You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinions and Confirmation Bias

in Reflections10 months ago (edited)

It has been very pleasant to read these lines dear @blocktrades, it is fabulous to come across reflections like this. In fact, personally I am always looking for philosophy about Hive, it happens that as I studied philosophy for some time I have not stopped learning and studying about Hive, with the purpose of being able to outline reflections on philosophy and Hive. So I will be attentive to future publications like this one.

I take this opportunity to extend the invitation to you to express ideas of this kind in the community where I am co-founder "Humanitas" A community that was thought to do philosophy and to be able to express reflections and thoughts like these.

Nietzsche said that there are no facts, there are only interpretations, but in this sense, the question is: How to know if my interpretation is accurate? and how to know that it is not being biased by personal prejudices?

I believe that this is one of the biggest challenges that people have in our path of self-knowledge. That is why meeting people with radically opposite points of view can make us see points of view that we would not have contemplated in any other situation. I remember a medieval philosophy class when we were studying Christian philosophy and the professor takes a radically atheistic stance. Just to contrast arguments on both sides of the scale.

Now, with respect to optimism, pessimism or realism, I currently consider myself a realist, although I have a tendency towards pessimism. But, it just so happens that I have a somewhat dichotomous perception of pessimism.

I think that pessimism is true optimism.

I mean, a pessimist is dissatisfied or disagrees with something, therefore he should at least want that situation to change for the better, unlike an optimist who may think that everything is fine and does not attach too much importance to it but accepts the situation as it is. He does not pretend to improve it. The pessimist wants things to improve or at least that is what I think. This has given me a desire to express these ideas a little more. Maybe I will write a little about it.

Sort:  

I've only skim read one book by Nietzsche that I found in a book store, but I don't remember which one it was. Honestly I found it almost incomprehensible, so I haven't read any more of his writings. Do you have any you recommend?

Getting into Nietzsche can be a bit confusing because of his way of expressing ideas. I think to start reading about this German philosopher can be with the following works.

1: On truth and falsehood in an extramoral sense.

2: The decline of the idols.

3: Thus Spake Zarathustra (his masterpiece)

Nietzsche is a rather pointed author, there is a Bulgarian film that talks a bit about his life, I highly recommend it. It's called "The day Nietzsche cried".