Why you need Indoor Plant

in Amazing Nature15 days ago

These days, the weather is becoming unbearable. The sun blazes hotter each day and we are losing our productivity working under the scorching heat. Dhaka city has become a heat trap area in recent days. We all know the reason, but most of us are doing nothing. The main causes are

  1. Increase of infrastructure 2. Cutting down trees and 3. Decrease the water level area.

I recently moved to Dhaka and it bothers me so much whenever I see how little trees are covering the city. As I don’t own a backyard or rooftop on my own, I planned to work with indoor plants.

Green Minimalist Simple Indoor Plants Home Decor Photo Collage.png

Again, I’m very much fond of nature. It literally kills me when I can’t see or enjoy any greenery from my window or balcony. So to breathe a little, I had to plant something around me.

Also not only the heat, Dhaka is also the most polluted city in the world. So I was in search of those plants which can be used as air purifiers too. Before starting my project I googled a little and found out snake plant, cacti, aloe vera, money plant, spider plant are perfect examples of air-purifying plants. After gathering all the information on indoor plants, I went for the plant hunt!

One good thing about this city is, you will find enough nurseries nearby. But again, the price is sky-high! After bargaining with the seller, and peeking at each of the nurseries, me and my partner find the best one and pack out our new plants.

1715965321328.jpg

look at my Snake plant and Monstera!

Care and Maintenance

To me, the best thing in gardening is -making a home for my new plants. Firstly I try to choose well-draining pots for the plants. I love to pick pots of various sizes to accommodate different plants.

1715965321155.jpg

To ready the soil, I mix different fertilizers, and lastly, put the plant.

1715965321310.jpg

In soil mixing process, I have to be careful. Because, indoor plant hasn’t that much scope to get proper nutrition like outdoor plant. So they need to have extra care. There are different types of fertilizer for indoor plants but I always choose the organic one.Also I try to maintain NPK (nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium) for proper growth of my plant.

My plants are all ready!

As a final touch I give each plant a good soak, ensuring water drained out from the bottom. The thing which I need now is plant stands and shelves. Then the final decor will be all done!

For indoor plant, placement is an important factor. Like snake plant and pothos can survive best in lower lighting areas, while succulents and cacti prefer sunny windows. So I tried to arrange accordingly.

The thing which I learn from my previous mistake is that plants need a proper waiting schedule. Over-watering is a common mistake for the newbie like us. For indoor plants, it’s crucial to let the soil dry out between waterings.

Another important thing that we need to keep in mind is cleaning dust from the leaves. Dust can accumulate on the leaves, hindering photosynthesis. What I do is gently wipe the leaves with a damp cloth. It will keep the leaves clean and healthy.

Also once in a month, I trim the dead leaves to encourage new growth and keep the plants looking their best.


I don’t know why but plants are my comfort zone. Now my home feels more vibrant. They help me to calm and reduce stress. There’s a sense of calm that comes from being surrounded by greenery. Caring for these plants has become a delightful routine that I look forward to each day. I can feel how effectively they improve my mental well-being. A big chunk of my day flies out by looking at these plants. It feels like bringing nature indoors has transformed my living space into a green oasis.

The interesting thing is, that this planting process works like a meditation to me. Also, it feels like these plants will improve my indoor air quality.

So I will suggest adding indoor plants to your home. The plant can bring both aesthetics and health benefits to you at the same time! It’s a simple, rewarding project that can make a world of difference in how your home looks and feels.

Happy planting!

Sort:  

Other than it provides an aesthetically pleasing vibe to your house, I heard some plants are good air purifiers and provide lots of oxygen which is good. Love having indoor plants I have mine also!!!☺︎☺︎♡♡

You're absolutely right!! I could decor my home with costly showpieces too, but these simple plants looks hundred times better than those! Plus they have health benefits too!

Want to see your plants too!!! 💙💙

You have a good hand in taking care of your plants. I've never even watered some of my plants, and I'm getting excited,😍

Hehe, I'm literally noob in planting! Well I try to take care of my plants but often have to struggle though the process!

I think you can try be your plant's friend too! I can assure that it's worth it!

@rafa-noor Your plants are beautiful, besides purifying the air, they also decorate your walls.

Yes yes!!! My plants are still so little! 😄 I'll keep updating how they grow and others!
Thank you so much!! 💙💙

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @rafa-noor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP