time.

A couple of weeks passed. Our face-to-face class was suspended due to our extreme heat index. Just this week, I visited the school to do some of my paperwork. At lunch, I went outside to wash my spoon in the garden so the plants could drink the leftover water. I glanced at my Bougainvillea and was surprised to see a cluster of young leaves starting to sprout on the stem!

IMG20240414070413.jpg

I hurriedly examined it closely and was more surprised to confirm that the plant had grown new leaves!

IMG20240414070416.jpg

And the leaves are so healthy and green!

I smiled.

I'm happy.

I paused and pondered on the change and the growth of the plant in front of me which I call a blessing from nature. If I let myself got swayed by the emotion, scolded my student way back then, and hastily uprooted the withered Bougainvillea right at that time, the plant might not have had this second chance of growth. And to think, it wouldn’t change a thing at that time!

IMG20240414070341.jpg

If I had kept blaming my student for what happened to the plant, I might have cultivated anger and worry over time. Though I understand and acknowledge the emotions that I naturally felt at that time, I am thankful that I chose to disregard it, didn’t mind, didn’t do anything and just let it pass. This made me come to the thought that there are times/situations in life when we need not react or make decisions and do actions right away. While it's normal to react based on our emotions but its good that we must only give a little time for ourselves to these emotions, 5 minutes at the least.

Don't stress out.

IMG20240414070322.jpg

IMG20240414070326.jpg

True to the quote, “If something won't matter in 5 years, don't waste more than 5 minutes worrying about it now.” So whatever you’re going through right now, think of its effect 5 years from now. Will it matter? Will they still hold weight? If not, then grant yourself at least 5 minutes to worry about it, just 5 minutes, then kick your ass off, darling. Smile and move forward.

IMG20240414070345.jpg

P.S . I'm thrilled about the growth of my once dying plant!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING!


1705734669528.jpg

🖊️@callmesmile

📚She is a public school Teacher on weekdays, a Jill of all trades on weekends, outdoorsy on holidays, a mother, and a blogger in between. 😉

🍃She's in love with nature and the simple life of the countryside. As a lifelong learner, as she is, she is attracted to learning opportunities and growth.

❤️Join her as she shares life's simple joy and its beauty through traveling, exploring nature, the wonders of creating things through some of her DIY, the good things about countryside life, a glimpse of being a Public School Teacher, and more!

If her content makes your heart smile, please leave an upvote, comment, or reblog.🤗

"TOGETHER LET US MAKE LIFE MORE BEAUTIFUL.
SPREAD KINDNESS AND SMILE MORE OFTEN.
🥰"

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Sort:  

True to the quote, “If something won't matter in 5 years, don't waste more than 5 minutes worrying about it now.” So whatever you’re going through right now, think of its effect 5 years from now. Will it matter? Will they still hold weight? If not, then grant yourself at least 5 minutes to worry about it, just 5 minutes, then kick your ass off, darling. Smile and move forward.

Ahhhhhh this is so relatable, ma'am smile!! I'm glad the plant sprouted its new life!

I have read this quote quite a while, and it just made sense recently, thanks to my bougainvillea., Haha.

And thank goodness the plant has thrived, making @tomilee safe. 😃

Beautiful content ma'am @callmesmile .

I just remembered that I got so interested in bougainvillea when I was making an experiment with it for my research. It's kinda sad to see that this is happening to your plant ma'am 😔 the heat index here in Philippines is literally causing the death of our beloved plants 😔

Lovely, lovely story. 😍😍😍😍😍

True, 5 minutes to reflect and if it won't matter to you after 5 years in your life then be it. Move forward and don't stress yourself. There are lot of reasons to smile. Recharge and be grateful for everything. Thanks for sharing and for letting us reflect for a moment of silence maam @callmesmile .

Yes it is true ma'am @callmesmile.

I am like your plant right now. Someday I will grow better. And maybe not to trust the person who took my goodness for granted.

5 years from now, this situation will no longer matter. But it's effect will make a new version of myself.

The sprouts! They sure symbolize hope and new beginning. Love the thought ma'am smile. Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


Congratulations @callmesmile!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Oh wow! This is the best news/update I've heard today.😍 This was only a dream before.😌 Finally I've unlocked my goal before I'll celebrate my 2nd Hive Anniversarry this end of May.

Thanks @hivebuzz!😍

Congratulations on becoming a Dolphin @callmesmile 🎉🎉🎉