Did You See the Northern Lights? みなさんはオーロラを見ましたか? [English and Japanese]

in Amazing Nature15 days ago

IMG_7470.jpeg

Did You See the Northern Lights?

We had Eclipse Day last year, and these days, we have a chance to see the Northern Lights in many areas of the world. In my area, we also had a chance to see the Northern Lights in the last few weeks. However, I had little opportunity to see them because of cloudy days.

When I saw the Northern Lights for the first time in my life, I was amazed.

IMG_7475.jpeg
IMG_7476.jpeg

I missed the first day of the chance because I was working at night. After work, I immediately went to bed, so I forgot to see the sky. I was checking the Aurora forecast app and sky for a few weeks. When the forecast showed the activity level, was high, I was very excited. It said 'Aurora Activity Level 10/10.'

IMG_7477.jpeg

I couldn't wait when the app said the activity level was high. I was watching the beautiful sunset. After dark, the sky was clear but the clouds sometimes hid the sky quickly, unfortunately. Late night, the sky was suddenly clear and I could see stars and the moon. I ran outside with my husband and our dog.

IMG_7471.jpeg
IMG_7472.jpeg

When I looked at the sky directly, I saw white foggy layers resembling lace curtains. The white parts were dazzling in the sky. They moved slightly, little by little. Yes! I saw the Northern Lights for the first time in my life! I had expected to see colourful ones like greenish, yellow-greenish, pinkish, or purplish hues. However, they were white with very weak green tints. In photos, you see grayish colours, but when you see them directly, you see skeletal white and weak green hues.

IMG_7473.jpeg
IMG_7474.jpeg

When I change the camera filters, I see the green parts more clearly. Yay! They look clear. If I had a nicer camera, it might capture more greenish hues, I guess. Anyway, it was an amazing chance to see the Northern Lights.

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_7470.jpeg

みなさんはオーロラを見ましたか?

先月は日食でしたが、このところ、世界のいろいろな場所でオーロラが観測できると話題になっていました。私の住む地域でもオーロラを見ることができるとのことでした。ところが、曇りの日が多くてなかなかチャンスが到来しませんでした。

人生で初めてオーロラを見た時は、かなり感動しました。

IMG_7475.jpeg
IMG_7476.jpeg

いちばん初めのオーロラ観測の可能性が高い日の夜は、仕事をしていて見逃してしまいました。仕事が終わった後は疲れていて空を見ずにすぐに寝てしまいました。オーロラ予報のアプリを見ながら数日過ごしました。予報がオーロラのレベルがかなり高いという情報を見た時はかなり興奮しました。「オーロラレベル10/10」と表示されていました。

IMG_7477.jpeg

アプリにオーロラが見られるチャンスが高いと表示された日は、待ち遠しくて仕方がありませんでした。綺麗な夕日を見た後すっかり暗くなってから、残念ながら空が曇ってしまいました。夜遅くなってから空が晴れて星と月明かりが見えたので、主人と犬といっしょに外に出ました。

IMG_7471.jpeg
IMG_7472.jpeg

空を肉眼で見上げると、白い霧がかったようなレイヤーが見え、レースのカーテンがかかっているようでした。白い部分がゆらゆらと空の上で揺れていました。ゆっくり少しずつ揺れて動いているようでした。やった!人生初のオーロラ観測です。もう少し緑がかった、黄緑がかった、ピンクがかった、紫がかった色合いのオーロラが見えるのを期待していました。しかし、実際に見えたオーロラは白い色にうっすらと緑がかったような色合いでした。写真の中では、グレーがかったような色合いに見えるかもしれませんが、実際は透き通った白にうっすらと緑がかかっているような色合いでした。

IMG_7473.jpeg
IMG_7474.jpeg

カメラのフィルターを調整してみると、緑の部分がはっきりと浮かび上がりました。わぁ!はっきりと見えますね。もっと高性能のカメラがあれば、もっとはっきりと緑色の部分が見えるのではないかと思います。オーロラ観測ができるだなんて、とても感動的でした。

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

F4033998-FE74-478F-BE79-B4618864F79C.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

Sort:  

観れたんですね〜すご〜い!
私は情報収集が遅くて見逃してしまいました😅

そちら側も見えるかなーと思っていました。期待していた感じのオーロラとはちょっと違う色合いでしたが、カーテンみたいにユラユラしているのは見ることができました!もっと見たい欲が出てしまいました🤭

これ、日本でも見られた地域が結構あったようです。
5月11日から12日未明にかけて、北海道、長野、石川県で「低緯度オーロラ」と呼ばれる赤い光のオーロラが観測されていて、インターネットで話題になっていました。
長野県では21年ぶりのオーロラ観測だったようで、太陽フレアの影響ということが記事になっています。宇宙から降り注ぐ磁気の乱れにはどきどきしますが、自分が「地球の上に暮らしている」ということを自覚させられます。

北海道も見ることができたというニュース読みました!石川と長野もだったのですね。極寒の国でしか観測することができないイメージが強いですが、普通に庭先で見ることができるのは感激ですね。

おっしゃるとおり、地球にいるんだなー!と実感できる出来事ですね。古来の人も同じような現象を見てきたのだなーと思うと考え深いです🌏