You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinions and Confirmation Bias

in Reflections10 months ago

How to identify confirmation bias (in ourselves or in others)?

When it comes to recognizing confirmation bias in yourself, I found it that you simply cant, when presented with information initially.
So I consciously forced myself into the only solution I could find. Whenever I make a claim on anything, I internally attempt to counter it to the best of my ability. This has worked well for me because even in cases when it doesnt entirely force me to abandon my initial argument, it softens it, it lets me present a more balanced view of things. Doing this can be really tough, a struggle, wrestling against your inner need to present your rejection of arguments lacking all and any reason, especially in cases when met with someone so aggressively pushing faulty, sometimes evil narratives, not wanting to give an inch.
This ofc, puts you at odds with basically everyone on the political spectrum or elsewhere in life, since by doing this you reject to pick a problem solution presented to you in a false dichotomy of preset basket of beliefs, you are encouraged to pick from, and is not a wanted position to be in.

You basically choose to stand alone.

or in others)?

I have a saying here (I have a lot of sayings haha):

"If I can guess your stance on 10 specific, disconnected issues, from just knowing your stance on 1, you're most likely an idiot and not worth talking to". 😂

I could have probably put it more nicely. lol

Sort:  

"If I can guess your stance on 10 specific, disconnected issues, from just knowing your stance on 1, you're most likely an idiot and not worth talking to". 😂

I've observed this often myself in various political parties, religious groups, etc. Not only are the issues disconnected, they are often even logically inconsistent. But the vast majority of people fall into this category to some extent because "group think" seems to be part of human nature, so you probably still should talk to them.