What I Saw On My Walk Sparked This Unusual Thought

in Reflections22 days ago

IMG_9856.jpg

Retelling the history of BostonDAO, Jake Lynch begins the event with his thoughts. He was an excellent MC last year.

One Year Ago Today

I conquered my fear of public speaking. I used what Sir John Hargrave wrote. He read a ton about Bruce Lee and passed on his wisdom to me. The feelings of nervous in your stomach depend on your perspective.

If you tell yourself that the sensation is your body gearing up for the present challenge, you can perform. If you give in to the feelings, view them as signs you're unprepared, anxious or otherwise unwell, this will also become true.

I spoke at the Ethereum conference in Boston, but I also photographed the event while I wasn't speaking. Afterwards, I got to enjoy food at a reception with some of the sharpest crypto minds in Boston. I felt very accomplished.

IMG_9862.jpg

A view from the back of the auditorium of Boston University shows the audience tuned into the opening remarks by Jake Lynch.

One Year Later, The Present Day

I still feel accomplished. I take the time out of my day to learn and transact, even if I'm sending pennies back and forth. From a manga, I read this. 'Our dreams are built on what we accomplish.' I couldn't agree more.

I pity those that think things will happen off good ideas alone. It's also a shame people quit before they arrive where they want. What James Clear said was true, too. There's a plateau, where people expect results. Results usually come after those expectations, never before.


image.png

Love should be simple, I think. Nothing in life is easy.

On My Walk Today

I saw some scribbles on a trail marker. "Love should be easy $", I think it reads. Though, I think it's wrong. Firstly, anything worth having won't be easy to get. Otherwise, they wouldn't be so special.

That toned body will only come after months, even years of exercise and diet. That relationship partner, may come when you're gray. The unspoken truth is that all of those things you want will not be easy.

It will be hard. Maybe the way to obtain things is simple: work hard to see results, be consistent to see results, and so on. But, only a fool would say it's easy.

Love might be simple. It isn't easy. You will want to say things that disagree with your partner. You will want your partner to do certain things, appear a certain way. You may not even want to handle their doubts and anxieties. It may be work to put up with their fear of success or fear of failure.

You'll consider quitting.

That's why those long-lasting relationships are so enviable. That's why we discredit those with looks or funds- we discount how much time or effort it takes. I'm here to say that if you are to have any hope of success in any endeavor, it will take one thing.

You must love what you do to accomplish what you want. "The magic you're looking for is hidden in the work you're avoiding." Such a powerful sentiment I saw while scrolling Pinterest.

I want my lady friend to look like a track star. I myself, want a superhero physique. I don't want any number of riches, just enough to not concern myself with the change and the bills. I want these clothing brands and jewelry, a car with modern features, a place to stay with a studio for photography. Even the art of old cartoonists costs quite a bit.

Then, for all those things, there are requirements. I must listen to the needs of my partner. I must not objectify her, nor shackle her with my desires. I must encourage, never demand. I must commit to consistency for that body I want.

I have to deal with the mishaps sending money on bridges. Earning an airdrop can't be beneath me, if I want funds above expectations. To get more designer, I need to clean my closet. Let go of the old, the novel, and sentimental things I don't wear. For jewelry and other trinkets, I need space and order. Otherwise, I'll lose them.

A home? I better clear up my credit and make more. For art? I'd do better reading about my interests than scrolling Pinterest and other social networking sites.

I think that book is coming along, slow and steady. I paid a teacher for writing. I force myself to put out words as consistently as the sun rises and sets. It isn't glamorous, but I take it slow. "Slow is smooth. Smooth is fast."

Wonder what I'll see on my walk tomorrow.

Sort:  

The fear of public speaking happens to so many people including celebrities
I’m scared of public speaking too and I’m yet to conquer it but I’m sure I’d do so someday

Oh and I was really wishing to actually see the scenario where you are actually speaking 😕