You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinions and Confirmation Bias

in Reflections10 months ago

Sorry, I neglected to formally characterize myself. On cursory reflection, while I base my expectations of personal results on evidence, which suggests pessimism inform my expectations, I am a hopeless romantic, and preach a coming paradise born of decentralization of the means of production concatenated with the illimitable resources that we will gain access to as space travel develops and 3D printing disperses across the population.

The first 3D printed spaceship, Terran 1, was launched in March 2023 by Relativity Space. In the few short months since then several other manufacturers have adopted 3D printing to make spacecraft. While these highly specialized printers today cost ~$1M, it is difficult to reasonably expect that price won't drop rapidly and the ability to print with the exotic aluminum alloys spacecraft require won't soon be available to ordinary folks.

Regardless of what happens to me, I am very bullish on decentralization and the inconceivable prosperity our posterity will create with illimitable resources to develop in absolute freedom that will soon be possible.

Like I said, I'm a hopeless romantic.

Sort:  

Yep, I'm convinced, you are a hopeless romantic :-) Let's hope you're right.