Your Home is Not With Me

in Secondhand Finds3 months ago

Picture this... It's 2am and you've had a few drinks. You're wandering back home under the streetlights, when you hear a menacing sound in the distance... "Byyyyyyyaaaaahhhh!" someone wails, jumping out at you wearing this bird face hood. "Give me your cash, and no one gets hurt!"

SF1.jpg

I'd be straight spooked. Luckily, I encountered this funny sweater with my best friend instead. She threw it over her head and made this fantastic face, screeching at me like a pissed off pigeon.

Charlie 3x is my favorite person to thrift shop with. I've been trying to onboard her to Hive for months, but she is highly resistant to the idea. "Come on brotherrrrr... I made a thrifting community!!" I plead, but her heart is stone. BYAHummer.

SF2.jpg


Last time we shopped together, we found a lot of things that made us giggle, including this pretentious sweater. Or maybe we just make each other laugh, it's hard to say. Does the strange assertion of being the "original penguin" make anyone else cackle?!
SF3.jpg


We ended up not finding anything we wanted that day, but that's really not the point to us anyhow. The thrill is all in the chuckles and trying on bizarre outfits.

Today I went back to the same shop to pick my daughter up "new" shoes. I found some items whose home was absolutely not with me, but also some that did make the cut.

As soon as we got to the shoe isle, these bad boys caught my eye.

Now these are the kind of shoes you buy when mowing your lawn is a lifestyle. When everyone in the neighborhood knows you make a killer burger. These scream "I have a 401k and your opinion of me is useless!" sheer swag. I lack the gumption, but these are someone's treasure.

I knew it was going to be an amusing trip as soon as we walked in, because of this couch.

No Excessive Sitting 😂


image_50387201.JPG

It took a moment for me to recover from the idea of someone struggling to find professional words for "You can't just sit here." and landing on this.

A Seinfeld like skit unfolded in my mind, planting a stubborn shopper firmly on the tan pillows. "How am I supposed to know if I want it, if I can't lay down on it for awhile?!" Some George-esque character yells out in my head.

Suddenly I'm laughing too loud as I walk away, and a woman gives me a concerned side-eye. Insanity and happiness are mighty identical, I don't think too much on which I am.

image_67515905.JPG

While there, I also wanted to find some new leggings. As a stay-at-home mom, there are few days that call for me to put on real pants in the winter and early spring. I live in Northern Ohio, so our winters aren't terrible. It will still easily be two months before the weather is nice though.

As I looked through the rack, my daughter Thea climbed into it. I remember how cool that was as a small kid, being in the garment rack world... It's the rare but much coveted fort of bored kids, a refuge in the monotony of shopping.
It was nice to remember some of my own adventures in clothing racks as I browsed, Thea popping out randomly at me as I went.

When she saw these horse leggings, she insisted that I buy them. I think they were too big, but I humored her by putting them on the cart handle. Luckily, she promptly forgot about them, and had no gripes when I put them back later on.

I did find 4 pairs of basically new leggings for roughly 8$, which is a great price here.

image_67210753.JPG

Although I don't own a single record, or even a CD anymore for that matter, this sleek sucker caught my eye next.

I've always enjoyed items that combined the modern with the retro... As I looked at this and thought of how it was one such item, life smacked me in the forehead. I was forced to admit to myself that this is now just a retro item.

Still, what a fun combo to have housed in such a classic piece! At 58$, I have a feeling that someone will be really excited when they find this.

It just wasn't this gal.

I went on and picked out some baskets for easter this year. I always try to find really nice ones in thrift stores, then I have them on hand for gifts later on.

This is a prime example of how my spending habits fall in line with my minimalist mindset. When buying secondhand goods that are multipurposed, I achieve a trifecta. Saving money while reducing waste is great, and all the better when it simplifies things!

Not to mention, who doesn't like a gift basket of useful/ edible items?

image_50745857.JPG

No trip to the thrift store would be complete without letting the kids explore the toy section!

My son Emory is fairly tall for a 2-year-old, standing at just under 3 feet. Considering how massive this dollhouse is, and its wicked cool lever operated elevator, it was a tempting buy for 20$.

I have this totally unrealistic fantasy that I will start refurbishing items to resell. Whenever I see someone monetizing upcycling, I'm always mystified by what a cool side hustle meets hobby it is. In my mind, I see a few hours of work making this dollhouse worth 50-60$. Do I have a few hours to fix up a dollhouse though? I sure do not.

Thea's blurred face in the background expresses my average energy level on any given day lately. Perhaps I will take up refurbishing furniture when my son sleeps through the night, heh. After the kids had their fill of investigating the toys, we gathered our items and headed out.

We got three full bags of clothing and shoes for 44$, which is a fraction of what we'd have spent otherwise. Another successful trip in the books! 😎

footer.png
All photos are my own

Are you a fan of secondhand finds? From thrift shopping, to garage sales and beyond, all types of finds are welcome in our new community! We're running a contest for the next month with a prize pool of 80 Hive! You can check out all the details here. Hope to see you there!
Sort:  

I love this concept, even though I haven't been to a thrift shop (to shop) in ages! I have donated quite a few times over the last year, though.

