I Found Tranquility in the Rural Area — Earth Day

in Amazing Nature2 months ago (edited)

8A3D64DA-33A2-4002-85EB-AFD17E22BF85.jpeg

Recently, when I travelled to the village (which is a very far from the city), the first thing I noticed was the tranquility and how relaxed my nerves became. I am the kind of person that pay close attention to nature and how it affects my well-being. So I didn't fail to recognise and embrace the cool breeze that greeted me and caressed my face. This alone gave me inner peace, happiness, and a sense of relief.

There were tall trees. Bushes that one won't see in the city, streams that are free of chemicals and, above all, the absent of smoke from cars and industries in the air I breathe.
Compared to the city, which is overheating, it was cold to the extent that I even caught a cold on the second day because I didn't pack any sweater with me, I expected it to be hot, just like where I was coming from.

EED0B17A-24EF-493C-91CB-43D59880989F.jpeg

In the city, you rarely see tall trees, except in a conserved area. This left me wondering if I didn't read my biology note well, because I knew I was taught one old but popular adage "cut one tree, plant two". My country people have absolutely ignored this, they love to fell trees but to plant another one is a big problem.

The function of a forested area, or even that of a single tree, cannot be overemphasized. At least we all know the popular one even if we aren't science students: that trees absorb CO2 and give out oxygen. CO2 is harmful to our health as well as the environment; it plays a major role in the depletion of the ozone layer, which will eventually lead to global warming. And this could be a great disaster for us, our plants, and animals. I was taught in school that one tree could provide oxygen that can sustain two people for a year. I believe that, but let's leave science for the scientists:)

IMG-20240422-WA0052.jpg

Honestly, I don't know where technology is leading the world because every day new industries are being built, and people are purchasing cars, but no one is talking about the ways they could properly manage the waste coming from them without it disrupting the normal function of the environment. Plastics, nylons, and chemicals are discarded into gutters, bushes, streams, and rivers, without a second thought of its harmful effects on the environment.
In my country (I'm sure in some other countries too:)), you will find people dumping their refuse wherever they see, some does it intentionally because you will see them look around to check if anybody is looking before dumping it, and some does it ignorantly, maybe with the thought that it will decay which will definitely not. They are non biodegradable.

AE4DE8A8-A324-425C-A25E-08F009788032.jpeg

You may wonder where I'm even heading to, well, I'm trying to let you see the reason for the extremely hot weather in my country, most especially in the city. Few months ago when the heat became almost unbearable, everyone, including the government were just pretending as if they do not know the reason why it's so. It was funny to me, the complains and everything. And now I'm wondering why I didn't run to my village, because I'm sure the cool air from trees in my compound there is far more healthier than air conditioner.
I will say it with pride that I enjoyed my stay in the village, only that there was no constant electricity and a good network.

I will end it here, friends. Happy Earth Day.

I'm sure you have so many thoughts in mind concerning this topic, please feel free to express it in the comments section.


This post is in response to #Aprilinleo daily prompt, day 22. You can check it out here.


I took all the images myself

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Funny fact
I also take evening stroll most time to catch sight of things that are going on in my environment
During that heat period
There is nothing you can tell me that the air from tree is better than the air condition
I have decided not to agree to that

Great post

That heat period was something else, it's good you did walk around for air.

About the AC, you won't understand if you've never been to a place like this village of mine.
However, AC is just inside your room, while there is hot air waiting to engulf you outside:)

That’s why the AC is better
Enjoy your cool afternoon in your room and a cool evening outside your home

You left us, the city people alone inside that heat. Hehe.

I agree with you on this, although I have never been to my village before, or any village. But there are so certain places I have stayed where there are a lot of trees and trust me I know the difference.

At least many parts of Lagos state still try to plant trees around, I will give them credit for that but the vehicles are too much to see the value of the trees.

anyways. I am glad you had a nice time. Thanks for sharing with us.

Thank you dear. I'm glad you can relate. Maybe I will take you to my village one day, you may not want to return to Lagos.😜

Lagos is a nice place, but the population is crazy.

Hmmm! This is a great post to my understanding. We care to build industries, mansions, buy cars and more but forget to do the needful🤔

The cool air from the trees are naturally wonderful 👌

Yes, dear.
Thank you very much for reading, and commenting.♥️

When I met CO2, I burst into laughter.
You're showing us that you're a chemical person 😅