You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinions and Confirmation Bias

in Reflections10 months ago (edited)

Hi there! It's a pleasure for me reading this text of you, since I am a philosophy lover and because I appreciate your work on Hive.

I agree with you that it's important to challenge our own opinions. Nobody is the owner of the truth, and we can all learn from each other. Sharing our thoughts and ideas with others can help us to see things from different perspectives and to grow as individuals.

I'd add the following idea: the power of the community lies in its diversity. When we come together with people from different backgrounds and experiences, we can create a space where everyone's voice is heard and valued. This is why I'm always happy to share my thoughts on Hive, and I'm grateful for the opportunity to learn from others.

As for your last question, I would say that I'm a realist. I try to be optimistic, but I also know that there are challenges in the world. I think it's important to be aware of both the good and the bad, so that we can make informed decisions about how to move forward.

Final note, I'm in a community (humanitas) open to this class of topics, and I encourage you to share your writings there as well. Feel free to do it.

!PIZZA
!KING

Sort:  

the power of the community lies in its diversity

I completely agree with this. Growing up in America, I was taught that diversity of cultures was one of its great strengths (although in practice I didn't experience that diversity much until college since I grew up in a small town almost entirely composed of whites and blacks with few cultural differences).

For most of my life, this was an opinion that I felt was shared by most Americans, or at least given lip service. But lately I've heard this idea challenged by a few prominent thought leaders in America, arguing that diversity leads to disunity and even potential destruction of America's core values, which is an argument I think is very misleading. I find it troubling that more Americans nowadays seem willing to embrace this kind of thinking.

In theory, of course, diversity of cultures and opinion can be bad. Primarily this happens if there is some very basic disagreement about strongly held opinions where the groups involved are not willing to engage in discussion and where the groups involved are not willing to tolerate disagreement.

But I actually think this type of situation is worse when there's only two groups involved. From my own observations, it seems like the larger the number of diverse groups that are in contact with each other on a daily basis, the more likely it is that everyone will learn to tolerate and appreciate other cultures. When I think about it, I suspect this is at least partially just a survival trait when you exist in a society where your culture doesn't completely dominate.

where the groups involved are not willing to engage in discussion and where the groups involved are not willing to tolerate disagreement.

The diversity is richness in all senses. I once traveled to Brazil and I really enjoyed their lifestyle. This is common in every Latin American community, as you say, although there are some who do not agree with this.

For this reason, I would highlight the importance of tolerance and respect. Without these qualities, it is impossible to have a sincere dialogue that can lead us anywhere. In these cases, I prefer to step aside.

Outstanding job King @blocktrades, jesusalejos(1/15) is grateful for the care and attention you put into crafting this post. Your efforts are truly valued.

Creating quality content is truly admirable. @jesusalejos wants to show their appreciation by sending you 0.025 HKGENTHREE.

BTW! You will find powerful and charismatic NFTs in the AVATAR PACKS that you can use in all our games.