Sort:  

We are social creatures, the space for ourselves is meant to be inner space, inside our mind screen.

By the way, did you start that inner space memory recreation technique? The one with the room? How is it going?

By the way, did you start that inner space memory recreation technique? The one with the room? How is it going?

I haven't yet, though I have done something similar a long time ago for memory. My memory is okay though, it is just the automatic process that destroys my ability to create. Thought is exhausting.

This is not about memory, but more about focus and visualisation. Like a muscle, do it enough time and the thought and ability to create and visualise will become easier. At least this is how it works normally, i do not know about anyone who had a stroke or something similar doing it, so there is no precedent. But all these exercises are just to get good enough to start the lucid dreaming ones. In time. When you can visualize and maintain a whole building in your inner screen. Or street. He he! (I am a bit of a maniac in testing and adapting all kinds of techniques, any culture, any science, even if I do not have enough time to master them by now (50 years old, I know).

For example, did you know that there is a way to gain synesthesia, other than by accident? Of course, as every good thing that needs to rewire our brain pathways, takes years to get results. The idea is, that our brain can do incredible things, only that it takes time, a lot of time, to undue damage.

About children, is good to dedicate a day to one sense, like a game. One day be aware of all smells, sounds, or what you touch. Is quite educational, and extends the limits of our perception. Bit by bit.

At least this is how it works normally,

Prior to the stroke, my visualization skills were up there with the best of them. Unfortunately, the ability to visualize lays somewhere in the dead bit of brain in my cerebellum. The amount of effort it takes to think now is quite intense, and it is whenever I am thinking, like a constant buzz of energy depleting me.

About children, is good to dedicate a day to one sense, like a game. One day be aware of all smells, sounds, or what you touch. Is quite educational, and extends the limits of our perception. Bit by bit.

I like this. I might play some of these things with Smallsteps!

I should correct - I think it is my ability to automate visualization. Everything is manual and IU can do it with effort, but there is unlikely to ever be that automation again.

The best I can describe the energy it takes is something like, in your head work out what 137/4.7 = while doing your work tasks at the same time. And then once you get the answer, do 211/3.7= and so on and so forth until the end of the day. Then look at how productive you were at work :)

I see, as more like the fine-tuning of multi-tasking. But you know the example of the guy without a quarter of a brain, lost in an accident, still functioning normally, as years later the doctors said that the other parts of the brain got in and adapted to compensate for the missing one.

Made me think to the story from The Alchemist book about the meaning of life:

'Before Melchizedek leaves, he tells Santiago the story of a shopkeeper who sends his son to learn the secret of happiness from the wisest man in the world. The boy finds the man in a beautiful castle in the desert. The wise man tells the boy to spend time looking around while balancing a spoonful of oil. When the boy returns, he says he didn’t pay attention to any of the castle’s splendor because he concentrated on the oil. The wise man sends him out again to see the castle, and the boy returns having seen the castle but having also spilled the oil. The wise man tells him he must admire the castle without forgetting the oil. The story reminds Santiago of a shepherd always needing to remember his flock.'

Meaning of life being to admire all the wonders without losing the oil from the spoon.

But you know the example of the guy without a quarter of a brain, lost in an accident, still functioning normally, as years later the doctors said that the other parts of the brain got in and adapted to compensate for the missing one.

We have to be careful with what "normal" is in these cases. I still test average or above on cognitive tests, yet I am well below where I was in several aspects. This heavily affects my capabilities. I don't know what the people without parts of their brains do for work, but "functioning normally" can often be considered being able to make it through a normal day.

I have never read the Alchemist. I actually don't read much non-fiction anymore as it is not enjoyable, it is heavy work. If I don't manually create the images from the text, I get nothing from it, and if I do create the images, it is very tiring. Another thing that has been lost :)