Don't be a fat cat. A refletion

in Reflections14 days ago (edited)

1000012107.jpg


This morning when I was going to the cafeteria I found this beautiful cat, somewhat chubby and scruffy, but very healthy by the looks of it, I am thinking it is someone's pet, who escaped and decided to take a walk through the main streets of Monterrey. Who knows, maybe it's just a stray cat, either way it gave rise to today's reflection.

It would have been around 1988, I was going to complete two years in my second job or my third job, I don't remember it very well anymore. The production in the company where I worked was quite good in my opinion, but it was very fashionable to try to be more efficient in everything that time, in which there was a lot of training. Then the owner of the company had the great idea of ​​inviting a friend of his to give a speech to the workers. The topic of the speech was "Don't be a fat cat." We were all very excited, because whether you like it or not, when you work on a production line, resting for a few minutes is comforting no matter what. At first it was good, because although I struggled a little to understand what he was saying because his diction was not very good, the atmosphere was jovial and relaxed. On the other hand, the speech was much more ambiguous than expected. As far as I could understand, he made an analogy between fat cats and people who don't like to work or who don't put enough effort into it, however I knew that at least in the area where I worked, colleagues and I worked hard, so the speech had a completely opposite result than expected. Most of the colleagues felt offended, some resigned and others began to slack off. At that time, I was offered a job in other company with double the pay, so I did not hesitate to resign.

I always thought that that mediocre talk would have no impact on my life other than its disastrous results, however what my mother told me after telling her the story, sets the tone in all those situations in which it seems that there is nothing good. She basically told me that my task was to find something good or useful in everything in life that doesn't seem to have it. Calmer now. I started to reflect and realized that it actually did have a positive impact, at least on me, because to this day I remember some things about that experience. In short, take advantage of work to learn or hone skills. Of course I would add carefully choosing those skills that are most valuable, I mean most valued, because it is useless to be very good at something that no one is interested in.


Hoy en la mañana cuando iba a la cafetería encontré a este hermoso gato, algo gordito y desaliñado, pero muy sano por lo que se ve, es la mascota de alguien, que se escapó y decidió dar una vuelta por las calles principales de Monterrey. Quién sabe, tal vez solo sea un gato callejero, de cualquier forma dio pie a la reflexión del día de hoy.

Sería por ahí del año de 1988, iba a cumplir dos años en mi segundo empleo o mi tercer empleo, ya no lo recuerdo muy bien. La producción en la empresa en la que trabajaba era bastante buena A mi parecer, pero está muy de moda tratar de ser más eficiente todo, en la que había bastante entrenamiento y capacitación. Entonces el dueño de la empresa tuvo la grandiosa idea de invitar a un amigo suyo a dar un discurso a los trabajadores. El tema del discurso era " No seas un gato gordo". Todos estábamos muy animados, porque quieras o no, cuando trabajas en una línea de producción, descansar por unos minutos resulta reconfortante sea como sea. Al principio estuvo bien, porque aunque batallaba un poco para entender lo que decía porque su dicción no era muy buena, el ambiente era jovial y relajado. En cambio el discurso era mucho más ambiguo de lo esperado. Hasta donde alcancé a entender él hacía una analogía entre los gatos gordos y las personas que no les gusta trabajar o que no le ponen el empeño suficiente, sin embargo yo sabía que al menos en el área donde yo trabajaba, compañeros y yo trabajamos arduamente, por lo que el discurso tuvo un resultado completamente opuesto al esperado. La mayoría de los compañeros se sintieron ofendidos, algunos renunciaron y otros más empezaron a flojear. En ese tiempo a mí me ofrecieron un trabajo en nuestra empresa con el doble de paga por lo que no dudé en renunciar.

Siempre pensé que aquella plática mediocre no tendría ningún impacto en mi vida más que sus nefastos resultados, sin embargo lo que me dijo mi madre después de contarle la historia, la pauta en todas aquellas situaciones en las que parece que no hay nada bueno. Básicamente me dijo que mi tarea era encontrar algo bueno o útil en todo aquello de la vida que parece no tenerlo. Ya más tranquilo Me puse a reflexionar y me di cuenta de que en realidad sí tuvo un impacto positivo, al menos en mí, porque hasta hoy en día recuerdo algunas cosas de aquella vivencia. En pocas palabras aprovechar el trabajo para aprender o afinar las habilidades. Claro yo agregaría escoger cuidadosamente aquellas habilidades que sean más valiosas, quiero decir más valoradas, porque de nada sirve ser muy bueno en algo que a nadie le interesa.


Redacción y Fotografía

@saulos

Sort:  

Yes,it true . There are skill I learned sometimes ago that is no longer valuable. I would have use that precious time to learn something valuable

Over time, valuable knowledge loses its validity. It happened to me and now I have to update

looks to me, it is not a stray cat.

The color of this cat is very beautiful, I have two cats, they are white, they are also very cute, just like her.