You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blind luck or by design

in Reflectionslast month

I started reading your comment and then...oh cool, I got to the second paragraph and was pleased to see you say that you are one who applies effort towards the things you want to achieve. I think that's the best way as luck is a fickle bitch.

Bad things just happen sometimes, good ones too, and people like to label them as luck, fate or chance...maybe it's true for some things but a lot of that labelling is avoidance, lack of responsibility and ownership, certainly in the case of those who have applied no effort yet still expected a positive result

Sort:  

haha sorry did I disappoint you in the beginning. The first paragraph was more like we should appreciate that we were born into this world. It's not something that we could control so I think it's luck that the sperm that hit the egg was us and not a different sperm? haha I don't know what I'm saying.

Yes exactly. bad/good things happen. We can't just say it's bad luck or good luck and no offense to religion but not even it's gods plan etc. All that I feel is like you said not taking ownership but shifting to a labal/excuse for the things that happen to us.

We all should certainly appreciate the life we have, be grateful for it and respect what we have of it, an indeterminate amount of time. I agree with you there.

I know what you're saying, I just focused on the other aspect of your comment. It's blind luck I was born in Australia and not another part of the world that sucks major ass, a war zone or troubled, impoverished country. Luck, fate, chance, destiny? I had no bearing on it so whatever it was that made it come to pass was completely out of my control. So I agree with you.

Oh that's good. That means we are roughly on the same page.

Hope you've been having a great week and weekend soon!