I used to do both the upcycling thing, and the arbitrage thing. Made 100% of my living off of it for several years, in fact, selling things on eBay & Amazon (mostly books, but occasionally other things).

I do still have many, many things from my bargain hunting days though. You don't make your living doing this for multiple years and not find some fantastic keepers.

Congratulations on your excellent haul, and may you have many happy thrifting trips in your future!

!PIMP
!PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@willendorfia just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @grindan.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Instanity and happiness are indeed earily similar. I love the idea of someone excessively sitting on the couch though !LOLZ I can hardly conjure the image of what that would look like.

I watch some channels on YouTube of people thrifting and it's cool what they can find. We don't really have shops like that of that scale over here, but we do have charity shops but they're waaay smaller and usually don't have much good stuff. I did find a rake of PS1 games before though and bought the lot at around two euros each.

What is a golfer's favorite type of cheese?
Par-mesean

Credit: reddit
@grindan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of killerwot

(1/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Killer! Hey dude, I was just thinking about you the other day- how's the baby boy doing?! I guess probably getting big now 😱 it goes fast, but you guys just had Kaleb yesterday, right?! haha

Hey, I hope if you ever want to share some thrifted v-games, that we're the hub 🤗

Thanks for the smiles, as always homie 💚😄 !PIMP

Sound, I might do a post and a bit of a chat about each one :) I'll be sure to drop the post into this community, it's a great idea to have a place like this to talk about our finds.

He's doing really well. It feels like only yesterday, but he's 10 months old already and only has about 6 weeks to go before he joins creche, which is mad to think about. It has been an amazing experience so far. He's nuts, he deffinatly takes that from my side of the family, they're all lunatics.


You must be killin' it out here!
@grindan just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @killerwot.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

That's fantastic! The good old George reference was great, taking a nap in the store! I think it's great to use thrift shops, I like to frequent them to find "treasures", but being tall clothing in these places never fits right.

You're kids had a great time, and I agree fixing up that dollhouse right would take more than just a few hours. When you have young children time is extremely precious. Now that I'm an empty nester I find I have too much time so I am constantly looking for fun projects.

Great post, If I get by a thrift store this month I'll have to write a post up about it!
!DHEDGE

ahahah 😂 I love that you caught the reference!!

I agree, it can be hard to find adult clothes while thrifting. My measurements rarely work out for me, but it's great for saving dough on kids clothes!

that dollhouse right would take more than just a few hours

SO true! I think we ache for busy activities when we have kids, then we struggle to find them when we are kid free !LOLZ

I sure hope to see you around the community if you have time 🤗💗

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@grindan just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I can see the future
But it takes me a while.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of grindan

(2/4)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

I loved the guided tour! I loved everything about this post, but my favorite part was, perhaps, the sofa episode 😂 How I laughed at the sign on the sofa. Cheeky people in this world also need to sit comfortably, hahaha. Hilarious. It's funny how what you pictured does seem like come out of a Seinfled episode; totally "George-esque" 🤣 Love it. Love it.

In the eighties, in Venezuela, thrift stores were a hippie thing--read with a negative emphasis. Now some shops are even chic. The world and its radical twists and turns...

Your kids look gorgeous as usual ❤️

Ahahaha😍! Hey Marlyn!! 💕 I'm so glad you enjoyed my thrift shop dive- it makes me smile so big to think of you laughing with me about how George would totally fight this sign 😂🤣!

thrift stores were a hippie thing--read with a negative emphasis.

I watched kind of the same thing go on here in the US- it was "trashy" to thrift shop... then one day it was trendy! 😂 We gotta ride with what works for us, eh? 💚

Thank you for the amazing comment, as always 🤗!! 👯💗

I also like thrifting but not that often, since sometimes some clothes are almost as expensive as the new one (but a fast fashion one). a little strange though. But I did find some cool items when I decided to go thrifting.

That doll house is really a great deal for $20, that looks so big.
!PIMP !LOLZ


You must be killin' it out here!
@ekavieka just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @grindan.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

As I suspected – someone has been adding soil to my garden.
The plot thickens.

Credit: marshmellowman
@grindan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ekavieka

(3/6)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Yeah, it's a bummer that sometimes the stuff is barely marked down... thrifting can be dubious for sure!!

Thanks for coming by to share your experiences thrifting- it is really cool to hear other perspectives! I wanted the doll house, but alas I stopped me 😂💚

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@grindan just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @ekavieka.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

The mask is actually scary, lol
I’m sure the kids had a great time too
It is obvious cos the pictures can tell

haha it really creeped me out too, so I had to write this spirited introduction about it 😂 thank goodness Charlie 3x softened it, or I'd be in trouble!

Thanks for stopping by to comment 🤗

Insanity and happiness are mighty identical, I don't think too much on which I am.

I too get to do this once in a while and not give a hoot about what the onlookers think of me. Those are moments😁
Nice shopping dealings with your kid and an interesting read too.

Honestly, it's better to leave the speculation to everyone else and just have a good time haha!

Thanks for being awesome!! 🤗

At first I was scared to see the mask actually

ahahahahaa!! It really is creepy 🤣

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@willendorfia(1/10) tipped @grindan